Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Fine facilities, friendly staff, poor management.

Posted Feb 21, 2018
Pros: It was clean and the hotel staff was friendly.
Cons: The key situation needs to be fixed right away. Also, the manager stinks at customer service, and needs to empower his staff to make decisions.
Location: It is within a couple of miles of several food places, and GrubHub delivers. We enjoyed eating at Beaches on the Columbia River.
We had a group of 11 rooms for 4-6 nights. One room flooded somehow the 1st night by the bathroom & door--got their luggage all wet. The hotel was full so they made them stay in the flooded room a second night before offering to move them, but only offered one night for free. This isn't Super 8, so we felt the manager should be embarrassed to charge for a room in that condition, especially considering how many rooms we had for how many nights. We never actually spoke to him because he was never there, but several of this front desk staff openly complained about what a terrible manager he was and couldn't believe how he handled this. I called the national Marriott # to complain and they said it would have to be handled locally. On top of that, they had a really annoying issue with the keys. I had to get a new key at least a dozen times because they would just stop working, even though I would keep it away from my cell phone. And for 2 of the 11 rooms the door locks completely malfunctioned and they had to actually use a crowbar to get in the rooms, and then one of them had to move rooms at midnight (which is a total pain) because the lock wasn't functional after that. Also had a day where they just didn't clean our room even though we didn't have Do Not Disturb sign up. Other than that, the breakfast was decent, and the common area in the lobby was great for groups to gather. The indoor pool was pretty small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stsy5

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Great room. Very clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that I was awakened multiple times during the night because I could hear my neighbors taking until 2am. The walls between units are very thin and I could hear everything. the walls could have been built a like thicker. Everything else was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s. Oregon

Rip off !!!

Posted Feb 10, 2018
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Relocating
Location: Stay elsewhere it is a decaying area!
Avoid this place! In a bad area full of homeless people and tweakers everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value

Posted Feb 2, 2018
We were attending an event at the nearby Portland Expo Center. The Fairfield was least expensive accommodations in the general area. The rooms were clean and nice. The staff was pleasant. The continental breakfast was nice. The Fairfield is located a short driving distance to restaurants and shopping. It is close to the 5 freeway, our room was a little noisy at night. I have had back issues for many years. The beds were very soft. I woke up a little sore the next morning. Overall, I enjoyed my visit. I found it a good value and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Clean and nice room

Posted Dec 30, 2017
I stayed here on the way to Vsncouvet. I was confused to find out the suite as there are other groups of Marriott. Except that confusion, everything is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Room was in like-new condition, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The hotel location is convenient to the highway, but not to stores or restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Very comfortable and clean.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Wonderful stay. Lovely 2 sided fireplace, and the breakfasts included just about everything you could possibly want! Staff was very professional, helpful and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Erica Cosby- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are very happy to have made your stay an enjoyable one. We hope you choose us if your travels bring you back to Portland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff was very helpful. Very nice facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Erica Cosby- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you!
3 out of 5
by Richard

Disappointing.

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel looks nice from the outside, and the public areas look new and inviting. But the bed was uncomfortable, not firm enough to sit up and read without a struggle. Housekeeping conveniently draped a towel over the rim of the bathtub to cover up a large chip in the enamel that obviously has been there for awhile without repair. Location: This is in a Marriott complex set in a maze of freeway ramps and intersecting highways. Even with GPS it's not easy to find your way out of here in the dark. The identification of the hotel on the front wall is very poorly designed ... the lettering has much to little contrast with the siding, and it's easy to miss it unless you drive over by the entrance to figure out if this is a hotel or an apartment building. Breakfast offerings are minimal and layout not good. Want some juice? Did you bring your own cup? If not, tough luck unless you wander off to find the coffee bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moses Lake, Wa

Great Hotel!

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Enjoyed our family stay at Fairfield!! Great hotel, and super friendly staff!!! Plus, great breakfast! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Erica Cosby- Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you!