Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Some problems.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Good views ,convenient situation
Cons: Breakfast so poor. Must find some way to keep it hot, or even warm.
Location: Nice walks and pleasant town
Very dated. Breakfast lukewarm at best. Choice poor. Parking difficult. Views great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel full of older people travelling by

Posted May 12, 2016
For an old building, it is very well maintained Staff are excellent Position very good, at end of the shore by the pier and good walking close by
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

distressed state

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Cons: The whole hotel needs a complete refurb and update, it's still in the 1940s.
Location: llandudno is a nice place with lots of interesting attractions and plenty of things to do whether you are an active person or not.
first room offered was in a courtyard in the middle of hotel with a view of hotel corridors no outside views, was given another room which had a damp musty smell and were told this was only room available as other rooms were being refurbished so we accepted this room, only to be awakened in the early hours of the following morning with water dripping on us from above. when we told reception they said maintenance don't start until 9am. even then it was in the afternoon when they said they had sorted it. NOT IMPRESSED
3 out of 5
by Ann

Short break at the Grand

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Generally ok. No WI-FI in rooms however and showers cold.
3 out of 5
by Christine from Knaresborough

A great deal and comfy stay.

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. The breakfast was superb, the room was more than adequate and very comfortable. Unfortunately like most of the Britannia hotels we have stayed at it just needs quite a lot of TLC throughout but this does not take away from the adequate service, comfortable rooms and superb food on offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The Hotel situation is ideal.
Cons: Total refurbishment inside and out needed.
The room they assigned to us was absolutely filthy with food from previous occupants under the bed which could be clearly seen, so no vacuuming done. The bedroom window was falling out, we had to put the curtains and toilet paper in the gaps to stop the wind howling in and the bathroom window was no better. The room and the hotel in general could do with a total refurbishment and I don't mean just a lick of paint. We had never been to Llandudno before so we didn't know what to expect. The worse nightmare is the parking, trying to find a parking space nearly proved to be impossible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very basic but clean hotel
1 out of 5
by adam from West Yorkshire

Worst hotel iv ever stayed in! Fact.

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Staff have an attitude, I contacted the hotel 5 times to organise a surprise for my wife they never got back to me!! Had someones dirty underwear under my bed so the room wasn't cleaned properly. The shower leaked the room smelt of damp. Very disappointed will not be returning. Ruined my first wedding anniversary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Outside of the building lets it down. Very clean inside, bathroom bit tired. Very hot inside had to complain the room was far too hot. Buffet breakfast very nice. Overall very good for the price.
4 out of 5
by WelshWoman from Gwent

Faded Victorian Splendour

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
What a wonderful building this is and how magnificent it must have been 100 years ago. It is now showing it's age with creaky floorboards and some age related problems but you could overlook them for the position at the pier & the whole look of the hotel. Our first room was not great but we asked for an upgrade (cost £10) and had just the most magical room with anazing views. The staff showed us a choice of rooms & could not have been more helpful. Be aware that the hotel is used by many coach trips & the average age of the guests is quite old(!) This has an impact on the atmosphere which aims at genteel rather than lively! We didn't eat in the restaurant but the buffet breakfast was adequate - but only served for 1 hour which is restrictive. We enjoyed the stay but it does feel just a bit like Brittania are trying to run the hotel with insufficient investment & in this way it just falls a bit short compared to others.