Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big fish in a little town?

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The decor/ambiance.
Cons: More engaging reception/guest services, better breakfast offerings.
Location: A very nice location for exploring the Conwy area and Snowdonia.
We stayed at two different lodgings during our stay in Wales, and the Meadowsweet Hotel definitely came out on bottom. Pros: The hotel and rooms are charmingly decorated, and for the most part the room was comfortable, though definitely closer to a "guest house" accommodation than a hotel room. But the reception staff was not very welcoming: they had neither the professional polish of a larger hotel, nor the more personal friendliness you expect from a B&B. Moreover, their main concern seemed to be the restaurant, which is open for dinner on the "long weekend," and has been written up in the press, received awards, etc. (I know this because these press materials were displayed prominently.). The dinner courses that we tried were excellent, but the breakfast offerings were really mediocre and (unlike the other hotels and B&Bs where we stayed) were not part of the package: hot items (i.e. eggs, bacon, pancakes) must be bought.
5 out of 5
by Simon from Bristol

Lovely place

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is very reasonable price with a lovely restaurant and nice comfortable rooms would recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed two nights pleasant hotel nice room TV reception in room was poor. Breakfast OK. Meal in restaurant very good but we're glad we booked ahead as the next night was fully booked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable accommodations

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff and accommodations.
Location: We visited the Conwy Castle about 10 miles away.
We enjoyed our one night stay. The bar area was vey welcoming and had a B&B feel to it. Our dinner was excellent, as was the dessert. We would definetly come back!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but please improve the bathrooms

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Nice little hotel in the quite village of Llanrwst. Ground floor entrance hall and dining rooms were nicely decorated and felt welcoming. The room was a reasonable size with nice views of the fields, farm and landscape across the road. Walking up to the top floor with luggage for a young family was quite difficult with the narrow staircase - unfortuantely no one from the hotel considered to assist. The room was clean however the bathroom was in a very poor state. The toilet wouldn't flush properly and the tiles/silicone were mouldy and dirty. Considering the state of the bathroom suite and its dated colour scheme with differing tap styles the owners should really consider overhaulling the bathrooms. Having paid £130/night for the room I would have expected a nicer bathroom.
5 out of 5
by R from Horsham, West Sussex

A comfortable stay and enjoyable drive to Snowdon

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Every thing about the hotel, including the staff and service were very good. The decor was very attractive - specially the bar and the dinning areas. We were in a room for three adults - the bed for the third adult was a proper bed - so it made for a comfortable sleep for all of us. The location was good - easy reach for the river and the bridge and easy to get to Snowdon and the lakes. The en- suite was clean and well stocked. The water was hot and the shower unit was modern and worked very well. The ensuite was in need of some updating - but it was good enough and did not spoil my stay. I congratulate the owner and manager.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean but not to my taste

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The view from our window. Wales is so lovely.
Cons: Serve really coffee rather than instant!!!
Location: Indian restaurant around the corner was fantastic. Won a number of awards in Wales
We booked this last minute and the rating of 4.6 and the reviews made it sound great, which might explain why were disappointed especially given the price we paid. Ugh ... instant coffee for breakfast and my husband had tea in a cup with the teabag dipped in! We stayed in a 4 poster bed that had a mattress that long needed to be replaced. TVs are the tiny. The interior was really not to my taste. The hosts were nice and pleasant and they suggested the award winning Indian restaurant that was 3 minutes away on foot. We went there for dinner and it was excellent and so that was something.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2015 by Nelson, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Remember to Book Direct to Support Local Tourism.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minneapo

Nice country setting Great for family vacation

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Style and staff. Cost was very low for what we had.
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Conway castle and shopping
Great location. Close to Conway but still in the country. Very much like a bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Tatiana from Surrey

Lovely time

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great time, very good food, perfect service