Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tamworth

Relaxing and quaint

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The location and the price
Cons: Nothing needs to be improved.
Location: Situated in the centre of Caernarfon, close to the harbour quay. A 20 minute drive to Snowdonia National Park, and the Snowdon train.
Only stayed for a couple of nights, but would highly recommend this hotel, especially the junior suites. Exceptionally large rooms with everything you need to be self-sufficient. Situated within the town walls, and surrounded by inter-crossing alleyways of shops and bars. Already booked for next year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff were helpful at all times. Quirky hotel. Lots of nooks and crannies. Food was splendid.
Cons: We didn't have a view from our room.
Location: Caernarfon is small, compact and easy to get around. Right by the castle. Anglesey is just a short hop across the bridge.
Staff were all lovely, food delicious, bed massive. What's not to like. Everything was clean, room spacious. Hairdryer and iron and ironing board in our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Restaurant

Posted Nov 7, 2016
We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at The Black Boy Hotel. The room was clean and spacious, albeit the floor above was quite rickety and noisy but that's what you would expect in a hotel that old. The firework display at the castle was wonderful and added to our enjoyment. Our only "moan" was that we were unable to book a table for dinner at the hotel restaurant due to the popularity of the place - I have never seen such a busy hotel. However, there were plenty of restaurants nearby, so this didn't cause too much of a problem. The breakfasts were however very enjoyable and the staff very accommodating and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

first class hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Have stayed here before, and this time was just as good, first class in every department + excellent food
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Very clean comfortable convenient and friendly

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient to all amenities excellent room and facilities spotlessly clean..very welcoming Ming friendly staff
Cons: breakfast time....too many for the room to cope with we were redirected to the dining room where nothing was prepared..ie..cereals fruit tea/coffee
Location: Purpose of our visit was to see the Weeping Window of Poppies the museum and castle..so convenient
All round excellence from parking the car to leaving
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south wales

My experience

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Cons: Make guests aware how busy it can be so they have the opportunity to get a drink or food there.
Location: Location is perfect, a 2 minute walk from the castle and town centre.
At check in lots of people arrived the same time. Reception staff dealt with everyone efficiently. Car park at hotel cost £5 or you could be given a ticket to stay for free in the castle car park. Stayed in a different building which was behind black boy. Room spacious queen sized bed, double shower cubicle in en suite. We only ate breakfast here which was plentiful and lots of choices the reason for this was it was so full you couldn't get a seat not even in the bar area for a drink I think this speaks for itself being very popular.would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful stay in historic Caernarfon.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Caernarfon, Wales in Northern Wales. Spectacular scenery. Caernarfon Castle and the old town. Snowdonia National Park, Welsh Highland Railway, cycling
We planned to stay here 2 nights to see Caernarfon Castle. Liked the Inn and the town so much we stayed two additional nights. Knew only what I had read on Expedia about the Black Boy Inn. Arrived from Porthmadog on the Welsh Highland Railway and thought that was perfect. The Inn is just inside the city walls and a short 2 minute walk to Caernarfon Castle. Renovations aside, the inn looks remarkably as you'd expect an inn founded in 1522 to look. An extensive compound of timber and stone buildings on narrow, cobbled streets. Once inside, you find all the beamed ceilings, dark wood, fireplaces, nooks and crannies you'd expect. Exceptional bar and restaurant. Both are very popular with guests and locals. Great breakfasts. From reception to housekeepers, the staff is wonderful. Rooms and suites (we had both) are immaculate, comfortable and so full of character. Staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Highly recommend visiting Caernarfon and The Black Boy Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Really great location just inside the city walls.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Great location. Room was spacious and clean and had full wheelchair access and a full kitchen. Parking is next door for £5 per day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Nice hotel in the center of the city

Posted Sep 14, 2016
It was really nice and comfortable but there is no way I'm telling any friends the name of the place I stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by john, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centre pub/Hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
The parking arrangement aren't great as it was a combination of council car park until 10.00am and then the castle carpark for the day (400 yards away). Our room was 61 which was in the adjacent building to the pub. The room was spacious, relatively quiet and clean. Room service was good too. The location is great to look round Caenarfon and was good for walking in and around Snowdon. The biggest disappointment was inability to get into the restaurant without booking.