Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice posh looking country hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Apart from the lack of mobile signal which is a blessing in disguise on a holiday really, it was absolutely wonderful, nice small towns nearby and house breakfast provided as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

If you have a dog and want somewhere to stay

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: I love the location, the family sized suites and the breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and provide all that is needed.
Cons: The coffee isn't great but that's me being trivial..I should drink tea!
Location: Betwys is very close by and obviously all the other attractions of Snowdonia and Llandudno
A lovely place to stay for the family with a dog or cat. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is great and the decor is clean & tidy. The wifi is free and easy to use. Breakfast could be served til a little later for those on holiday but overall we were accommodated very well for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Madge

A memorable break the hospitality shown: excellent

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: In some parts the furniture in the rooms need to be updated but this is just a very small thing
Location: Near to the historic town of Llanrwst and the beaches of Llandudno. Plenty of history and good walks ideal for dog walkers.
The relaxed atmosphere enabled us to really enjoy our break. Nothing was a problem and the staff were attentive to our needs. Food was stunning and an excellent wine list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Oxford, AL

Thoroughly enjoyed it

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Location: Conwy castle, drive through wales.
My 3 late teens daughters and I stayed in the The Caernarfon Suite, and we were all very impressed. The hotel was lvely, well kept and clean, and the entry into the split staricase was impressive. The room was huge, and the beds we very comforatable. The a la carte evening meal was excellent, and the full English breakfast was very well done. Staff were very nice and helpful, . My daughter claims her best wake up ever was to the birds singing and sheep baa-ing in the morning. Only minutes crom Conwy castle, and the drive was beautiful. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doymeister from Wirral, UK

One night at the Maenan Abbey

Posted May 13, 2013
Location: Ideal for Bodnant Gardens, Llandudno and Betws y Coed.
Stayed for one night, good parking, convenient location on A470. Room had an excellent jacuzzi bath and 4 poster bed although the décor looks a little tired. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to help and the food is the best I've had for a long time at a very reasonable price. The menu is good with a nice range of dishes and the presentation and service is excellent and the meal itself was cooked to perfection. The breakfast was good as well. Only criticism is that the dining room could do with some atmosphere, perhaps some background music. There's also a bar and lounge with a good range of drinks. All in all I would recommend for a short stay in Snowdonia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just some minor issues

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Pros: Meals
Cons: Minor cleaning issues
Location: Quiet and near to Llandudno and Conwy
In a nice quiet location with reasonable bar prices. Meals were fantastic, very well presented. Not really a place for children as no entertainment for them, nice gardens though and perfect for weddings. The only issue we had was there were quite alot of cobwebs about, it just needs someone to spend the time getting rid of them. The gents toilet although recently refurbed smelt. I could smell it from outside th door which is never good. That issue needs sorting. It needs a general all around clean just to tidy up. We found two cigarettes on our radiator which looked like someone had left there to dry out and also rubbish someone had left in one of the drawers. Like I say a general clean up. Staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wrexham

Needs Updating!

Posted Jun 8, 2010
Stay was great but the suite was in desperate need of updating. I have seen better furniture (in suite) in the skip. Cigarette ends all on the window ledge of a no smoking suite, which I feel should have been cleaned up. The best thing about the stay was the young man who looked after us and the food. which was some of the best I have ever had. We will be dining there again when in the area. Do it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

altes Haus mit nettem Service

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Der Eingangsbereich, Bar und das Restaurant erinnern an alten Zeiten und verbreiten Gemütlichkeit. Über eine grosse Treppe gelangt man ins grosse Zimmer, welches leider dunkel ist, aber über einen kleinen Heizlüfter verfügt. Im einfach ausgestatteten Badezimmer werden die Handtücher beheizt. Das Frühstück war gut. Fürs Dinner sollte man einen Tisch reservieren. Es gibt nur Menü !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by FamilyTraveller from Tokyo

Fine hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Enjoyed the stay. Nice staffs. Good foods. A bit greasy smell in the hall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by FamilyTraveller from Tokyo

Nice Family Stay

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Good food. Friendly staffs.
We enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Staffs were friendly. Foods were very good. Facilities had some troubles. We could not lock the door first, then could not open it later. They tried to fix the problems for us. We stayed in the top family room. No lift.