Ratings based on 716 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muang Lopburi, Lopburi, Thailand

Posted May 7, 2018
Very convenient. Not on Beach Rd., but they have a free shuttle service to take you and pick you up at the round-a-bout. Rooms are clean and spacious, balconies are a plus, beds are comfy, staff is super nice, and there is a parking garage :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2018 by Russel Austria, Hotel Management
Dear RobbyB, Greetings from Best Bella Pattaya! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation whilst in our hotel. I am writing you this letter to show our appreciations for giving us 5 out of 5 score. Specially mention the location, balcony, shuttle service and most of all the staff. I will make sure that this review would reach our team to give them more inspiration to do they job well done. Looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Pattaya. Best Regards, Russel Riley Austria
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Not 4 stars hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Best Bella Hotel is not a four star hotel. It is ok. Clean and the location is not that bad but the price didn’t match the quality of the hotel. For the same price we could have a better place for sure, more beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2018 by Russel Austria, Hotel Management
Dear Sara, First of all, we would like to thank you for spending your time to write a review regarding your stay in Best Bella Pattaya. We are very disappointed that we did not reach your expectation in terms of pricing. Once again thank you for writing a review and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your future visit to Pattaya. Best Regards, Russel Riley Austria
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northamptonshire

in a good location beach 5 mins away bars 10 mins

Posted Feb 2, 2018 on Ebookers
Pros: good location for everything and away from noise of bars and restaurants can move around pattaya well very cheap buses 10 mins walk away
Cons: breakfast needs improving and could do with more sun loungers around the pool in the rooms the clothes storage was poor needs some draws
good holiday hotel in good location for exploring pattaya dolphin roundabout 10 mins walk away or you can get the hotels free shuttle bus that's were the bars and restaurants are and the bart buses where you can go into pattaya for 10 bhart there is a small beach 5 mins walk away in all a good hotel staff good
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2018 by Russel Austria, Hotel Management
Dear steve, Thank you for spending your time to write a review about your previous stay in Best Bella Pattaya. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation whilst stay in our hotel. We will make sure that all your concerns would reach to the top management. Looking forward to welcome you again very soon. Best Regards, Russel Riley Austria
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Room with a view, friendly staff and breakfast.
Cons: Laundry facilities.
Location: Shopping, beach, tourist spots.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great choice at breakfast. Superb sea view. The remoteness of the hotel was compensated for by the free shuttle which was available 24 hours. Room was spacious.
4 out of 5
by Amit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Friendly staff, spacious 3 bedroom, suitable for family
4 out of 5
by Ngit Zoon

Location is a little inconvenience.

Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Hotels
14,00hrs check in and 10,00hrrs check out,two hours difference from other hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
Not to opt for fitness gym or steam sauna. Very arrogant Uncourteous manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017
Dear Anonymous reviewer, First of all, We would like to thank you for taking the time on writing a review. For your concern regarding to the uncourteous manager/staff. You can write me an email to give some more details and for us to able investigate further. Best Regards, Russel Riley Austria
4 out of 5
by Rajnish

Value for money

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
It is really value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Dear Rajnish, Thank you for writing a review about your stay in Best Bella Pattaya. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Pattaya! Best Regards, Russel Riley Austria
3 out of 5
by Veerajet

Clean and comfortable room, but terrible service.

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a nice location, not too far away from the action, however well secluded from the noisy part of the city. Room is clean, and bed is comfortable. However I have issue with lazy staffs that are simply not helpful. I had to carry my own luggages(and my GF's) from the parking lot all the way to the check-in counter, and on to the hotel room all by myself with zero aid. The staffs at the counter weren't even told me where the elevator is located. The room wifi was terrible and had to be reset constantly. Upon my initial complain on Hotel.com site, the hotel staff decided to call to apologize me at 8:00am, which practically woke us up for good.. quite stupid idea to apologize ai inappropriate hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017
Dear Veerajet, We apologize for the inconvenience you had experience on the check in process. In regards about you carrying your luggage by your own, we apologize as our bellboys also drive our free shuttle for the customer going in and out the hotel. Specially at night, the same time you had your check in. Our front staff actually gave you general information's about the hotel. And again we apologize if our duty manager had to call you early morning. We only assume that you are already awake as we had received your complain via Real Time Feedback (live feedback). Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience you had experience. Every review and feedback, we take it all to our heart to avoid the same scenario. Best Regards, Russel Riley Austria