Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not like the pictures, overpriced

Posted May 4, 2017
As soon as I entered the room I tried to close the curtains and the curtain rod fell to the ground. AC is outdated and very noisy, furniture in terrible shape. Breakfast was supposed to open at 7:00 am and at 7:30 when I had to leave it was still not ready. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, there are a lot better options for the same price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Awesome Views

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Once you get past Sunday which is when they have a pool party with blasting music it quiets down. As I stated the views were amazing.
Cons: Use softener when washing towels....they were very rough. Restaurant staff should offer options if there's a problem with a meal. More lounge chairs.
Location: Very centrally located to many beaches.
Pros - Awesome views, very nice pool, friendly and helpful staff. A special shout out to Renee at the front desk and Alonzo who doesn't seem to have a day off! Cons - 1 disgusting plastic cup in the room. We just bought our own at the local bodega. Only 2 bath towels for 2 people -- for the first 3 days we had to ask for hand towels. There are only about 6 -7 lounge chairs which was not enough for all the guests. The first night we were there we ate at the hotel. I ordered the sea bass but couldn't eat it because it was so salty. I told the staff person why I couldn't eat it and was never offered another meal plus I was charged for it! If there is something wrong with a dish restaurants will either give you something else or comp the meal. Because of that we never ate dinner there for the rest of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

good value, nice views

Posted Mar 28, 2017
, staff was really pleasant and very helpful. beautiful views, be forewarned that Flamingo beach which is very pretty is not close good 15 minute walk, clean, breakfast was acceptable, dining area has great views, only real negative was a slight sewer smell on occasion on main deck, lots of costa ricans come here wasn't all gringos which is a good thing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

The view was amazing, the pool dirty

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The view and the room
Cons: The cleaning of the pool and an upgrade of the keys (cards instead of regular keys)
Location: All good
The view great, the room really good however the pool was really dirty and the attention a little low
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest US

Great place close to many things to do!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Service, room great!
Staff very helpful, good food, sweet pool! Close to great beach to hang at. The hotel beach is not as nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Charming Beach Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, beds and cleanliness.
Cons: Drain in shower left a pool of water (due to misconstruction), no hooks to hang toiletry kit or towels in the bathroom.
Location: Beaches, surfing, national parks (only a few hours away).
Stayed for 3 nights - during a 9-day road trip. This was a cute little hotel located high on a hill. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean. minimal and comfortable. There is beach access, however please note that there are many stairs to get up & down from - and perhaps this is not suitable for everyone, personally I did not mind and the very good thing is that this deters many people from going to the beach, so on all occasions we had the beach completely to ourselves :). Great location for many activities and tours (as we drove ourselves, we did self tours which is less expensive than booking directly through the hotel or tour agenceies). We drove into nearby towns for local food, pubs, surfing and relaxing on the beach. As a girl, I also really loved the product line available to the hotel (Raw Botanicals).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful Views

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel has spacious new rooms with great views. Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Cons: Needs an elevator and entertainment
Location: Flamingo Beach is a beautiful area
The hotel is on a cliff and you need to hike down extremely steep steps to the beach which is only accessible during low tide. Pool is OK but not enough lounge chairs. The breakfast was OK at best. The area of Flamingo beach is awesome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
We checked in but left after a few minutes. The pictures are very deciving, not at all what we expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San José, Costa Rica

Excellent deal for the price.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Cons: I believe the rooms and facilities are being renovated bit by bit. The bathrooms are a bit dated, but serviceable.
The most outstanding aspect was the staff. Everybody with no exception was truly happy to serve the guests in the best manner. Really excellent service! The Costa Rican-style breakfast was generous and very palatable. The rooms are just fine, no luxury, but a good deal for the price. The main Flamingo beach is within walking distance and there is another small beach a climb down (and back up!!!) from the hotel.