Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bilderbuch B&B!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Ein wunderbares B&B in den North York Moores! In einem kleinen Dorf völlig ruhig gelegen ist das kleine Haus perfekter Ausgangsort für Wanderungen, Ausflüge an die Küste oder nach York. Und die Landlady Chris ist an Freundlichkeit nicht zu überbieten. Begruessungstee, tolles Frühstück und auch mal ein Tee zwischendurch. Besser und englischer gehts nicht.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

A nice retreat.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Clean, food quiet
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Out of the way and quiet. No local shops/pubs. Ideal as a base for easy walking with a clean room and nice food at the end and a relaxing evening.
Put this B&B address into the Sat Nav and go with it. The address we had was, Main Street, Pickering, when in fact the Sat Nav will lead you to Lockton, a small village 10 mins out of Pickering on the Whitby Road. When we arrived we thought we had the wrong address, ie; Hotel, Main Road, Pickering when in fact we had a B&B, village. Even so the B&B was very clean, room was nice and comfortable with provided tea, coffee, choc, hot kettle, hair dryer, ensuit toilet shower, nice beds and a quiet area with owls and such. The owner is nice and the premises are used by walkers in the area. Pickering is a small town with usual pubs and rest. A thing to look out for once a year so I am informed is the War years celebration where the town is decorated and people from all over, not just the UK, get dressed up in war uniform and vehicles and have a real good time. When it is I dont know but a search may show.Nice and relaxing, clean and tidy with nice food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria


Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: All cobwebs removed.
Location: Couldn't have been any better.
Very welcoming and friendly. Excellent breakfasts and even plenty of choice for myself as Coeliac.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Lovely quiet country location

Posted Jun 13, 2016
My wife and I are from Australia and enjoyed a fantastic experience of rural country England. Exactly what we were looking for in a quaint hamlet not far from Pickering. Everything was as we'd hoped, the setting, the guest house, the care and great food. Thank you. We'd love to come back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Peaceful,Quiet and Chilled

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The peacefulness away from the hustle and bustle of a hectic life.
Cons: Personally don't think it needs to be improved.
Location: Location was in a quiet Yorkshire village, which has walks on the doorstep, or you could go into Pickering or a little further to Whitby.
This is a very lovely peaceful place to just chill, watch the wildlife listen to the beautiful bird song. Our host Chris was extremely welcoming with tea and toasted tea cakes when we arrived, and making sure we had everything and knew where everything was. Breakfast was anything from cereal,yoghurt,fruit plus full English and toast, which sets you up for the rest of the day. Will certainly be going back sometime in the very near future and would recommend to anyone who wants to chill out.
5 out of 5
by Jan from Prague, Czech Republic

Great view and quiet

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing view over the moors. Very quiet location for rest. Hosts are nice and friendly and the cottage is really lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very cosy cottage and hospitable host

Posted May 2, 2016
We spent May bank holiday weekend in the North York Moors using Argyll cottage as our base. We were delighted when we arrived in the small village of Lockton that our lodgings were the most picturesque and cosy that you could ever imagine. Our host, Chris, was very welcoming and accommodating of our every needs - at times going well beyond her call of duty. Tea and scones upon reception, a great selection to choose from for breakfast and great local knowledge made the perfect mix for a memorable weekend. The B&B was spotlessly clean with very tasteful decor. Thank you again Chris and hope to see you again soon. Niall and Agueda
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caterham, Surrey

Nice quiet hideaway

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly, quiet and easy access to the surrounding area
Location: National Trust and/or English Heritage properties, North Yorkshire Moors Railways
This is slightly off the beaten track , stat navs worked a treat! but lovely, friendly and quiet. Easy access for the Yorkshire Dales, Pickering, Whitby, Scarborough, North Yorkshire Moors Railway and various National Trust and/or English Heritage properties around. We had a lovely 4 day break here and would like to think if we ever came back to the area we would stay here again. We were welcomed with Tea and Toasted Buns. Breakfast was plentiful - Cereals, Yogurt, Fresh Fruit, plus Full English, Toast and Tea.
5 out of 5
by lynn from Selby

Pease and quiet.

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
My stay at Argyll cottage was lovely. Very comfortable with the peace and quiet I was looking for. I just wish there had been a pub in the village so I could have had a meal without having to drive somewhere else. The hosts were very nice and Christine couldn't be more helpful. I would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Rogan from Stockholm Sweden

In the country side.

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant.