Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wayland, MA

Stately Barn Room trying to be Downton Abbey.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Room is in a stone barn.. One problem, the wifi quit on second day of stay. Had to go to main house to get mail. My husband and I got lost on first day in the woods beyond the garden. Had hard time finding way back. Map given was just too small and the dark was coming in. Otherwise food., staff, and room fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reynolds, chicagio, IL

soup to nuts!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
This is a hotel for those who appreciate history,historical building preservation, pampering and quiet. It's a unique hotel, secluded location-- you'll be one with nature, surrounded by green and above all, the best service! the good is excellent, the spa offered a verity of services- high quality. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX, US

Garden Castle In The Forest

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Loved the setting, the house, and our cottage!
Cons: We would enjoy more variety on the dinner menu, with some lesser expensive dishes.
Location: Take a car or sightseeing will be expensive. The surrounding area is stunning! Sea, rivers, mountains, quaint towns, historical homes, medieval castle
Bodysgallen Hotel and Spa was our Llandudno and Conwy haven for 3 days and nights. After spending 3 nights in a tiny, boutique hotel in the business district of London, Bodysgallen felt like coming home! The staff was so welcoming and helpful without being obtrusive. Our cottage over what may once have been a livery was beautiful, spacious and COZY! We loved being private and secluded outside the main house, and we made daily use of our living area and kitchen. It was just like having our own little home for a few days! The grounds of Bodysgallen are incredible! Walking the formal garden with terraces, croquet lawn, secret gates, water well and countryside views made us feel we were in a fairy tale picture book! The castle style "manor" is cocooned in a gorgeous forest, peppered with sheep pastures. The only downside to this seclusion is that its a taxi ride everywhere outside, and it gets expensive coming and going multiple times a day. We toured the gorgeous, calming spa with full tea room/bar, indoor pool, sauna and steam room. It made me anxious to take advantage of this haven, but there was too much to see and do in our short 3 days. Bodysgallen needs 5 days to a week to be fully appreciated, and we hope to go back someday! We had dinner in the dining room our first night, and while it wasn't our type of fare for the price, it was a very enjoyable experience! Both of us tried dishes we've not had before, and the setting was unforgettable. What a very special place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a true treasure this wonderful estate is.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
The accommodations were absolutely perfect. The dining experience was amazing and the gardens were magical. Anyone who stays here and does not walk the gardens and estate is truly missing the entire experience. Thank you to all the exceptional staff who make this happen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Relaxing break for a few days.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Tranquility. Cottage setting. Gardens. Pool. Dining.
Cons: A toaster and microwave in the kitchens in the cottages would be nice. Maybe a iron+ board too.
Location: Up near the coast, so close to Llandudno, but also at the top of Snowdonia Nat.Park and all it has to offer. Evo Triangle not far away :)
Our 4th visit, 3rd in a cottage. Our cottage was listed as a 'superior cottage' in Expedia terms, but each is different. We stayed in 'Baliff's house', with a downstairs lounge, separate kitchen with sink/kettle/fridge, upstairs to a large king bedroom with adjoining bath/shower room. There's a semi private garden just outside. The hall itself is set in extensive and beautiful grounds, several hundred metres from the A470, so access is good and noise it minimal. Ample parking, including areas very close to the cottages. There's a spa (think girly stuff) but it has a great pool and is generally empty so you can have a proper splash around. The main house is as you'd expect. Lots of nooks and crannies and 'high tea' or booze can be served anywhere. The dining room is smallish (I think about a dozen tables) but well presented, excellent service and very find dining in the evening. Staff very friendly and welcoming. The grounds/gardens are really impressive. Check out pics on the web and satellite imagery to give a sense of scale. Big enough to get a decent about of exercise! Love the place. As I say, it's our 4th visit, and it won't be our last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Beautiful surroundings

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We enjoyed the restaurant and spa facilities. The gardens were peaceful and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Luxury hotel with character

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The ambience, comfort and elegance and the excellent staff
Cons: The food
Location: The views of the hills and mountains are superb. We visited the Bobbant Gardens, the Great Orme a limestone outcrop and the Llandudno resort town.
We had a very spacious cottage with excellent facilities and our dog was made welcome. The main rooms were spacious and elegantly furnished. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food was good but expensive. We had one evening meal nouveau cuisine style which I found disappointing. We enjoyed a swim in a very good pool and the jacuzzi and sauna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon

Very relaxing !!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: The peace and quiet !
Cons: We had a cottage, a microwave would help ! Also we have a small dog so it's a lovely for walks and boot scraper outside the cottage would help.
Location: We just spent the few days we had alone in the hotel ! We didn't go out anywhere this time !
We have a very quiet 40th Wedding Anniversary ! Just right for January, afternoon tea with friends & family ! Wonderful dinner alone ! Perfect !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Quite, relaxing historic country retreat.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Setting, relaxing, spa pool, parking, gardens, fine dining. Good local beers.
Cons: Cellular data coverage is bad (EE, O2) - not their fault, but WiFi was almost useless. Don't count on using internet to research trips, activities.
Location: Up near Llandudno, so close to north coast, Anglesey and of course sits at the north edge of the Snowdonia Park. North Wales generally beautiful.
Stayed 3 nights, from Friday night. Stayed in Gingerbread Cottage, slightly away from the main house. Split level with living room and private garden below, kitchen/bathroom in the middle and bedroom above. Used the pool in the adjacent spa complex, room service and fine dining in the hall on Saturday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vc3518 from northumberland

Fabulous tranquil hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
A very old hotel full of character within an amazing setting. The gardens and walkways are so tranquil with great views is Conwy castle. Stayed in a quaint garden cottage with everything you could ask for. Ate in both restaurants and were both very good. Will definitely return to thus hotel