Ratings based on 863 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Close to amenities. Spacious room. Pleasant staff.
Cons: For over $200 per night I am sure that double ply toilet paper can be provided. And parking at $20 per night also seems a bit steep.
Pleasant welcome by the staff, nice spacious and inviting lobby, quick check in procedures, good size room, lovely partially obscured sea view, close to local amenities, beach and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mangawhai

Nice hotel but pricey for a nights stay.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Nice room but nothing special. Staff very friendly and helpful. Felt it was a lot of money for a suite. Would stay again but maybe in a cheaper option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Spencer, we appreciate your comments and hope we will see you again in Takapuna, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel close to cafes, beach and shops

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Staff, facilities and proximity to shops, beach and lovely cafes.
Cons: all services could be checked before letting the guest in.
Location: Already said above.
We had a disappointing stay because the room heating malfunctioned. Having come in late, we just put the heating on before tucking into bed. We realised next morning before leaving for work that the room heating was malfunctioning. We take it as an unfortunate incidence that would not withhold us recommending the hotel in all other respects.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Spencer. I am so sorry that the air conditioning unit wasn't working properly in your room. We have identified the room you stayed in, and the heating component of the unit had tripped it's fuse, this has now been reset. We really appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again in the future, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Short Stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Check in is at 3 and I arrived at 1.30. Room wasn't ready so I left my bags at front desk and went out. Room was ready when I came back and they offered to bring my backs up and I accepted. I then had to ring them twice to get my bags sent up after they didn't arrive over an hour after I had entered my room. After my first call they said 5 minutes. 20 mins later still no bags. Dinner time - we went to the restaurant but after standing there for a few minutes nobody came to seat us so we elsewhere in Takapuna. I guess they were too busy with their bar function to worry about patrons wishing to eat. Luckily Takapuna had many other places to eat at. Check out is at 11am. At 11.05 housekeeping is knocking on the door to see if we had checked out - was just about ready. Keen to get us out of there but not so welcoming to let you in early. Not really worth the money if you ask me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, I am really disappointed to read of the issues you encountered with our team. We are currently investigating how these incidences occurred, and please be assured that this does not reflect our company philosophy, nor or commitment to every single visitor to our Hotel. We really appreciate your comments and we will be taking action in light of these incidences to ensure such events do not reoccur. Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome View

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The view and the staff were good
Great view of the sun setting and rising from our room, breakfast was good with good a decent choices, room was dated and lots and lots of wear and tear, bed was comfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel, excellent location but shocking WiFi

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: WiFi!
Location: Plenty of dining options. One recommendation is Noodle Canteen. It may not look fancy but their food was delicious
Great location, plenty of spots for dining nearby. As soon as you enter the foyer, you are greeted with friendly staff and an impressive decor. The room was clean, spacious and great amenities. The biggest letdown was some of the worst WiFi I've experienced in a long time. Constant dropouts and terrible performance which made things interesting. Resorted to paying international roaming charges on my phone for a somewhat usable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong VIC AU

Great hotel but WiFi terrible

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: WiFi/Internet
I really loved the hotel, the only thing letting it down is the poor WiFi experience. Travelling for work means a stable WiFi/Internet connection is a must, unfortunately it was sporadic and randomly disconnected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great service

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Having only stayed there once before I was pleasantly surprised the restaurant staff at breakfast remembered my choice from a month beforehand - just an omelette and coffee so I wouldn't of anticipated this level of service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Suitable for the purposes of our stay

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Good location for my purposes. The outside pool was good, even in the middle of winter. Kitchen and washing/drying facilities were great to have
Cons: Should be made aware that the parking available is $20/night The bed mattress was starting to show signs of spring fatigue
We are a family and have used this hotel before. It is a good location with facilities including a sizable Countdown (supermarket) close by. It was good for our purposes. We made use of the kitchen and washing facilities. The kids were happy to sleep on the well pillowed couch and watch the TV in the lounge. The parking is an additional cost (am sure it didn't use to be?). The bed mattress was starting to show some fatigue which was experienced by waking with a bit of a sore back. Overall though we are still happy with this hotel, its facilities and its location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Spencer, we really appreciate your comments. I am sorry to read about the mattress in your room: our mattresses are relatively new and still under guarantee, so I was very surprised to read this - if you could please let me know which room you were staying in (I would really appreciate if you could email me dbarnett@spencerbyron.co.nz), and we can then speak with our bed supplier and replace this mattress. We hope to welcome you back to Takapuna again, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

A beautiful Memory

Posted Jul 29, 2017
From the moment we walked in we were struck by awe from the stunning view we had from the 16th floor.The room had me wishing I could just come home to something like that every night... A beautiful suite with stunning views over looking the takapuna beach!.the gym was really good and taking the spa under stars was a memory i will never forget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in Takapuna and we hope we can welcome you back to The Spencer for more happy memories, Kindest regards, Debbie Barnett, Guest Relations Manager