Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The stay was fine. Location fine. We stayed to visit family who live in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Excellent location. Wonderful staff. Very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Perfect romantic getaway

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The Garrison was great. It's a little old-time romantic (actual keys for room keys) but it still feels fresh and clean. Staff were helpful without being invasive. The breakfast was fantastic. Loved that all the breakfast food was included and cooked to order. I happened to joke on our first morning that I couldn't believe they didn't have hash browns. The next morning, without being asked, the chef prepared me a delicious order of hash browns. Now that's customer service. Room was clean and the perfect size. My only complaint was that the temperature was a little difficult to control; I'd prefer a traditional thermostat rather than just "warmer" or "cooler." A minor complaint for an otherwise excellent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Martin, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of the Garrison Inn. We appreciate the wonderful comments regarding us. We get a lot of compliments on breakfast here at the hotel and I am so pleased to see we are keeping up that trend. As for the thermostat in the rooms, we are trying to update them to more streamlined units with the temperature gauge. We hope you will come stay with us again!
5 out of 5
by William

Very nice stay

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Nice people, lovely place, surprisingly good breakfast, fine location. My only complaint (and I feel like a spoiled brat even mentioning it) was that the bathroom was very small and the fixtures rather reminiscent of a not-so-great motel in the 60s. I'm relatively sure than many of the other rooms boast more contemporary fixtures. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. I have business in Newburyport often and this is now my go-to place there. It was wonderfully quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Very lovely place !
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review of our property! We completely understand the issue you had with the bathroom in your room, with such an old building the fixtures do tend to get a little worn as time goes on. However, you will be happy to know that these bathrooms are being updated as we speak and will be completely finished in the coming month. Again thank you for the comments you have made regarding our hotel and we hope that you will come back to stay with us again!
5 out of 5
by Vicky

Wonderful weekend get away

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed a wonderful weekend away from home and work. Dined on delicious food, shopped at local boutiques, and relaxed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review of our property! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback and let others know how you enjoyed your stay. I am so glad you had a relaxing time and took advantage of the wonderful town of Newburyport!
5 out of 5
by Kimberly

A perfect stay!

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
My daughter and I stayed at the Garrison Inn for her high school graduation trip, and it was one of the best vacations ever. The Inn itself is so historical, and we loved that. It was located in a perfect spot ... walking distance to everything in town -- the shops and restaurants downtown, the cute shops, the Merrimack River, and the town square. The staff was very sweet, accommodating, and friendly. Our very favorite part of the stay was the evening tea service! We spent many an hour sitting in the lobby enjoying tea and petit fours by the fire. We also really loved the free breakfast! SO much better than any 'free breakfast' we've ever gotten in a hotel, the Garrison Inn staff made fresh, made-to-order, delicious morning meals for us that included juice, tea, and coffee. Our favorite was the English muffin, bacon, apple, cheddar and honey sandwiches. Yum! Our room was so beautiful too! Very old-fashioned, with a pretty view of the square and the statue of William Lloyd Garrison below. When we came back from a day of adventure, the room was always clean and cozy, with classical music playing on the TV and my daughter's childhood stuffed animal placed on the pillow. Can't think of anything we would have changed about our stay in Newburyport at the Garrison Inn!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First of all, thank you for this review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here and I am very please to see that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the area so much. It has a lot of charm and I am so please you too advantage of it while you were staying with us! It is also wonderful that you too advantage of all the complimentary extra here at the Garrison, especially the afternoon tea and out breakfast. (apple, bacon, cheddar and honey breakfast sandwich is one of my favorites too!) We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garrison Inn again!
5 out of 5
by Evelyn

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. A charming hotel. Would love to see them open another restaraunt comperable to the one : David's that was there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review about your stay! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. David's is sorely missed here at the Garrison Inn, we have plans to take over the space next door and add it to the hotel. However, there are several wonderful restaurants opening up all the time in Newburyport, and the Front Desk are more than happy to offer up suggestions for dining in the area. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Newburyport!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to our daughter's family

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Architecture, décor, breakfast room, location, atmosphere
Cons: Nothing that comes immediately to mind.
Location: Proximity to local restaurants I.e., Michael's), the train station to Boston and shops/restaurants on State Street.
First time guests. We will be back. convenient location, near the train, in a quiet area of the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
The room was good size but the bathrooms extremely dated as were some of the common areas. We would probably not stay here again as there are numerous B&B's in town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and quaint

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was wonderful service was great we loved the T and chocolates in the lobby! The bed was very comfortable. My only suggestion is that there's no where to hang towels or put anything in the bathroom. It was a bit crowded in the bathroom. But I suppose that's because it's an old building which is part of it's charm.