Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and eat to park

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Bedsprings made the most awful noise when you moved so I didn't get much sleep. We were given an accessible room as we had asked for a walk in shower and this was the closest. However I still had to climb in and out of the bath which even with the hand rails is a slip hazard I prefer to avoid. We didn't try the food as the menu was quite limited and we don't eat much breakfast so it wouldn't have be worth the £20 on extra. Good location though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Sehr gutes Hotel versteckt auf dem Land

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Aufenthalt war kurz, alles gut und sauber. Frühstück halt Englisch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool

Great Base for York

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The Food is Fantastic
Cons: The Internet
Location: Hotel great for sitting outside lovely surroundings also fishing and birds of prey near by
Stayed here loads of times love it great base for York just a few minutes to park and ride and food lush and staff are just lovely
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night at the races

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting. Enjoyed a lovely afternoon with friends. Food was excellent. Our stay was most pleasant. Staff very friendly and attentive.
Location: Hadn't quite realised how far away from York this hotel but would be a lovely base for travelling about North Yorkshire
A lovely afternoon spent with friends sat outside in the sunshine, enjoying a relaxing afternoon with good food. Staff offered a very and attentive service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Lovely bar space and public areas.
Cons: Prices in the bar were a little high.
A pleasant hotel. nice enough. The shower curtain not long enough to prevent flooding; the air vent did not work. Staff a bit indifferent and distracted sometimes but generally ok service. A bat invaded the bar while we were there and there wasn't an obvious way that they could deal with it despite saying it was a fairly common occurrence.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern North Carolina

Yorkshire gem

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Burn hall is a wonderful hotel with great atmosphere and food. The staff were always helpful. Our room was always clean and the bed was quite comfy. Burn hall was a wonderful start to our UK holiday. It is tucked away in Huby York. It's quite a ride to York center and any other northern attractions you may want to see so a car is a must. If you want an English country experience this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants

Pleasant hotel in lovely grounds.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The position of the hotel and the grounds were excellent. The food was delicious.
Cons: The breakfast service was appaulling - the resturant manager requires customer service training and then could lead by example.
The hotel was tucked away in beautifully maintained grounds. Check in was quick and easy. The room was a good size and was clean with towels and toiletries provided. The food in the resturant was excellent but unfortunately the breakfast service was very poor on both mornings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from doncaster

Quiet and secluded

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Overall not bad. Nice location, good staff, breakfast not bad. Shower not great. Booked a room for me and my son, got a room with only a double bed, not ideal!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly staff , beautiful grounds ,

Posted Jun 12, 2016
All good , lovely friendly staff , lovely grounds . Excellent price . Booking again soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beds are very very poor. Staff very good allowed us to check a couple of rooms for bed quality. Chose another room with slightly better bed but still very poor considering. Very good hotel, peaceful out of town location hence own transport required. Rooms could do with a single comfy chair and better beds