Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

great place to stay in a decent location.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Great place to stay. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Walking distance from the town centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
We were met with a smile on arrival and shown the room which was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Nice couple and the home was very clean. Breakfast was the best we had on our trip.
5 out of 5
by steven from Georgetown, Texas

A Real Gem

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hosts, great location, wonderful breakfast, everything very comfortable. I am so glad we chose this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Lovely, clean and comfortable stay in a great loca

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Paul and Julie are classy and gracious hosts. They are very helpful, and room and breakfast are top notch!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Easy walk to york
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Gorgeous!

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, comfort, friendliness of hosts, bed, and above all, the wonderful breakfast
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: Only an overnight stay on the way to Scotland, but the Plough Inn for dinner was lovely.
Great place for our first night in the UK, the hospitality was fantastic, room spotless, bed soooo comfy after a long flight, breakfast amazing. The recommendation for dinner was spot on. Thank you Paul and Julie.
3 out of 5
by Garry from Montrose

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Bed and Breakfast was fine within walking distance from York city centre. We had a great breakfast but our room was a bit cramped at the top of two flights of stairs.
3 out of 5
by Isabelle from Finchampstead

B& B in York

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good cooked breakfast . Ok continental . Room partially et suite . No water pressure in dated shower room. Old small tv . Very good bedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland California

Pleasant B&B with kind hosts

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Location near the river Ouse, and the good breakfasts that Julie served with a smile.
Cons: Plumbing
Julie and Paul were very welcoming and I enjoyed Julie's excellent breakfasts. Ashbourne is a little ways out of town but I loved the walk along the river, and the bus worked well for times when rain made walking unpleasant. I had a small room at the very top, which was fine for me since I am a small person and am used to making myself comfortable in small spaces. There were some steep steps to the room, not a problem for me but perhaps for some people. My main complaint was the plumbing- it was hard to find a comfortable water temperature in the shower and the toilet was sometimes hard to flush.