Ratings based on 1,059 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Excellent location

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Beautiful and excellent location. Nice staff and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looked nice by the outside but...

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Security and they it looked by the outside
Cons: Customer service, maintenance calls, work and relate better to travelers
check in - aggressive hostile first night, first room - leak from the roof, room was across maintenance/ construction area second night, second room - they moved us two rooms over, still in front of maintenance/ construction area first morning (Saturday) and third morning (Monday) woken up by tools and trucks from construction fourth night moved to other area - shower did not drain through the remainder of the trip Staff were not willing to help, it felt we were bothering them about when complaining about the incidents I wrote above. Very unhappy and dissatisfied with this hotel, I was celebrating 30 years of marriage, which they know about since I booked months before trip and felt that half my time was complaining and moving instead of enjoying the property and Costa Rica. Will not recommend this hotel to anybody, ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The only good thing was the beach access. Beach however wasn't nice either and the umbrellas & lounge chairs were for an additional charge.
Location: Not that much to do in the area except surfing rentals. I've been told there are much nicer beaches at Costa Rica with more reasonable prices.
This hotel is terrible. Staff was rude and not helpful at all. At the room some of the light fixtures didn't work, the floor was dirty and beds very uncomfortable. Prices were extremely high. There are three restaurants next to the resort with the same ridiculous prices.They definitely takes advantage of foreigners in this area. A local photographer told me " This is the most expensive beach and you're staying at the most expensive hotel"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Breathtaking ocean views, excellent hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Pretty hard to improve on this. Perhaps more consistent cold/hot water in the shower.
Location: Location is prime, you're literally on the beach. Nearby activities include surfing, dining, shopping, you name it.
Our ocean view king room was everything we had hoped it would be. Absolutely phenomenal experience. The hotel staff was fantastic as well. Polite, helpful, trustworthy, really everything you could ask for. Our room had a fridge and coffee maker, which is a real convenience, and so much better than a mini-bar. The hotel's included breakfast is no joke either. Offered from 6am til 10am, it's quite the spread and delicious.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

AC Broken and Black Mold in Rooms

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: DO NOT STAY IN THE OLDER SECTION THAT FACES THE PACIFIC. The newer sections, on the other side of the street, are lovely.
Hotel is as gorgeous as the pictures. My family paid to be upgraded to a room on the Pacific Ocean. The view is breathtaking. Unfortunately, the hotel room was greatly lacking. When we arrived, we were told that our room was not available. We were placed in a newer area of the hotel which is across the street. The room was lovely, cool, and faced the pool. It was a less expensive room so the hotel comped our dinner. We were okay with the hiccup. I've worked in guest services, and I appreciate that life happens. The next day, we were moved to our room with an ocean view. It was warm when we walked in, but we were assured it would cool down. It did not, by 6:00 pm we contacted the front desk requesting maintenance. My family went to dinner while I waited for the repairman to arrive. By 8:30, we were informed that the AC was not working, and we were being moved to another room that did have AC. It did not. Plus, the room smelled so strongly of mildew that we had to open the windows so we could stand it. The next day, we discovered black mold covering the ceiling both inside and outside of our hotel room. I asked to speak to the manager. First, she refused to see me. This is the first time that I raised my voice. Fifteen minutes later, she offered to comp two nights of our stay and promised air conditioning that night. We were there four nights. They never got the AC working. An employee told us that it usually doesn't work during the rainy season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice big hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: pretty
Cons: The beds were really hard! Wifi could have been more consistent
Hotel is very pretty and has a good layout. You have wifi all around which is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Not bad....probably is the best in Tamarindo area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated

Posted May 30, 2017
The hotel is very well located felt it was overpriced for how dated the rooms on the beach front side. I requested to be changed of rooms as soon as I walked in, i was moved to the building across the street. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Ocean view room was awesome! Staff was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of Tamarindo

Posted May 14, 2017
Very nice resort facility. I enjoyed the convenience of the locale and close proximity to the beach.