Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland California

Pleasant B&B with kind hosts

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Location near the river Ouse, and the good breakfasts that Julie served with a smile.
Cons: Plumbing
Julie and Paul were very welcoming and I enjoyed Julie's excellent breakfasts. Ashbourne is a little ways out of town but I loved the walk along the river, and the bus worked well for times when rain made walking unpleasant. I had a small room at the very top, which was fine for me since I am a small person and am used to making myself comfortable in small spaces. There were some steep steps to the room, not a problem for me but perhaps for some people. My main complaint was the plumbing- it was hard to find a comfortable water temperature in the shower and the toilet was sometimes hard to flush.
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Viernheim

Sehr schönes und typisches bed and breakfirst.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Sehr nette und familiäre Atmosphäre. Super Service.
Schönes Haus und sehr nette Familie. Toller Service und ein hervorragendes Frühstück. Die City ist zu Fuß in 20 Minuten entlang eines sehr schönen Weges am Fluss zu erreichen. Mit dem Bus dauert es 5 Minuten. Die Haltestelle ist praktisch vor dem Haus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tornio

Kodikas B &B majatalo

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Kodikkuudesta
Cons: Suurempi suihkutila
Kodikas majatalo hyvien kulkuyhteyksien varrella. Siistit ja kodikkaat huoneet.Todella ystävällinen palvelu ja autettiin päivämatkojen suunittelussa ja keskusteltiin muutenkin maiden kulttuureista. Huippu pariskunta tekee sydämellä työtä. Suosittelen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
A nossa estadia de foi confortável A única observação refere-se à água do chuveiro que não esquentou muito. Quarto limpo e boa localização do Hotel. Fomos muito bem recebidos pelos donos da pensão. Café da manhã individualizado e muito agradável.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2015
The owners were friendly, accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Steve from London

Clean and comfortable just outside the city centre

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable with an excellent breakfast. The beds especially were excellent and we had a good night's sleep. It's about a 30 minute walk to the city centre albeit along a scenic river side path.
5 out of 5
by FAY from welton

york few days break

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay
5 out of 5
by Mark from Vancouver, Canada

Close to University of York

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
This was a fantastic B&B. It was very comfortable and accommodating. I stayed here for a week while attending a seminar at the University of York. The food was delicious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was very clean. The wireless internet was fast (not always the case in my travels). It was slightly further away from the city centre, however it made for a nice 20-30 minute walk in the evening, so it's not really a complaint. I would happily stay here again on my next trip to York.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il.

Lovely Hospitality!

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: The hospitality was the best!
Cons: Wish it were closer to town, but the walk into York was invigorating. The bus stop was just across the street, if walking isn't an option.
Location: So many museums, great tearooms and restaurants in York. We liked the city bus tour, York Castle Museum, and walking atop the Medieval city walls!
Ashbourne House is a 10 minute easy bus ride into York center, or a 25 minute brisk walk along the river. The accommodations are comfy and the hospitality warm, Paul and his wife, Julie, were most amicable, and willing to make suggestions for our time in York, as well as prepare a yummy breakfast suited to our gluten and dairy-free diet. A wonderful stay!