Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay if you don't want to stay at CBD

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
A bit over priced for the room you get as it is not very clean and very small. There is no housekeeping during the time I stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Firstly, thank-you so much for taking the time to review us. The Garden room is in the cottage in the back yard. It is a room generally favoured by pet owners, car enthusiasts and those seeking absolute privacy, as it has its own remote controlled garage, exclusive use of the back yard for the pet, and, because is is self-contained with its own kitchenette and dishwasher, it only receives first day breakfast provisions and weekly room cleaning. The other two rooms in the house are spacious and without dishwasher or remote controlled garage (they have fridge, toaster, microwave and kettle and off-street parking) so they receive every day room cleaning and breakfast. It depends on the needs of the guests, regarding how their accommodation dollars are spent, and we do hope you will choose the Master or King room in the house next time as these rooms would respond more adequately to your personal preferences and needs. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti - Owner
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from narrogin western australia

great location

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: pillows
Location: 5mins from the city shops and resturaunts close by nice safe neighborhood to walk around in
the owner was friendly and helpful the room was nice with a gas fire place good range of food for breakfast easy to use facilities clean and tidy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you, Wayne, for taking the time to review us, and regarding the pillows, just so readers know, we have feather ones and firmer ones so they have the choice in all rooms, and in the Master room, the third option of super firm ones too. I love that you were able to let people know how close we are to the city, how lovely it can be to stay in an artily renovated 1927 Federation home and cottage in a quiet street but so close to the city, with leafy gardens, and pet friendly, yet only a 5 minute walk to cosmopolitan restaurants, dog park, child park, different ones, equal distance away, supermarkets and hairdressers etc. We clean every day in the Master and King rooms, along with providing daily breakfast, and it is lovely to have that acknowledged. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti - Owner
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bridgetown

Luxury in ideal location

Posted May 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Decor, cleanliness, location
Cons: Couldn't get tv to work but were rushed.
Location: Close to our son, relevant for us, but not others.
Sadly we were only there briefly for a pre flight overnight. Our hostess was that wonderful combination of helpful and unobtrusive! The accommodation was outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much, Sue, for taking the time to review us, and apologies regarding the television not working. If you had called me I am sure I would have sorted it promptly, as it is usually something small like the previous guest unplugged it, and rest assured all televisions are working now. How great that others can read that the accommodation and service here are outstanding, as our aim is to please, and offer an exclusive unobtrusive boutique hotel experience to all, including four legged guests as we are pet friendly, with no pet smell as we clean every day. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti - Owner
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Comfortable, quiet and convenient

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: All of the above.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great cafes and good walking.
This is a great place to stay when travelling for work. It's quiet and very well set up for maximum flexibility. The self serve breakfast and a common space which is often all yours to use provides great opportunity to call back during the day between meetings and work there. The location makes it easy to access all parts of Perth and the parking is great. Sarah is a great host who just makes it all work without being obtrusive. Couldn't ask for more!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much, Rob, for taking the time to review us, and for highlighting some special features – really it is about providing an more intimate experience not found in big hotels, like arty ambience and the charm of staying in a gracious yet central 1927 lovingly renovated Federation B&B, which is hosted without the intrusiveness of a hovering host. Reviews like yours help prospective guests appreciate what sort of experience is on offer here. Thanks again, Sarah Rossetti - Owner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

I was very disappointed

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Not much the cottage had an old world charm that about it.
Cons: The bedand bedding also the breakfast
Location: Not much around unless you go into the city
The cleaness fo our room was ok except the position of the kids bed was not facing the TV so the child could not watch tv. The constance umm of the air con was annoying and the water pipe banging every five minutes was annoying. Then their was the bathroom with its ant trail which upset my grand daughter. Then we move on to the breakfast which you had to make yourself in a champed kitchen nette bread was not fresh eggs you had to cook in a mircowave no stove basilly breakfast was torst with jam on it. I expect a cooked meal with the term bed and breakfast this is what youi expect for the money you pay. Maybe it should be bed and make your breakfast. Also getting back to the bedroom bed was hard and the pillows were so thin a piece of cardboard would have been thicker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you for taking the time to review us, and I apologise for all the things you felt were lacking here. I have asked housekeeping to locate the extra single bed when booked next to the adult bed in future, so the TV can be seen from it. The evaporative air conditioning does whirr ever so slightly, however there is no pipe banging that we are aware of, or have ever witnessed in our 13 years of operation here. The eggs are always fresh (I buy them myself) and we aim to please all guests, with some flying out early, which is why we provide provisions instead of formal breakfast times for being seated, with egg cookers which produce a poached egg in 30 seconds in the microwave, for guests on the go. All our sheets are 1000 thread count 100% cotton, and once again, no guest has ever mentioned an ant trail as we have the place regularly pest controlled to ensure that insects do not make their way into the premises. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalgoorlie, WA

