Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the Llyn

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The Spa facilities, the old world charm, and the lovely gardens .
Cons: Not a lot as it has a so many inherent features which a modern built hotel can't replicate.
Location: Good location, and ideal for touring Anglesey and the Llyn Peninsula
Enjoyed our stay . However found our room ( no 9 ) quite noisy as it was near the corridor door and heating system could be heard humming in the background. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed our Italian meal, my wife found her meal far too spicy for her taste, and would possibly have enjoyed a traditional meal better. The Spa facilities were excellent, the swimming pool was superb .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

A lovely hotel, a real treat.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: There wasn't much really not to like.
Cons: The wi-fi seemed unreliable at times, and access instructions unclear. Mobile reception also poor. Not their fault, but don't go if you depend on it.
Location: On Anglesey, nothing is far away. We enjoyed Beaumaris, boat trip around Puffin Island, and South Stack.
We enjoyed a lovely short break here, lucky with the weather which of course makes a difference. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with a feeling of old-fashioned country-house luxury throughout, and is set in its own attractive grounds that you can wander around. We enjoyed our meals in both restaurants, and though we did not sample the spa treatments, preferring to be out and about, we did go to the pool and jacuzzi one evening, and they were lovely. We had a beautiful, very spacious and comfortable room, and a bathroom which I think was early as big as some bedrooms in other hotels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Spa hotel in very quiet location

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The grandeur of the public rooms, lovely curtains and carpets.
Cons: The ratio of staff to guests, service was very slow, would not suit Americans.
Location: Very quiet country location, with extensive grounds. Anglesey beaches all within reach during day.
Stay spoilt by restaurant being closed for refurbishing and having to eat very mediocre food (which did not include fresh vegetables) in the bistro. There was an end of season feeling to the hotel with very few residents frequenting the bar in the evening. The main focus seemed to be on the health club side of the business, with even the TV in the bedroom being difficult to operate, as we were told the management preferred guests to be using the spa. The public rooms were ornate with lush carpets and furnishings and the library was very impressive . My bedroom opened on to a courtyard, but sitting on the patio was unpleasant because of bird mess on the patio furniture and doorway. The bathroom would have benefited from a thorough cleaning, especially the tiling round the shower. The bed was too hard for my liking, but that is a matter of personal taste. The hotel is rather isolated and precludes all but the very confident driver from venturing out in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southport

birthday treat

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: it wasn't clear when sat in the Spa where you could get a coffee
Location: absolutely beautiful surroundings and gardens. the weather was too rainy to enjoy though to the full. lots of info leaflets available in the hotel.
we were there for a birthday treat and booked into the Spa for pedicure and body massage. excellent service in the Spa and Hotel. booked into Noell's restaurant in the evening and the service and food were amazing. ended the evening in the library area which was cosy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Very classy, elegant historical mansion

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Wow, I felt like I was a character in a Jane Austen novel staying at Tres-Ysgawen Hall. Beautiful setting with a lush green yard and garden. Elegant mansion with nice, clean facilities. All staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Loved the dining area and library and staircase. A very classical ambiance. I highly recommend and will definitely stay again the next time I am in Anglesey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Relaxing hotel experience

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The staff were very friendly and catered to all my needs, the room was lovely and spatious and I was only in a small room so who knows what the larger rooms were like. Food was also excellent but pricey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from chested

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Lovely exte sive grounds and woodland
Location: Very accessible for anywhere in Anblesey centrally located.
The staff were extremely helpful and we had a wonderful relaxing time with a beautiful room and sumptuous breakfast. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East

Lovely property in beautiful gardens.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Lovely old house in a great location.
Cons: The rooms need updating or the room prices should be lowered. The whole hotel would also benefit from having air conditioning - was very warm.
Location: Lots of walks. Close to the sea and countryside. Fabulous for a holiday.
Stayed overnight as attending wedding. Although the two rooms were a reasonable size and comfortable, they were in need of updating. Thought the rooms were overpriced considering the decor and facilities. It's the second wedding I've attended there and they do it all very well. The food was good and plentiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Never again

Posted Jun 28, 2015
rooms are dark and uncomfortable never stayed left after 30 minutes. Lost 200 pounds. They did try to stort it but the atmosphere im the hotel was very hervy. Glad to leave to be honest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Great on outside & inside

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Magnificent grounds and buildings. Well cared by helpful professional staff. Dining was five star. Very close to Holyhead ferry. Has a real Wales atmosphere.