Ratings based on 1,196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Can't get any closer to beach

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Pool on bech, dining over Gulf. Great view of Gulf even from 2nd fl!
Cons: Paying for beach chairs isn't my thing, but I understand. Just not worth $25.
Location: Plenty of local restaurants. Winn Dixie, Dollar Tree and WalMart up the road in Madeira beach for needs. Right in middle of St. Pete and Clearwater.
Easy place to find. Lots of underground parking. 1/2 the rooms face to Gulf, which is a plus! About 100 steps from exiting hotel to water. Pool is right on beach, so you can look at beach all day. Tiki bar is on beach, as well as indoor bar overlooks Gulf. In fact, view from everywhere inside can see Gulf. Had breakfast 2x and sat on covered patio, overlooking beach/Gulf. Price was ok, food decent. Pool was great, easy to get chair since most opted to pay $25 for sitting on beach with umbrella , wooden chairs.Would say the $25 thing is absurd, considering how much you pay already, but I would guess they would have issues w/ non-guests, of which their was one in pool area "bragging" about how she does it. Will say the view was great, hotel in amazing condition, cleanliness especially only about 4 days after tropical storm passed. Did have a portable.humidifier in room, but not a big deal. Ran it during day, worked. Overall great location and view. Distance to beach can't be beat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing View if the Gulf. Close to Restaurants.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Amazing View if the Gulf. Close to Restaurants.
Cons: Property a bit dated.
Location: Lots of Dining, Water Sports, Shopping.
We Loved it! Swam in the Gulf. Visited with Family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Excellent hotel and right on the beach! The staff is great and the restaurant is awesome! Would highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très belle situation de l'hôtel sur la plage

Posted Aug 31, 2016
C'est un hôtel, idéalement situé sur la plage convient parfaitement à une famille. Les petits déjeuners sont un peu chers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

checking in was a disaster

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Nice beach.
Cons: the lobby and hallways needed to be cooler!
Location: Good location.
I was told it would take 30 minutes for a room to be cleaned when I checked in. I started raising Hell after a hour and a half and finally got a room!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Terry Graber, General Manager, Hotel Management
My sincere apologies for your room not being ready when you arrived. Our check-in time is 4pm and we do our best to accommodate requests for early arrivals, but is not always possible due to our high occupancy we experience year-round. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Cleveland

Tropical Storm Colin

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
We've stayed at the Double Tree in the past, but this time the hotel was beaten by Tropical Storm Colin. It would not be fair to rate this once great property. It is normally a great place to stay and we will be back when it's repaired. The staff was fantastic.
4 out of 5
by Rino from Schweiz

Gutes Hotel am Meer.

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hier kann man gut entspannen.
4 out of 5
by Joy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here 20+ years ago and the hotel was just as wonderful now as it was then. The staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well kept. The foot prices were a little on the high side but it was made up for the large portions.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Riverview, FL

The room i had was NOT worth the price!

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
I paid what I would consider a fairly premium price for the room I was in. The issue was my room was against a laundry room which was VERY loud all evening long and right above the check in area which was also very loud into the evening. I do not think they should be charging the rate they are for a subpar room. There is no way that room was worth the price I paid! I was in room 200. If you get that room as for a new room or stay somewhere else.