Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suburbs

close to ravinia .. stayed in tower on this visit

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We have stayed at the Renaissance on numerous occasions ... uncertain of this was of weekend for staff, but service was extremely slow , the noise from the AC in out room , reminded me of flight pattern at O'hara ... normally much better service and conditions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: clean and price were reasonable
Location: Hotel is 8 minutes the Chicago Botanic Garden
Very nice hotel and staff were friendly. Love the purple chairs/theme in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Location: Steakhouse in the hotel was OUTSTANDING!!!
Front desk staff was excellent!!! They were very accommodating to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent location and adorable decor! The hotel was located very close to the botanical gardens and the stay was great. Breakfast was very good with a hot style buffet and coupons given by the front desk. Would stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and so welcoming!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The staff were amazing
We loved this hotel! Every staff member we interacted with (from check-in to check-out) was so nice and helpful. Kenneth, the driver & bell hop and "tour guide" was so warm and welcoming. We are not familiar with the train system and he told us what train to take and how to get to where we were going downtown for dinner. He also was fun to talk with and gave us background on Northbrook as we drove to the train station. Jacob (the front Desk supervisor) was also great. We were celebrating my birthday and they made us feel so special. From a room upgrade to round of free drinks to a free meal. Even Denise, who answered the phone when we called from our room,went out of her way to make sure we got a shuttle that would get us to the train so we wouldn't miss our dinner reservations downtown. Overall, this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. I travel a lot for work and this hotel and staff were refreshing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but gave me a room bate & switch

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I had reserved a king bed suite but upon our arrival we were told they had given out all the king suites & we could either have a double or queen suite instead. When I expresed my frustration & expected a reduction in the price of my room, the girl at the front desk was indifferent. Basically told me to take it or leave it. This hotel also does not offer free wi-fi. Luckily, we only were there one night so it was a big deal but definetly a disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mchenry,il

Close to concert venue

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nicely decorated lobby/bar areas. Rooms were standard size however, bathroom was very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great experience

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The room was really nice, cozy and clean. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017
It was quick and easy check in, the room was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the business district

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Will stay there again. Hotel is nice with all needed accommodations, while also not being bothered by nearby traffic. The one and only miss on my trip is that some cleaning (power washing) work was done at 12:30 AM just outside my room. This was just an oversight.