Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Motel is in an awesome location short walk to the beach short walk to the town. The staff there very friendly and helpful. The coffee is awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Quiet away from town

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Locations and restaurant.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach
This hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the beach and 10 from the town....perfect as the town is crunchy had louder. The Italian restaurant associated with the hotel is exceptional, authentic and the owners are so nice...they also serve the morning breakfast. Not a lot to do in town, but a beUtiful beach and remote type area. Hotel was nicely decorated, great pool, quiet and delighUl.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Santa Rosa, CA

The stay was too Short in this great hotel!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
great stay in this cute and wonderful hotel. The grounds are relatively small but there is a very nice pool and rooms are spacious. The only reservations about our stay were the lack of soft bedding and some insects in the room but in a beautiful setting like this, they were relatively minor drawbacks. The staff was very pleasant and professional
4 out of 5
by Michelle from San Francisco, California

Samara Retreat

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Samara Inn is a nice budget hotel about a 10-minute walk from downtown Samara. You can also walk to the more secluded part of the beach in under 10 minutes. The rooms are clean and pretty spacious with high ceilings, strong wifi and AC. The bed was comfortable but had a weird plastic mattress protector under the bottom sheet (I suppose it is for sanitary reasons but it made a annoying rustling sound). Other than that, everything else was great: beautiful small pool with a gorgeous wall of bougainvillea, location is relatively quiet, decent breakfast and friendly staff. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Cozy & unpretentious Bougainville

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Nice hotel totally aligned with the rusticity and unpretentious natural beauty of Samara. The Bougainville wall surrounding the natural stone cozy pool granted a picture album. Great Tipico breakfast and friendly staff. Clean. Would definitely recommend and stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vernon, BC, Canada

Small Hotel on a Busy Road

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Clean and tidy.
Cons: Regular cotton sheets, lounges at the pool and speed bumps out front.
Location: Playa Samara is about 1 km away and it is one of the nicest in the country. There are lots of good restaurants in town about 1 km away.
We thought this hotel would be quiet because it is about 1 km from town, but we could not have been more wrong. The hotel is located on a straight stretch of road with no speed bumps and the locals race back and forth at high speeds on their noisy ATVs, motorcycles and vehicles. Even though our room was located in the quietest part of the hotel at the back, the noise was still bothersome. If you don`t have a vehicle you will have to walk for about 1 km on this dangerous road to get to town or the beach. The hotel is tidy and clean, but there are some tacky features like plastic-lined bottom sheets on the beds and only 5, cheap, plastic chairs at the tiny pool instead of lounges or recliners. The breakfasts are basic fare and they are a specified quantity. If you are a hearty eater and want more, you have to pay. The hotel is located in a Costa Rican neighborhood, so be prepared to put up with barking dogs and crowing roosters.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissappointing

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pool was not useable and gross and no apology for it. Rooms are small and unispired but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Simple, nothing fancy but fair price

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Staff a bit more friendly (specially night guard)
Location: Beach, beach, and beach
Our stay was ok. This hotel does not offer a lot of amenities, no toiletries, small rooms and small pool, BUT it is fairly inexpensive and within 10 min walk to the beach (15-20 min walk to town center). The hotel is clean, descent and simple. Breakfast is good, fair portion and best of all- included in your stay!
4 out of 5
by Alexander Chryssopoulos from Santa Ana, Costa Rica

Samara Inn stay

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
Three kinds of breakfast and you finished your meal satisfied. The only thing that we did not like was when asked the housekeeper to change the sheets. She said that we had to stay at least three days to have them changed. We also changed the blanket but that was never returned to us.
5 out of 5
by Mary from Laguna Miguel

Hotel Samara Inn

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels
At first I wished the hotel was closer in town but it was really a nice and short walk. I loved the breakfast and the breakfast room. There is a great little bakery and a market right around the corner. I enjoyed our stay throughly.