Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The entire setup was beautiful, the staff was pleasant and friendly, the beach was soooo close and incredible
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Expedia.com, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Costa Rica. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: beach, pool, staff, food
Location: We used this time as our down time and only did one excursion in the closer area prior to arriving. The Palo Verde Boat Tour was amazing.
After exploring other parts of Costa Rica for several days we ended our stay in this beautiful country at the Occidental Tamarindo for 4 nights We loved every minute of our stay here. Our family of 4 (including 2 girls aged 11 and 13) enjoyed everything about this hotel. The rooms were spacious and we had a beautiful view out our window of the forest and could see monkeys, hummingbirds, and iguanas! The pool area had lots of shade umbrellas for us and although there is only one pool area it never seemed too crowded. The beach had a variety of areas- rocky with tide pools for exploring, waves to jump in or surf in, and the estuary from the connecting river which provided some calmer waters. It couldn't get much better for anyone from young kids, to teenagers, to older people. The buffet was delicious with lots of variety. The a la carte was OK. The pool snack bar had great snacks (lots of fried food like chicken, onion rings, but also fresh fruit). The tortilla chips and pico de gallo there was amazing! The staff was very friendly as well. The talented dancers from the resort put on an amazing evening show. However, it you are used to a Kids show, you may be disappointed as the one night we saw involved the kids playing a board game on stage. This should NOT be a deterring factor in staying there as everything else was AMAZING!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. Thank you, again, for the wonderful description of the room we accommodated you during your stay, we always want to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. Moreover, we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds and umbrellas, we appreciate your comments. At Barceló Hotels & Resorts we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. Likewise, your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation; we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment children program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of entertainment for information and improvement. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making Occidental Tamarindo your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Very nice hotel, close to beach, good amenities

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: friendly people, great food, nice beach
Cons: more maintenance, 2 of our bathroom fan, some of our room light bulbs didn't work, old room coffee makers, small stuff, not a big deal
Location: location was excellent, close to a small town, right on a spectacular beach, tours of all kinds readily available
Friendly, helpful staff, nice rooms, check-in and check-out very smooth and easy, good food, beach was spectacular !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success Our staff welcomes each guest with the Barceló Hotels & Resorts spirit and strives to assist in any possible way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay; it is indeed very rewarding to read that you have appreciated their genuine friendliness throughout your holidays among us. Also, we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Likewise, we are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Costa Rica. On the other hand; please accept our sincerest apologies for the imperfections you describe in your review, all rooms reserved for new arrivals are per standard double checked by our head of housekeeping to ensure that everything is functional and spotless for our guests, clearly we were not performing to our usual standard on this occasion and we regret not being immediately informed at reception so as to be able to intervene in no time for you to fully enjoy your stay in our hotel, for a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact the reception desk for anything you may need, the team will do its utmost to find an immediate solution for you. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Close to beach decent pool.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Good pool and beach access. Nice lobby bar. The food was good
Cons: Communication
Location: Nice brewery down town Many options for excursions
Front desk experience no so good. Language barrier. Pool bar and restaurant were great. Hotel size was perfect not too big or small. Great location. The town is a few miles away and it's 5 bucks to go by taxi. We actually walked to town via the beach and it was beautiful. Best to do this at low tide otherwise you have to come off the beach because of the water. We had a great time. I'm sure that other hotels have better accommodations but if you just want to relax this place was great. Recommend the white water river rafting
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Tamarindo hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Expedia’s readers about our white water river for rafting. We appreciate your point of view related with our resort, for us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and relax into our establishment. Moreover, we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds, and the beach access. On the other hand, our staff's professional service is a point of pride for us and we are quite disappointed to hear that you felt we underperformed in this area, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the entire team for information and further revision. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Clean facility. Rooms needs to be upgraded.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Size and location
Cons: Definitely the food served in the buffet and a better, larger selection. We would provide better quality and variety.
Location: Good location. Close to the Tamarindo town site. A lot of activities nearby , if you have a car.
We were here for 2 weeks. We changed rooms 3 times. Food was OK depending on the day. Definitely require more variety for the buffet during the day. Same day to day. Buffet needs to be presented better. You can see the kitchen from the buffet area. Kitchen is old and dated . It should not be visible to quests. Staff was very helpful and we were impressed by how the management handled the problems we experienced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Tamarindo hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. We are glad you appreciated our location, Occidental Tamarindo is located right in front of a beautiful beach and in the middle of exuberant nature. On the other hand, we regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Nice clean hotel very close to a Long Beach.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Hotel is very close to a miles Long Beach but the surf can be quite aggressive for inexperienced swimmers. Drinks portion of all inclusive deal is not on same par as the food portion. Buffet meals are quite good but the bars were consistently running out of mixes or condiments to make drinks. Fine if all you drink is beer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review. Surfing is a very important part of our beach because it is ideal for practicing this sport, we would like to thank you for sharing you point of view for inexperienced swimmers. On the other hand, we are so sorry for your comment, the involved departments are going to receive your review. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach but bad food

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The hotel is really nice, room was clean however food is not great. They really need to improve. For the price are better options like Riu. Sunny fron snacks is the best she is soo sweet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by o, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the time you spent sharing your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Tamarindo hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We are very pleased to read that you liked the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. On the other hand, we are sad for reading your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Barceló Hotels & Resort we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments and share them with the involved departments. Thank you very much for your review and if you want to give us another chance, we are going to do the best effort for bringing you a better experience in Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Comfortable clean and welcoming

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Check in was easy. Room was clean. Drinks in fridge. Comfy bed. Plenty of hot water in shower. Pool and beach were nice. Food at buffet and snack bar were good. Bars were fine. Not too crowded. Nice service. A la carte dinner was nice. We would definitely return. Lovely spot. Relaxing and welcoming place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Tamarindo Hotel hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are glad to read that you liked the way our reception team greeted you on arrival and that you were promptly checked in without any hassle as expected Likewise, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. We appreciate your highlight the comfort of our beds because at Barceló we are fully aware that a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights' sleep to our guests, therefore we pay the finest attention when it comes to choosing the mattresses for our beds. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Food was beyond horrible

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The pool area was nice
Cons: FOOD choices
Location: This hotel is several kilometres away from the town. There is a tours desk where many different tours can be booked.
I am not a fussy eater but I had a hard time finding something appealing to eat at this place. There were only 10 hot items for lunch and dinner of which 6 were repeated for both meals. The other 4 were changed out from lunch to supper but the same every day. The Internet was sketchy from the room and we had to go to the check in area before the signal was strong enough to hold. Also, only one of us could use the Internet at a time. We travelled all over Costa Rica this trip and this was the ONLY place that had this policy. Our room was decent enough but there were lots of long black hairs all over the bathroom area which weren't ours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Occidental Tamarindo hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit. Related with the access to our Wifi service may be slower during peak hours when many guests login to our network, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our technical department for revision and improvement. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Occidental Hotels we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chestnut Hill, MA

5th time staying and still love it!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
My family and I enjoy staying at Barcelo Langosta. The location is great if you just want to hang at the beach or the pool. The food is good and love the different options every night. The wait staff is very friendly and attentive. I would say the only negative is that the snack bar food is not as good. Every day the fries were soggy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Occidental Tamarindo, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental Tamarindo hotel for your holidays in Costa Rica, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Tamarindo. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Likewise, we are truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality and service delivered with our employees. On the other hand, we are very saddened to read your disappointment with the snack bar food, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.