Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic views of the estuary and lovely food

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Hotel a little tired in places but did not put me off and enjoyed the experience.
Cons: Eclectic shower in morning - it was made by the Goldie lox company :-)
Fantastic view of the estuary from our room and spotted numerous different types of bird. Lovely walks in the area and will visit again. Hotel a little tired in places but did not put me off and enjoyed the experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Staff could cheer up a bit.
Location: Mawdach trail right outside.
Lovely views. Great location. For £120 for one night and London priced drinks I thought a smile might have been included. Sadly not. ☹️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Very pleasant next to the estuary very friendly

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Old style and homely
Cons: No comment due to only 1 night
Location: No Comment
Not to much to say as it was over night only, but would be hapy to go back if the opportunity arose
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Great for short break

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Staff & location.
Cons: Décor.
Location: Superb views. Great walking & cycling.
Great location. Friendly staff. Food pretty good. Menu/choice extensive. Décor could do with updating. Folk club meeting in bar an unexpected treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel with stunning views

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay. Utterly stunning views of river/estuary. Short drive to coast. Friendly staff. Lovely cosy bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for views and walking in the area

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic location for views of estuary and walking in the area. Clean comfortable accommodation, good food and nice selection of beers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield england

It's a very lovely hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The staff are a little blunt, except one lovely woman that would have done anything for you but I can not wait to go back and stay there again!
2 out of 5
by Jonathan from Huddersfield

Happy memories now gone :(

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good stuff: View and area is quiet and picturesque. The reason for staying, having visited previously as a kid. Bed was comfortable Evening menu was fairly extensive. Breakfast hot and remained so throughout Not good: Packet of biscuits in room was open and one missing. Corridor carpets need replacing, stained and threadbare. Bottom of the shower curtain was yellow. Asked lady behind the bar for menus. Received no initial acknowledgement, then said you’ll have to come round to get them. Went round, then she thrust them into my hands stating 'They were here on the bar and I should have got them myself’. Menu had many items unavailable and it was only 8pm. Decided to skip starter and have falafel as a main dish, waitress confirmed. 4 small balls of falafel on a plate with some couscous arrived! Ordered Cherry Waffle as still on menu, 10 mins later waitress returned stinking of cigarettes stating none left. Asked for the wifi code, provided verbally and clearly some welsh word. Not understanding I asked them to please write it down. A card was thrust in my general direction. Tried to engage barman in smalltalk; stated that this was a return after 40 years. Met with a mere head twitch. Not giving up, said we had driven through a village called Rhayader and what was the festival they were celebrating? Clearly not interested in telling me until I pronounced the name of the village correctly. Doubt we will return unless present owners move out.
4 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from daventry

Lovely friendly staff excellent food and lovely vi

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Had a lovely time was made very welcome by the staff,food was excellent lovely views would recommend this hotel