Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Good value

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: The staff and the breakfast. Good value.
Cons: Having to go back outside to get to my room.
Location: A brilliant location right at the start of the Llanberis path to Snowden summit, not far from Llanberis station.
I got an excellent deal which included a very good breakfast each day. The room had be recently renovated and the bathroom was modern. Hotel staff very friendly and eager to help. The only niggle for me was that once I'd checked in I had to go back outside to get to my room. I was lucky as it was hot and sunny when I visited in October.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dudley, West Midlands

Close to Snowdon path

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: An ideal place to stay if you want to walk up Snowdon, as the beginning of the path is just over the road.
Cons: The rooms and corridors were too warm. This would have been ideal if it had been a cold winter's day, but too warm for a sunny autumn day.
Location: Good situation to walk up Snowdon and to visit surrounding areas. Good selection of eating places close by
Good price, easy and pleasant check in. Room with all needs for a short stay. Good variety of breakfast food which was nice and hot. All the staff were helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful North Wales

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Northern Wales, Llanberis @ foot of Mt. Snowdon. Hiking, cycling, Slate Mining Museum (excellent), take the Snowdon Mountain Railway to the top.
Visiting Wales and stopped in Llanberis to take the Snowdon Mountain Railway to the summit of Mr. Snowdon. The Royal Victoria was recommended to us as the nicest place to stay and it is directly across from the SMR station. The original hotel is, I believe, from the late 1800s and it is a very large, handsome building with character. Gorgeous grounds. Comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms, updated bathrooms, and very attractive hotel bar and restaurants serving good food. Staff is excellent. Maintenance for an older structure in the Welsh climate is a huge job. Seems to be done well here, but the front entrance steps and railing do need attention to do the hotel justice. Enjoyed our 3 night stay even though the weather prevented us from going to the top of Snowdon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location for snowdon

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Good location for walking up snowdon . Nice breakfast .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

great location

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: food quality...chicken was dry, muffins inedible
Location: walk
A little tired, rooms a bit brown and finding the third floor with 2 lifts was interesting. But it was comfortable Food was not of the greatest quality but reasonably priced
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The wi-fi is rubbish
Location: Perfect location for the llanberis path up Snowdon. You could not be any closer.
Lovely hotel in a beautiful location, perfect for Snowdon and explororing north wales.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Very clean, comfortable hotel with great breakfast Bar meals a little bland, but restaurant looked better - just requires booking
4 out of 5
by Carol from Cheshire

Good Quality hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
really good location to Snowden for walking and close to Snowden mountain train station, really nice outside seating space in the garden the hotel has refurbishment rooms which are very pleasant clean modern bathroom. Food is of a good standard weather you eat in the restaurant, or bar and quality of service from staff is efficient and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Great staff, good food and easy location.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: For a reasonable cost, it was: well located; clean; friendly; had easy parking; good food; comfortable beds; and, a great garden for an evening beer!
Cons: Maybe a wider range of real/draft/local beers?
Location: Loads to do, you are in the middle of Snowdonia National Park.
Two of us stayed (father & son) for one night in a twin room. We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly & helpful receptionist, and check-in took just a couple of minutes. Our room was not huge but was quite adequate in size, in good condition and spotlessly clean. We went for a nice early evening walk, which was easy to do from the hotel because of the good location, then returned to eat. We didn't fancy a large meal so opted for a bar meal instead. One of us had Thai Noodles with fried Halloumi and the other vegetable biriani, both meals were very tasty with good sized portions. Personally I would have liked to see a wider selection of real/draft beers but the two they had were both good and there were plenty of others to choose from. Breakfast in the morning offered a wide selection of hot or cold options. Check-out was as quick, efficient and friendly as check-in and we were given good advise on how to get to our next destination.
5 out of 5
by robert from Cardiff

Lovely Hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent check-in with friendly staff and very good service in both the bar and restaurant. Great location for our Train Trip to the summit of Snowdon. The hotel had a nice large garden area with tables, chairs and parasols with great views.