Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful, comfy all-inclusive

Posted May 24, 2017
This was my husband & my first time staying at an all-inclusive resort. Usually we prefer the off-beaten path and exploring local culture, but this time we didn't want to think or plan anything- Riu Palace was great for this! The hotel is located quite a drive from Liberia airport (~1hr) so get ready for a ride. The roads are two lane only and the road is quite windy/bumpy, which is not fun for those with sensitive stomachs. Anyway, the hotel is quite secluded and partnered with sister hotel Riu Guanacaste. It is located on Playa Matapalo, a public beach, but mere footsteps from your hotel. You can access all Guanacaste facilities if staying at Palace but not the other way around. (Palace restaurants are definitely better FYI) On that note, food is terrific. Buffets for breakfast and lunch offer great variety. Dinner options are buffet OR sit-down. 2 speciality restaurants downstairs (Krystal and Tokio) can be hard to get into so be sure to arrive at 6pm on the dot so you can get a seat. There are very few tables but the food is excellent. Did I mention drinks (alcoholic) are free too? This is crazy or awesome depending on who you ask :) Even the rooms have "pour your own" liquor stations which I can see resulting in many-a blackout. But enjoy! The pools are lovely and offer areas for kids, volleyball, and dancing. There are activities all day long- including wonderful shows at night (Micheal Jackson was my fave and Crazy Show was hilarious!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Immaculate

Posted May 21, 2017
Where do I begin! From the time we stepped foot into the resort, I was in complete awe! From the restaurants to the bars, to the staff. Everything was perfect. I have nothing bad to stay about The Riu Palace Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellence

Posted May 16, 2017
The service, food, entertainment, proximity to the beach and overall ambiance of this establishment is excellent. Absolutely no complaints and can't wait to visit other Riu locations!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyside WA

God secluded location.

Posted May 16, 2017
Needs some work to be a great resort. Pools require attention and specialty restaurants some food handling training. Over all had a good time with some bouts of food poisoning for the entire group and the deterioration of the pool and pool areas. Staff was great and the entertainment superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Truly is a Palace

Posted May 14, 2017
We spent a week there and could not be more sad to leave. They treated us like royalty. The resort is beautiful and the staff is friendly. We really enjoyed the swimming pools, walking the beach, snorkeling, the evening entertainment, and the restaurants. We will defanently visit a RIU resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

clean, close to beach, & great restaurant choices

Posted May 13, 2017
Awesome. The staff is great!! The shows were fun. Try the spa my massage was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort, wonderful service!

Posted May 8, 2017
Buffet food was wonderful, pools beautiful, and service exceptional!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CAPE CORAL, FL.

WITH ADJUSTMENTS, COULD BE AMAZING!!!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: *THE LOCATION *THE STAFF *THE FOOD *THE ROOMS
Cons: *Needs additional bathrooms near pool areas *Needs way better climate control in all common areas *Needs better scheduling for Pool Bar & Coffee Bar
Location: Many great tours available
*Needs additional bathrooms near pool areas. Bathroom were so far away that it was obvious that guests were urinating in the pool. *The A/C in the Lobby & Lobby Bar area was set for around 90-deg., which was way too uncomfortable. *The Showroom and Showroom Bar areas were not air conditioned, making watching the evening shows way too uncomfortable. Even the air circulation was way too inadequate. *The 1st 2 days there was no A/C in Casino, their loss. *The Pool Bar closed at 6pm, which was way too early. * The community area bathrooms only had blow dryers for drying your hands, Paper towels would have been nice, to wipe the sweat from your face. *The Coffee Bar only opened at 10am, Most people drink coffee long before then.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Experience

Posted May 1, 2017
Steps from the beach, 3 huge pools with activities going on all day (basketball, water polo, dart competitions, trivia, etc), pool bar with excellent service, great food (5 restaurants to choose from: steak/seafood, Italian, Japanese, fusion, buffet). I recommend spending the morning doing any adventures you have planned (zip line, jet ski, ATV, etc) then spend the afternoons by the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Huge pools and expansive property

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The RIU palace was beautiful and clean. It's a family friendly resort but they do have an adults only pool. Beach area is not a white sand beach but the water is warm and clean and staff provides chairs and beverage service down there. Very peaceful by beach. Vendors aren't aggressive like some other countries. Just say no thank you and leave you alone. Drinks were great -Food is so so. It's what's to be expected at all inclusive. Everything considered I loved my stay here.