Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, Costa Rica

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Rooms are not as fancy as you expect for the price you are paying (compared to a JW w similar rate)
Location: great location, central side of the beach, restaurants at walking distance.
Nice Place, rooms are not as fancy for the rate you are paying. great location, good breakfast, safe, good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with ocean view

Posted Apr 23, 2017
This is a nice ocean front hotel which allowed access to great views of the sunset. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel has a beautiful landscape and fun pools to swim in or simply relax. Also, the free breakfast buffet was delicious. The beds have two standard pillows; I would suggest adding two more pillows to improve the comfort during sleeping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel, some service needed

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice hotel at the beach. Great views. Very loud music heard in room from cars on the street. Bathroom showers need replacement. Water is either cold or very hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location but awful service.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Location is great, on the beach and in the middle of town, which was fabulous, but you'll feel a bit like cattle there. You must wear wristbands and get towel coupons. It's very impersonal. Help desk is only there to sell you tours--no help for anything else. Long slow lines checking in and out. If you need help with anything--directions or whatever, forget going to the front desk. They are overwhelmed and under staffed and don't want to be bothered-and they'll let you know! And there's nobody to ask, so be prepared with Google if you have questions about anything. And be prepared to wait for everything. Facilities were nice. Room a good size and comfortable with a quiet AC, which I love. Those loud box AC units drive me crazy! The bathroom door is a very noisy wood slider that bangs no matter how quiet you try to be, and if you get up in the night to use the bathroom, everyone wakes up!! Seems silly but after a while it gets really frustrating. We came there from the Four Seasons in Papagayo knowing and expecting a one and a half star decrease overall. I was surprised on the upside about the location and grounds, and maybe even the room considering the quiet AC. But on the downside, I was literally astounded by the difference in service, which felt a lot like what studdnts get staying in hostels while backpacking in Europe. 1 star for service. 4 stars for location. 3 stars for everything else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This hotel is huge and feels very impersonal. The big family pool has broken concrete in spots, our hotel door was cracked. The breakfast which was included was average at best. We were only there for two nights so I wasn't overly upset but in the future would stay somewhere else for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel right on the beach in tamarindo

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Had a great time at the Diria. Beautiful hotel with lots of amenities. Restaurants are ok but the grounds are gorgeous and the swim up bars are perfect. One of the only hotels right on the beach. Close to everything in tamarindo, walkable. Staff is friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great to be back in Tamarindo! Love this hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Sadly traveling with child who is up early this hotel does not have open facilities (pool) until 8am. No towels at any point of our trip but I guess that's what the sun and beach are for!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location to surrounding restaurants.
The hotel was nice, but everyday the housekeeper would take the dirty towels and forget to leave new towels. If you wanted to lay on the beach you had to pay $15.00 for a lounge chair and $10.00 for an umbrella a day. Some of the help acted as if they were doing you a favor. In the breakfast area the waiters didn't clean the tables. They dusted them off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location. nice amenities.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: location. pool accross the street. condos across the street. happy hour. friendly staff.
Cons: get rid of bugs. grounds could be a little better maintained.
Only issue was presence of ants all throughout the room. very fast moving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny,ny

Nice hotel really close to the beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
great vacation.I could have spent the whole time admiring the ocean views out of my room!!