Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from i

nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
the hotel is located in central location between treath beech and barmouth beech.it has got parking facility and its quite reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

A hidden gem

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Large comfortable rooms in a picturesque setting - this place is a hidden gem which I'm a bit reluctant to share, but the hotel deserves to have it's praise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Telford

Close to the beach and lovely food

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Had a lovely stay here. Lovely food and lovely staff. Brilliant breakfast. Lovely park for children to play on. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Auberge traditionnelle

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Auberge traditionnelle située dans une zone calme et proche d'une zone dunaire et d'une vaste plage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, good location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
I stayed at the Cadwgan with my children in a family room. The room was on the top floor with a lovely view, and despite having three beds in the room, it was spacious and airy and didn't feel cramped at all. Crisp, white bedlinen on comfortable beds (although the third bed would benefit from a good mattress topper), the rooms are modern but still cosy. There was a good refreshments tray with plenty of milk (not the paltry two or three I've encountered elsewhere), and lovely biscuits. Just ten minutes outside the centre of Barmouth, the Cadwgan is perfectly located. We ate at the hotel and would definitely recommend it - good quality food and the portion sizes were generous. Breakfast was lovely - a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as cooked options. Toast and hot drinks were self service (just hot water in a jug for the tea. A kettle would be an improvement - I like my tea piping hot). There was no menu on the table, so we weren't sure what was available; we had a cooked breakfast, although this didn't include mushrooms or black pudding. It was tasty though. The pictures online don't do this hotel justice - the gardens are really pretty and the rooms are modern and fresh. There's plenty of room outdoors to sit and enjoy the fresh air, and there's a good climbing frame and swings for the kids. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice enough

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Hotel was secluded, quiet location. Bit run down in areas but otherwise nice. Little more care in cleaning shower room next time please. We had a comfortable stay, couldn't stay much longer than 2 nights as room was small but otherwise had everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

An interesting experience

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Wotif
The Stars were against us. Thought it would be good to be near a beach but the rain and the wind meant we didn't venture out. A pity on our part. The Wales football match was on but it was a little cold in the main tv room. Great to watch the game with a few locals though. Thank goodness Wales won that one. The room was pretty but again a little cool and the bed a little squeaky. Unfortunately the people in the room next to ours woke very early in the morning and we were kept awake by their chatter. The evening meal was also a little disappointing. Would have liked some vegetables.
5 out of 5
by Maurice from South Staffs

Fabulous location

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good location next to railway station
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay, good staff, great food.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay.
5 out of 5
by Liz from Basingstoke

A great find

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay here in a warm and friendly environment and had a lovely large room with great views over countryside