Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love RipJack!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
We love everything about Playa Grande, always so happy to arrive and sad to leave. The construction as RipJack this year was a little annoying in the earlier AM hours, but love it regardless!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel with welcoming staff

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We stayed in the standard room, which is small and cozy. No TV, but for me this was nice to stay disconnected from technology. All the other rooms do have TVs though. It was a nice quiet setting. The restaurant upstairs was the best part of the whole trip. The staff are awesome and friendly. It was my birthday and they surprised me with a candle in my cake and sang to me. I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a quiet, relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and charming

Posted Mar 3, 2017
The hotel was very comfortable with nice landscaping and hammocks, 2 pools, rentals such as beach chairs and body boards. The restaurant had excellent food. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We saw monkeys in the tree right outside our room. It was a short walk to the beach and the best surfing on the beach was located right there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped bathroom

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Very small bathroom Entering the bathroom difficult to get inside. Shower, sink and bathroom crammed in a small area of space. We were under the restaurant and kitchen so we could hear kitchen noises, pots or pans accidentally being dropped on the floor It was too loud with our bedroom under the kitchen. Wifi only by pool, restaurant and office area. We liked visiting Tamarindo so a $25-$30 cab into town one way gets expensive because it's another $25-$30 to get cab back to hotel after the day in Tamarindo - it gets expensive if you want to go to Tamarindo for shopping, beach restaurants, night life, etc. Multiple days $50-$60 round trip by cab each time unless you rent a car. There is no uber in Tamarindo area. Very nice restaurant but it can get expensive quickly as it's the only food & drink option at the hotel as a dinner is generally around $60-$75 USD for a couple having one drink each with their supper. No fridge or kitchenette in the standard rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Relaxing & secluded, if that's your thing

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: see above; also great day activities offered
Cons: Need first aid kit, wifi in all rooms & better security. A fellow RJ Inn guest told me they had 2 iphones, 1 ipad & goPro cam stolen from their room.
Location: no nearby stores, but that's good if you want to stay away from commercial tourist traps
Granola-ish hippie vibe, which is great if that's what you're going for. It was perfect for me and my son who wanted to be away from the touristy atmosphere and overwhelming materialism of nearby resorts. Room was basic with TV and fridge, no frills bathroom with just the basic body wash/shampoo/conditioner. Shower pressure horrible and knobs did not completely shut water off, but hey, only a minor annoyance. Wifi also did not extend to upstairs rooms, so we had to make calls/check email only in the lobby and pool area, where it is less private and more noisy. Plus, it's pretty hot and humid sitting outside! Also I cut my foot snorkeling in the reef and the staff did not have any first aid kits on-hand. There are no nearby stores to buy medicine and they told me I could go to the restaurant and wash my cut with some alcohol from the bar. Luckily I did scrounge up a band-aid from my bag, so I was able to wash my wound enough to prevent infection. Positives: great food, family-feel, staff were friendly and did try to help as much they could. I forgot my medications and Nulia helped me order a week's replacement from a nearby pharmacy. The cost was pretty hefty for the pills, but at least I didn't have to suffer any symptoms or medicine withdrawals. The pharmacy was also nice enough to deliver it. I was going to have a family member Fedex me my meds but it turns out the mail service in CR is unreliable and since it was medications, they would likely confiscate it anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is really nice if you're looking for a laid back vacation. Everyone there is so nice. The pool is kind of small but the beach is right there so not really that big of a deal. The bed isn't the most comfortable but you get used to it. The resturaunt is expensive I'd recommend venturing out to the other hotels and restaurants in the area to eat. Much cheaper with more on the menu. I would definitely stay there again, they are all extremely nice and helpful there!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet beach town

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach
Cons: The shower
We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located steps from a beautiful beach that is really popular with surfers. This being said, the beach was not crowded at all and it was great to sit an watch the surfers while enjoying the lovely setting. Our room was a standard room with a queen sized bed and a twin (room #2). We didn't use the twin bed, so can't speak to that one. The queen bed was a little firm for my taste, but not too bad. The main problem with the room was the shower. There was very little water pressure on a good day, and absolutely no water came out on several occasions. There is a restaurant right above the standard rooms, but they are great about shutting things down and getting really quiet at 9:00 every night. We never had trouble with noise. I didn't participate in the yoga classes but it looked like a pleasant activity. If you are looking for a place with a lot of activity, this isn't it. This hotel is in a quiet, small beach "town" and is great for relaxing and enjoying the quiet. Be aware that the beach closes at 6:00 each night in order to protect nesting turtles. This is a bummer, but the turtles are worth it. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. We really enjoyed this hotel and always felt safe and well cared for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Food was great, staff was friendly. Super close to the beach. Bed was a little hard.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Nice small motel on right near the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice place!
5 out of 5
by Alexis

Beautiful location, laid back atmosphere

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at RipJack for two nights in December 2016 and loved it! The highlights were its proximity to a beautiful and uncrowded beach (Playa Grande) and the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was great, and we found Andy to be especially helpful and fun to talk with. The atmosphere at the property is very laid back but also efficient and service-oriented. The downsides were that we stayed in a basic room below the restaurant, which could be noisy, and that the wifi access from our room was very bad. However, wifi was better on other parts of the property. We would absolutely stay here again! It was a perfect getaway and a great value!