Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alarm Clock

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Alarm clock went off at 0600 (we didn’t set it) and woke everyone up until we figured out how to turn it off. Then the adjoining room went off also but nobody was in there do it buzzed for 30 min b4 it finally shut off. I would suggest that the cleaning staff make sure alarm clocks are not set to go off
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

would stay again

Posted Jan 4, 2018
a lot nicer and bigger than expected great hotel. great atmosphere and great staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We're so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations during your visit, and we hope to welcome you back for another great experience in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Nice Staff and Service Marred by Noise and HVAC

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Very nice staff, good room service, comfy bed but stay spoiled by freeway noise all night and an HVAC system that was either on and blowing a gale or off and uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Lou DeMarchi, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I was pleased to hear that the hotel staff and amenities met your needs. I apologize about the highway noise, please request a non highway room on your future visits, we cannot guarantee this, however we do our best to accommodate all guest requests. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from olympia, wa

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Excellent service all around. Wish I would have requested a room not facing the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kelley, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and thank you for acknowledging our great team here on property. We'd love to welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great place close to friends

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Lovely hotel, with great services, facility.
Beautiful hotel, great experience. Would stay longer next to make greater use of facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
CandR, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're happy to hear it was a great experience for you! We'd love to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs, California

Awesome rooms, just not on the traffic side :)

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Great location, close to all types of restaurants and shops
Location: There are dozens of restaurants & shops within a 2 mi drive down the road. We were able to even rent some tux accessories + hit a sporting goods store
We came in from So Cal for my nephew's black tie wedding and a few nights of formal events. The rooms were so comfortable and nice--- my only suggestion is to ask for the non-traffic side, it made all the difference. The GM Lou was very helpful. I didn't sleep the first night and called down and was told by the regular staff that they were full, yet I checked the Expedia site and even reserved a room for proof--- in the morning I was lucky enough that the GM Lou was there and he swiftly switched us to the other, quieter side and it was a huge difference and honestly, made the trip (hotel-wise) for us. He was very friendly and efficient :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Aimdog, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit at the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!
3 out of 5
by Paul

A highway runs through it

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Room was very nice BUT the highway sounded like it ran through the room. The fan was on a motion sensor so no way to keep it running all night for white noise or comfort. Thank goodness I had a white noise app on my phone.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017
Carolyn, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We're pleased to know you had a five star experience, and we hope to welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utica, il

Wedding stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Wonderful hotel, nice smell, very clean, absolutely wonderful staff, shuttles available for wedding guests. Great experience. I would definitely book again at this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Bianca, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're so happy to hear it was a great experience for you! We'd love to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

nice and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: We loved the outside patio. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were the best I have ever had in any hotel. I would come back just for tha
Cons: The breakfast area. Not that great. The same thing every day was not exciting.
Location: The metra was not that far and we took it into Chicago. Only an hour ride
very friendly staff. Always willing to help with any thing Everyone had a smile which is really niceI liked the outside
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Nancy, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit, and we hope to welcome you back again!