Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice resort that backs up to the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This resort is approx 40 minutes from the Liberia airport. All of the staff are very friendly- the entertainment crew, bartenders, etc. There is a variety of foods especially at dinner time. The best part of this resort are the nightly shows! These shows are world class entertainment and definitely were the icing to the cake. Every night there is a different show and it makes for great entertainment especially since there is nothing close to the resort like a local bar. There is also a huge variety of alcoholic drinks available such as flavored margaritas, mojitos, imperial beer(Costa rican), heinekin and other mixed drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Beautiful resort, friendly staff

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Accommodations were very nice and the room /maid service was excellent. Rooms made up every day with flowers and towels folded into cute animals. The food was good, the restaurants very nice and breakfast buffet was exceptional. Also the evening shows were very good, and the pools and grounds were beautiful. The bellman, Luis, was such a nice young man and very helpful. The beach was nice but was black sand (volcanic), and so not the fluffy white sand of some beaches. Don't miss the Monkey Bar a little way down the beach, and the actual howler and white faced monkeys which we saw in the wild just a little way down the road past Monkey Bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Fabulous Resort!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The pools were incredible. Grounds were beautiful
Cons: We thought the nightly entertainment could be improved. We enjoyed it, but it did not appeal to our grown children at all.
Location: Plenty to do at the hotel , but went on a sunset cruise that was great. It stopped for scuba diving. Food, drinks, music & escorted back by dolphins.
We had a group of five and everyone loved it and thought it was the perfect choice. Beautiful and impressive. We watched the monkeys from our balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Wonderful decor and amazing views.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
All of the staff were very attentive, except for one of the hotel supervisors named Max, who is not very customer service oriented. After having to change our rooms a couple of times due to technical issues, we requested an upgrade for our inconvenience. We were told by Max that there were no other available rooms, which was a blatant lie. After asking to speak to the manager, an upgrade miraculously became available. Needless to say the upgraded room was fantastic and we had a great time after that. Max needs to refresh his customer service skills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silva

First time at an all inclusive !

Posted Jun 13, 2017
My family and I had a great experience stay at this all inclusive resort. We loved the variety of choices in food and the service was outstanding, very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Great experience for the second time, enjoyed the stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Awkward bathtub in middle of room. No complaints otherwise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great staff, great accommodations!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel was fantastic, super clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and there was always things to do. The food was good and there was always so many options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice all-inclusive hotel.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The staff! the shows and the location on the beach in the rainforest with plenty of excursions available.
Cons: air conditioning in the lobby.
Location: Right next door is Diamante Park. It has an animal section, zip line which they say is the longest coastal view zip line. and other activities avail.
Staff was excellent. nightly shows were very good. Food was good. Papagayo turns into a steak house for dinner, I had the N.Y. steak and my wife had the Filet Mignon both were excellent. Very well kept grounds, 5 pools with plenty of shaded seating. Late May was very humid. We may return in the future in Feb. or March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The hotel and staff were great!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, great staff, great pool, good food, everything is really included. $0 BILL WHEN DEPARTING AFTER A WEEK.
Cons: The $900 resort credit are really discount coupons. Not many are useable.
Location: Location is fine and 45 minutes from airport with no traffic.
Great Place! All inclusive food and drinks are great! Two restaurants require reservations 1st come 1st serve. All others have plenty of room. If you want more variety you can go next door to the Rui for Breakfast or Lunch. I highly recommend this property.