Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Outstanding. A class above the rest.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: It's shameless opulence, it's blend of fantastic history and classy modernism. The people are kind, the food is good, the place is immaculatly clean.
Cons: The gardens are very, very good but truly are an asset that can be more greatly exploited. People will come just to walk in the woods.
Location: This is a tough one, but really another asset. It's so hard to get to and in the middle of nowhere. Desperately needs a mast - no GPS or phone signal.
Don't think this is just another person raving about how good a time they've had at their latest holiday hotel. It's not, believe me I've stayed in some hotels in my time, it's part of my job to travel. This place is different. It's more than a hotel; it's an experience driven by people who are motivated by giving you that experience, and nothing else. It's not cheap, but it's no more expensive than other hotels placed in that genre. But what makes it stand out is that you walk away knowing that you've had your money's worth and you've been given a glimpse or something truly unique. You experience being part of and sharing an extraordinary way of life and see into someone else's world. Don't miss it. G.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel with a great spa

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Sadly, we arrived and left in the dark so didn't get a chance to view the exterior of the building or the grounds. The hotel is well signposted and has plenty of parking. Check in was efficient, if unenthusiastic. The interior of the building is beautiful- very grand and imposing. Our room was very pleasant and had plenty of space and good wifi. The gym was well equipped with a mix of strength and cardio machines. The pool was lovely too, warm and a good size. The breakfast was excellent- very nice salmon and a good mix on the self service buffet. Hopefully next time we visit we'll have more time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful on the outside...

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location and building but the inside is very dated. The wooden furniture in the room was lovely and fitting but the curtains, bed covering, carpeting were all dated and dusty. The room would be beautiful with updated linens and textiles. Also the spa was a nice plus however, the beautiful wood ceilings were covered in dust. When you can see that much visible dust, it makes your wonder what is filthy that you can't see with the naked eye. We got in late and even though there is supposed to be turn down service, the blinds and curtains were wide open and were a pain to get down. At 10pm, the restaurant started cleaning or setting up for the next day wedding, and there was a lot of clanking just down the hall. Would have been an easy fix for the staff to simply close the hall door but they didn't think of it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on Anglesey

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Wonderful location for exporting Anglesey. Really lovely spa facilities. Staff very attentive, polite and courteous. Will stay again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the Llyn

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The Spa facilities, the old world charm, and the lovely gardens .
Cons: Not a lot as it has a so many inherent features which a modern built hotel can't replicate.
Location: Good location, and ideal for touring Anglesey and the Llyn Peninsula
Enjoyed our stay . However found our room ( no 9 ) quite noisy as it was near the corridor door and heating system could be heard humming in the background. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed our Italian meal, my wife found her meal far too spicy for her taste, and would possibly have enjoyed a traditional meal better. The Spa facilities were excellent, the swimming pool was superb .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing stay

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel set in private grounds and woodlands. has a selection of restaurants for evening meal but advisable to take some smart clothes so you don't feel out of place. Swimming pool and spa facilities was great, clean and well maintained with a good sized deep pool and various gym equipment. Location is quiet central to the island making transport by car to the various places to visit easy. Rooms were clean and well presented with robes and toiletries provided. The safe in the room is a bit complicated and not big enough for a laptop but suitable for most other items. All the staff were very friendly with a mixture of knowledgeable staff and newbies helping out with the 2 busy restaurants of a night. Would recommend the hotel for a nice relaxing stay on Anglesey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

A lovely hotel, a real treat.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: There wasn't much really not to like.
Cons: The wi-fi seemed unreliable at times, and access instructions unclear. Mobile reception also poor. Not their fault, but don't go if you depend on it.
Location: On Anglesey, nothing is far away. We enjoyed Beaumaris, boat trip around Puffin Island, and South Stack.
We enjoyed a lovely short break here, lucky with the weather which of course makes a difference. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with a feeling of old-fashioned country-house luxury throughout, and is set in its own attractive grounds that you can wander around. We enjoyed our meals in both restaurants, and though we did not sample the spa treatments, preferring to be out and about, we did go to the pool and jacuzzi one evening, and they were lovely. We had a beautiful, very spacious and comfortable room, and a bathroom which I think was early as big as some bedrooms in other hotels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Spa hotel in very quiet location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The grandeur of the public rooms, lovely curtains and carpets.
Cons: The ratio of staff to guests, service was very slow, would not suit Americans.
Location: Very quiet country location, with extensive grounds. Anglesey beaches all within reach during day.
Stay spoilt by restaurant being closed for refurbishing and having to eat very mediocre food (which did not include fresh vegetables) in the bistro. There was an end of season feeling to the hotel with very few residents frequenting the bar in the evening. The main focus seemed to be on the health club side of the business, with even the TV in the bedroom being difficult to operate, as we were told the management preferred guests to be using the spa. The public rooms were ornate with lush carpets and furnishings and the library was very impressive . My bedroom opened on to a courtyard, but sitting on the patio was unpleasant because of bird mess on the patio furniture and doorway. The bathroom would have benefited from a thorough cleaning, especially the tiling round the shower. The bed was too hard for my liking, but that is a matter of personal taste. The hotel is rather isolated and precludes all but the very confident driver from venturing out in the evening.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Matthew from switzerland

great old building, lush grounds, but faded

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Stopped here for one night. Booked the room with the four poster bed for quite a bit more than a standard room. The room was opulent, huge, and richly decorated but was in dire need of repair and a deep clean. The wallpaper was peeling and the drapes and throw pillows needed replacing our art least a good clean. the bathroom had a bathtub the size of the spa Jacuzzi! Overall needs some repair and staff need to do better at cleanliness standards, both for the room and the restaurant. Dinner was fine, not great but not expensive either. Breakfast was a little disappointing.