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Wotif
Very comfortable room and friendly staff who was so welcoming to ourselves and our dog. Will definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much, Brittany, for reviewing this place and for letting others with pets know that two and four legged guests are all welcome here. We do our best to keep it old school friendly and welcoming in a world full of less personal touches and alternatives. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti – Owner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Great access to city facilities

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort.
Location: As described above.
We have family living in North Perth whom we cannot always stay with, and finding accommodation close-by is always a problem. We were extremely happy to find "Above Bored", which was a short walk away. Not only that, it is also close to a wonderful little Italian corner store - deli as well as bus-stops which feed directly into the city, and a short walk to the Angove Street shopping precinct (coffee shops and boutiques). As it is pet friendly, it is also a short walk to parks for the doggy members of the family. The bed was extremely comfortable, the decor delightful, and the Continental breakfast was enormous. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much, Kirsty, for highlighting so eloquently all the things which set aside this place from staying in a bog standard big hotel. It’s what guests keep coming for and coming back for, a central stay in a charming spacious oldy worldy place, which is still city central and friendly, and pet friendly. Sarah Rossetti - Owner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South-west, WA

Quiet cosy corner.

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Wotif
Despite being in the city, we were pleasantly surprised how quiet and cosy this little place is...you almost forgot where you were.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much, Rebekah, for taking the time to review this place, and for giving some sense to readers that it is one’s experience in a place that is recalled and if that experience prompts pleasant memories, it is always a pleasure to return. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Lastminute
Very nice, clean and quiet. A great alternative to the typical inner city hotel. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. We are looking forward to our next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah Rossetti, Hotel Management
Thank-you so much for taking the time to review your stay here, and for letting others know that it pleasantly met your expectations. In a world full of bog standard modern hotels, it is a lovely alternative to stay in a gracious lovingly renovated Federation home and cottage, so close to the city, yet quiet and pet friendly too. Best Wishes and thanks again for highlighting these aspects, Sarah Rossetti
3 out of 5
by Margarette from Seattle

Perth

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Drama, drama, drama. After telling us we could leave our luggage there for 2 days before our stay, we arrived, she was not there, we left our luggage with another guest, she went crazy. She claimed she was gone for only 15 minutes to the bank and the guest had no right to accept our luggage. After we returned to stay at the B and B, the second night of our stay, we returned to find another guest had been waiting for 1/2 an hour and could not get into her room. She had been calling the owner with no response. Finally after waiting 1 1/2 hours she left to stay at a friend's home. The owner had gone to the movies and did not return until late. It appears the the owner of this B and B does not think that she needs to be there to greet her guests and to make sure they are settled comfortably before she leaves. Nor does she make a breakfast for her guests. She just leaves the eggs and bread so you can cook your own. Same breakfast every morning!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank-you for taking the time to review your experience here. I must begin by saying that I do not ever ‘go crazy’. I do my best to accommodate all requests, even those over and above the actual stays of guests, such as guests very occasionally asking to store luggage here outside of the duration of their stay, and I do indeed offer that at no extra cost. However, should a guest be wanting me to do so, they usually know to call me when they wish to store their luggage, if I am not in residence, as I am never more than 5 minutes away, such as getting provisions in, or at the bank, and would immediately return to accept such luggage, rather than asking another guest to take responsibility for their valuable possessions, something that I am loathe to do. This is a small operation, with one owner and housekeeping staff. Accordingly, upon booking, I offer all guests a code to get in well prior to arrival and make sure they respond to their email with the code in it, so I know they know how to get in 24 hours a day. If guests should arrive without remembering to bring with them their code, they do call me, and I always respond, even if I am in a movie, which is rare, so this is to say, I have left a movie to take the call from a guest before, even though the code was provided, to provide it again, as I wish to displease nor inconvenience any guest, and have never lost a guest due to anybody not being able to get in. Breakfast here is self-serve from individual fridges for each room, so that everybody can have their breakfast when they would like to have it, especially designed for many guests who take early flights out. Fresh eggs are provided as part of those provisions with cookers which turn out poached eggs in the microwave in 30 seconds for guests on the go. Best Wishes, Sarah Rossetti – Owner.