Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice posh looking country hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Apart from the lack of mobile signal which is a blessing in disguise on a holiday really, it was absolutely wonderful, nice small towns nearby and house breakfast provided as well.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Chester UK

Wrong Bed

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Was given a wrong room which was unsuitable for us, we booked three adults sharing and was given a queen bed with a London bus bunk bed. after this was remedied we had a lovely stay
3 out of 5
by david

Abbey

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
food great, staff lovely, bathroom detracted a bit
5 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They need to get their act together!

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room wasn't ready on arrival as the 'cleaner' was off sick that day, which subsequently turned out to be 'had been off sick for several weeks'. When I arrived back at 8pm after visiting family, the room had still not been cleaned, previous occupants rubbish was still bagged up, and there were no towels. I was out all the following day, and arriving back at 8pm, found the room had not been cleaned that day either - the cleaner was off sick that day as well! After my complaint to the management, they allowed me £10 off the final bill, which was okay but I would much rather have paid full price and had a clean room and no reason to keep having to ask for towels, milk, and a glass for water. I do not complain normally, but there wasn't a great deal of interest shown, so will not be visiting this particular place again. Oh, and the dog barking throughout the evening just up the corridor wasn't the best inducement to a good nights sleep either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

altes Haus mit nettem Service

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Der Eingangsbereich, Bar und das Restaurant erinnern an alten Zeiten und verbreiten Gemütlichkeit. Über eine grosse Treppe gelangt man ins grosse Zimmer, welches leider dunkel ist, aber über einen kleinen Heizlüfter verfügt. Im einfach ausgestatteten Badezimmer werden die Handtücher beheizt. Das Frühstück war gut. Fürs Dinner sollte man einen Tisch reservieren. Es gibt nur Menü !!!
4 out of 5
by Glyn from Rotherham

Excellent helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
I've paid 3 times the cost of my stay at other hotels where the staff and service wasn't anywhere near the quality of the Maenan abbey. The staff were the most helpful and friendly I've ever experienced. The food was also excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by linda from Haltwhistle, Northumberland

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Loved this place, staff brilliant very friendly, food great, will definately be going back there
4 out of 5
by Richard from Hampshire

Visit to Snowdonia

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here to visit Zip World in Snowdonia, lovely Dog friendly hotel and friendly staff