Ratings based on 1,167 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018
My experience at the Rydges was ok. I got a bit disappointed to find out tea n coffee sachets available for the guests were out of date not few months but .. few years old!!! Apart from that the staff was friendly and very helpful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Excellent location.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The location is excellent in terms of accessing the city's facilities. The staff were very courteous and helpful at all times.
Cons: We cannot find any negative aspects to comment on.
Location: The hotel is situated just over the Harbour Bridge in North Sydney. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel and cafes and other hotels in the area.
We had easy access to public transport which allowed us to traverse the city using trains, buses and ferries without any problems during the day. There are excellent restaurants in the area and shopping centres are within 1.5 kilometres if needed. We used the city's CBD facilities frequently and we found the people we encountered very helpful and obliging to assist visitors. An added advantage was the hotel's close proximity to family relatives in Cremorne.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Hotel was quite hard t9 find as it is located down a side street and Uber drivers found it hard to locate. Hotel is quite dated , the rooms especially could do with a makeover. The shower head in our bathroom kept lowering itself when in use so had to continually keep lifting it up. Shower curtain which I haven’t seen in bathroom for a very long time and no shower gel .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 7, 2018
The hotel needs refurbishment top to bottom it is a shame that this hotel has 4 stars in my opinion 2 stars only I will not recommend this hotel to anyone and next to hotel is a building site and to noice in the morning I could never sleep ,the thing is this we traveled from Europe to see the Sydney fire works and we paid a lot for the flight and hotel and they did nothing for us to make us feel welcome
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear kujtim, Thank you for choosing Rydges North Sydney. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on your most recent stay. At Rydges, we pride our selves on offering a superior accommodation experience combined with personalized customer service. Based on your review rating and comment, its certainty disappointing to hear that your overall experience had not lived up to our usual standard and have not met your expectation. I would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused as a result of the below standard room quality. Rest assured your feedback has since been shared with our management team for further investigation and corrective action. Once again thank you for sharing your honest feedback. Through your feedback we will certainly strive to make the necessary adjustment to make improvements for our future guest experience. I do hope that we will regain the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved stay on your next visit. Warm Regards, Rydges North Sydney
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Old bad hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2018
This hotel is an old hotel. The picture shown on expedia.com must be taken 10-20 years ago or must be photoshopped. Dirty carpet, room smelled, bathroom cracked - paint peeling, bathroom clogged (reported but they didnt fix). NOT recommend you stay in this hotel. I rated this hotel a one star - not worth what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear Cha, Thank you for choosing Rydges North Sydney. I appreciate you taking the time to share your most recent feedback with us via Expedia. As a valuable guest, please note your feedback is important to us. Its through feedback such as yours which provides us with the opportunity to further enhance our product and service offering. Based on your rating and feedback I am very disappointing to hear that your overall experience on this occasion has fallen short of your expectation. I would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused towards your stay. The aspects mentioned in relation to the below standard in room cleanliness and bathroom quality are certainly not up to our usual standard. The information mentioned has since been past on to the respective department for further review and rectification. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. I hope that this short fall experience has not deterred your overall trust in our brand and that we will regain the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved stay on your next visit. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel for the area

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Comfortable and clean. Staff great
Cons: Bathroom is dated and the bath is very small, shallow. Breakfast costs extra but even if included there are extra charges for barista made coffee etc.
Location: We booked here as it was located within easy travel (20 minutes walk) to Luna Park for New Years celebrations.
Room very clean and comfortable. It was a little bit hard to find as it is in the middle of a block and as there was no signage at the back entrance, our driver found it difficult to locate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Limited restaurants nearby. There is a restaurant in the hotel but we did not use it so cannot comment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear Trent, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and the Expedia community. We are delighted you chose to stay at Rydges North Sydnet on your New Year travel. Our prime location in the North Sydney allows out guests to explore and enjoy sights the area has to offer, located within walking distance from Luna Park, shops and restaurants. We are thrilled to read you found our room was comfortable and our staff were great. Its however disappointed that the bathroom was not meeting your expectation. Please kindly note our buffet breakfast and coffee charges are competitively priced within the area. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydney
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Location is good. The rooms are nicely updated, with tasteful decor. The beds are very comfortable, and we had a good night's sleep. Nice view.
Cons: Mushrooms included in the price of a full breakfast. No mushrooms - what were you thinking!! In any case, $28 for a full breakfast is overpriced.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. One thing we really liked, was having a balcony (maybe a table and chairs out there would be nice), and the ability to sleep with an open door onto it. The mini bar was top notch - nice to see such a well stocked mini bar. Nice decor thoughout, without totally eradicating the 70's feel. We were really disappointed and annoyed that the dining room was closed for dinner. Very uncomfortable eating on a coffee table in the bar. What were you thinking! A few families walked in, saw the situation and left. There really was no reason to close off the dining area and you would have made a hell of a lot more money had it been opened. Very bad idea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Expedia community. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience at Rydges North Sydney however disappointing to hear that there are few aspects were not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured your feedback has since been share with our management team for further review and follow up on areas of improvements. Thank you once again for reviewing your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future and hopefully for an even more enjoyable stay. Warm Regards, Rydges North Sydney
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north sydney

Posted Dec 28, 2017
It was good but the first day after check in and going to the room l saw some hairs and also nails in my room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear Masi, Thank you for taking time to write the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your first day stay with us and we apologize the cleanliness in room was not up to our standard. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Rydges North Sydney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

Great for overnight stay

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: The DREAM bed!!
Cons: Cleanliness of room and amenities
Location: Great location for walking to Neutral Bay
Good location, Fabulous 'Dream' bed - so comfortable, friendly and efficient staff and excellent breakfast. Room could have been cleaner - dust on glasses and under some furniture - disappointing as there are so many other plusses about staying at Rydges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear Pamela, Thank you for choosing Rydges North Sydney. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Rydges Dream beds and our fantastic customer service. Its however disappointed to hear that the overall cleanliness and amenities were below standard. Please be assured that your feedback has since been shared with our management team for further review and correction. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! Warm Regards, Rydges North Syney
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fitted my requirements

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Reception staff
I had an early appointment in Chatswood and it was perfect location and close enough to the city to do both.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2017 by Selsa, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for choosing to stay with Rydges North Sydney. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on your most recent stay We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Rydges North Sydhey