Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Superb food, freindly staff.
Location: Welsh highland and Ffestiniog Railways are a five minute walk away.
We stayed here for four nights and would have no reservations about returning. The quality of the food we had was excellent, we didn't use the 2 star menu so i can't comment on that but everything else we had was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

n overnight

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Convienience to both main line and heritage railway stations.
I've stayed in the Sportsman several times when in Porthmadog and never been disappointed. The restaurant is excellent with some interesting twists on traditional dishes. The breakfast selection is excellent and the homemade marmalade needs to die for!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel in Porthmadog

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Centrally located and great breakfasts
This hotel is really well sited in the centre of town and makes a good base with its own car park. There are good facilities and the breakfasts were excellent. However, we had room 5 which is in the courtyard and whilst the bed was comfortable the room is a little dark and cave-like. We are staying in the main hotel later in the year so hope to post a better review then!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: We liked where the hotel is situated, close to shops and festiniog railway.
Cons: Can,t fault the hotel or improve anything , our stay was perfect.
Location: Shops, the festiniog railway , close to local restaurants.
Lovely hotel with helpful friendly staff. We were greeted on arrival , given all the information we needed for our stay. Our room was wonderful, clean , spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed tasty breakfasts and a gorgeous evening meal in the hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Repeat visit

Posted Jul 6, 2016
We stayed there last year when visiting the Welsh Highland and Ffestiniog railways. The restaurant food and breakfasts were both excellent again and the staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted May 14, 2016
We picked this hotel because it was close to the regular train station and close to the steam trains we came to ride. Room and bathroom small but recently refurbished and very nice and clean. Room was also quiet. We had fun in the hotel bar and were picked up by the locals. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Excellent Hotel located in centre of town. Very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Noisy room

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Location: Stayed here because we wanted to see T.E. Lawrence's birthplace in the nearby town and also to play golf.
The hotel staff is very well-informed and efficient. The room we had in the "added-on" section of the hotel was disappointing. A little bit worn, and the bed moderately comfortable, but the worst part was the noise! The walls are very thin and there was constant disturbance. One of the people we were with had a room in the original part of the hotel and they did not experience that problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned but not quaint

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Very small bedroomroom, inadequate shower with spray situated in the corner making it difficult to shower. Water either too hot/cold or almost no flow Constant drip of overflowing cistern in the toilet which still dripped after it was 'fixed'. Couple that with a constant droning noise from the wall adjoining the next room and it was a very unrelaxing experience. I called the night phone after 9pm to try and get is sorted, but there was no answer, twice. I would not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Worcestersire

Friendly Hotel in the centre of the town

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Friendiness and warmth of the staff
Location: Centre of town and within walking distance of the narrow gauge railways
Friendly greeting at reception when we checked in, we were offered discount vouchers for the local attractions that we intended to visit. Restaurant and bar staff courteous and helpful.