Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Great stay.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Location: Close to the train station. Just a 5 minute walk into city centre.
Good size room, nice staff. Not too far from the train station. Love the way it is decorated. It is cosy. Breakfast was delicious and at a decent time 7.30-9.30. I would happily stay there whenever I am in York again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good B&B close to town centre

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Smiling staff. Walking distance to town centre.
Cons: No lift so not suitable if you can't manage stairs. Provide soap within shower cabinet.
Location: 10 mins walk to Minster and town centre
Reception was friendly and helpful. Room adequate, bed comfortable and clean, but why was there no soap container on wall by basin inaccessible when showering? Staff were very friendly, breakfast menu extensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dave, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments on board and are looking at improvements we can make within the rooms during our current refurb. We always try to allocate rooms suitable for each guest and encourage them to contact us before their stay if they have any specific requirements. I do hope we see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong, China

Nice hotel near to town centre

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Cons: The aerial of the TV is located near the bed. When someone lies on the bed, it will affect the TV reception. So no one can sit or lie down on the bed.
Location: Located at a very convenient spot. Only takes a short walk to reach the town centre where everything located and happened.
It's a pleasant experience to stay at the B+B. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located at a quiet spot and it only takes a ten minutes walk to reach the town centre. A great choice for those who would like to see the town centre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Good Value

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The room was comfortable and the location was just right for people who like to walk a bit to see the sights.
Location: The Shambles Market and York Minster Cathedral are nearby.
This hotel is within easy walking distance of sights within the ancient walls, including York Minster Cathedral. The breakfast was served hot. The room was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Nice hotel a short walk from York city centre

Posted May 7, 2016
Location: 15 minute walk to York city centre
Very friendly staff, comfortable room and a good breakfast the next morning. Would definitely stay there again. Ideal for couples.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kilbirnie

close to the city centre, friendly helpful staff

Posted May 6, 2016
close to the main York attractions, varied well cooked breakfast. the decor and fittings are a little tired.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with perfect location

Posted May 4, 2016
Location: Perfect location for tourist.
I stayed into York at this hotel in April 2016 for two nights with my boyfriend. The hotel was cosy, the people were lovely and the breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
by Tony from Blackwood

pleasant hotel good value for money

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel only 10 min walk to shops. Staff were helpful breakfast good value for money
4 out of 5
by J from Manchester

Happy to recommend

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was very pleasant all staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.