Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A cut above the rest!

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Most things to do are in Tamarindo. Kind of a young persons town but lots of things to do.
I highly recommend this hotel. In all of our I have not had a better experience. Everything was first class. Beautiful hotel, great staff, wonderful food. There was not anything even slightly negative I could say about this resort. If I was in the area again I would not book with anyone else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel, First Class

Posted May 12, 2017
Great experience room was fantastic hotel well maintained great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great and quiet hotel at the beach

Posted May 9, 2017
Loved the hotel, it was a quick trip to Tamarindo but far enough to not be as busy. We mostly wanted to relax and it was perfect for that. Service was good and staff always helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is a little expensive with $30 per person but offers a great variety and the food was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

A beautiful beach resort in the wilderness

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Grand and has everything that we wanted for a restful vacation.
Cons: Pool umbrellas that can be tilted for sun shade
Location: Remote location and a long distance to the nearest town, Tarmarindo. Nothing nearby except a golf course.
Well maintained, top class service with great amenities. This is JW Marriott Guanacaste. We spent 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every moment here. Rooms are spacious and quiet and resort outdoor amenities are plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener ON

Exceptional service

Posted May 2, 2017
The hotel, food and surroundings are wonderful but the staff really sets this place apart. They do their best to make you feel fully taken care of. The pools are beautiful too! There's no better place to catch the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Indiana

Costa Rica getaway

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Very relaxing, clean, friendly. Surfing competition down the beach by Lulu's, great pool, attentive service
Cons: Prices at gift shop were exorbitant. Try to buy you anything you need in town. Remoteness, shuttle to town should be cheaper
A nice 5 days at this resort. Very friendly, helpful staff. Nice pool, never had a problem getting a chair (although the good ones by the beach are claimed around sunrise). Beach is a little rocky and treacherous to swim in, but the waves crashing in and accompanying sounds make a good background. Food was very good, not great. Breakfast buffet was quite filling and we didn't eat lunch as a result. A little isolated, have to take a taxi to go to Tamarindo, the nearest town--$20 per person round trip. 2 rock walls surround the property so you can't take a walk down the beach at extreme high high tide, but 10 hours out of 12 between the high tides you can-that keeps the peddlers away however. Went on a couple of tours from their travel service which were very nice. Didn't golf, but the fairways were a dry brown, but the tee boxes and greens looked great (it's is the end of the 6 month dry season in April. Smoke alarm went off in our room (they burn some trash there at the resort) and no one seemed in any hurry to reset the alarm
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ma

Hotel in need of remodeling

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Finally got to the hotel which is FAR away,we were told we were upgraded to pool view! We told them our reservation was for ocean front !you are down grading us. The hotel person name was MARIELLA and said well Expedia didn't book it. We said we want to call Expedia as I have the confirmation. She made a call to a friend in Spanish and talked about us not knowing we understand Spanish and know she is lying . We had to call Expedia directly and they tried to tell her we had paid and confirmed ocean front and if there was a mistake it was Expedia and not us and they should give us the room . She would not give us the room no one else came to talk to us finally gave us a ocean view which was blocked view with trees . VERY RUDE All these years traveling never encountered someone like her. Rest of staff were nice , room need update old hotel. Great pool , horrible beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Resort

Posted Apr 2, 2017
If you're looking to get away to a safe secluded area with your family then this is your place! Everything about this resort is beautiful and the staff is great. It is located in a quiet area with no city life around for miles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overall family hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel is on a large, secure compound. No town nearby...tamarindo is about 30 minutes and hotel offers a daily service. You don't need to leave the hotel as everything you could want or need is right there! Room was spacious and clean, good variety of restaurants and the pool is open all of the time. The only thing it's missing is a good coffee shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with extra large pool

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros- Close to the Beach Huge Pool Not overly crowded Safe location Cons- The food and Drink- Pricey for the quality Beach out front was not the greatest and smelled due to seaweed washing up on shore. I did not notice this at any of the other beaches we visited.