Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silva

First time at an all inclusive !

Posted Jun 13, 2017
My family and I had a great experience stay at this all inclusive resort. We loved the variety of choices in food and the service was outstanding, very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Great experience for the second time, enjoyed the stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Awkward bathtub in middle of room. No complaints otherwise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great staff, great accommodations!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel was fantastic, super clean and well kept. The staff was very friendly and there was always things to do. The food was good and there was always so many options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice all-inclusive hotel.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The staff! the shows and the location on the beach in the rainforest with plenty of excursions available.
Cons: air conditioning in the lobby.
Location: Right next door is Diamante Park. It has an animal section, zip line which they say is the longest coastal view zip line. and other activities avail.
Staff was excellent. nightly shows were very good. Food was good. Papagayo turns into a steak house for dinner, I had the N.Y. steak and my wife had the Filet Mignon both were excellent. Very well kept grounds, 5 pools with plenty of shaded seating. Late May was very humid. We may return in the future in Feb. or March.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The hotel and staff were great!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, great staff, great pool, good food, everything is really included. $0 BILL WHEN DEPARTING AFTER A WEEK.
Cons: The $900 resort credit are really discount coupons. Not many are useable.
Location: Location is fine and 45 minutes from airport with no traffic.
Great Place! All inclusive food and drinks are great! Two restaurants require reservations 1st come 1st serve. All others have plenty of room. If you want more variety you can go next door to the Rui for Breakfast or Lunch. I highly recommend this property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best vacation

Posted May 29, 2017
Thoroughly Loved Costa Rica and the people of that country. Felt very safe . Hotel was nice. Felt there could of been more information on things going on.. But it's Costa Rica we were off doing tours 4 out of our 8 days.. You MUST go out and see the beautiful things here.. Waterfslls,wildlife , volcanos, mudbaths and springs !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful, comfy all-inclusive

Posted May 24, 2017
This was my husband & my first time staying at an all-inclusive resort. Usually we prefer the off-beaten path and exploring local culture, but this time we didn't want to think or plan anything- Riu Palace was great for this! The hotel is located quite a drive from Liberia airport (~1hr) so get ready for a ride. The roads are two lane only and the road is quite windy/bumpy, which is not fun for those with sensitive stomachs. Anyway, the hotel is quite secluded and partnered with sister hotel Riu Guanacaste. It is located on Playa Matapalo, a public beach, but mere footsteps from your hotel. You can access all Guanacaste facilities if staying at Palace but not the other way around. (Palace restaurants are definitely better FYI) On that note, food is terrific. Buffets for breakfast and lunch offer great variety. Dinner options are buffet OR sit-down. 2 speciality restaurants downstairs (Krystal and Tokio) can be hard to get into so be sure to arrive at 6pm on the dot so you can get a seat. There are very few tables but the food is excellent. Did I mention drinks (alcoholic) are free too? This is crazy or awesome depending on who you ask :) Even the rooms have "pour your own" liquor stations which I can see resulting in many-a blackout. But enjoy! The pools are lovely and offer areas for kids, volleyball, and dancing. There are activities all day long- including wonderful shows at night (Micheal Jackson was my fave and Crazy Show was hilarious!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Immaculate

Posted May 21, 2017
Where do I begin! From the time we stepped foot into the resort, I was in complete awe! From the restaurants to the bars, to the staff. Everything was perfect. I have nothing bad to stay about The Riu Palace Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellence

Posted May 16, 2017
The service, food, entertainment, proximity to the beach and overall ambiance of this establishment is excellent. Absolutely no complaints and can't wait to visit other Riu locations!