Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from penrith

Nice hotel uncomfortable bed!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hotel and grounds lovely. Staff ok. Breakfast really nice. The bed was the worst bed my partner and I have slept on, the bed is such a important part of your stay. Would not stay again unless bed mattresses are changed (rm 122)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

Good value for money . Not the Good value

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Good location . Quite close to York
Cons: Decor a bit tired.
Location: York nearby with lots to do
Not the best hotel but good value for what we paid. Pleasant staff . Comfortable room . Walls a bit thin. Reasonable food . Overall good .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skipton

Cycle trip

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Warm, efficient welcome from friendly staff. Too cold for tea on the terrace but the bar's comfortably. Evening meal and breakfast lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Was a nice hotel.staff very friendly and helpful.very quite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cramlington

Pleasant stay with gardens to walk in.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The setting and update to the main areas.
Cons: A couple of extra coffee sachets and biscuits in the bedroom.
Location: York, Harrogate, Skipton and the Dales are nearby for sightseeing and shopping.
Always enjoyed staying at this hotel. The food is always good and beautifully presented. Park and ride from Rawcliffe makes getting into York very easy and takes the hassle out of finding a parking space. The staff are friendly and very obliging, especially in the restaurant. Hopefully we will be able to stay there again with the same good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Steyning

Very quiet location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and plenty of parking
Cons: Mattresses on beds
Location: York, Malton and Easingwold easy access and York has many attractions including bird sanctuary next door to hotel
First time I've stayed here and I wasn't disappointed. Staff are friendly and if you're staying in hotel on your own then this one makes you feel comfortable. Very quiet location with easy access to York, Easingwold and Malton as a few examples. Huge bathroom certainly not a cupboard. Warm rooms even without the heating on and no noisy guests roaming the corridors. Only critisism I have is bed mattresses, UK hotels are way behind Europe and North America when it comes to quality comfortable ones nevertheless I wasn't kept awake and I enjoyed my stay. Chatted to some nice friendly guests too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntinvdonshire

Ideal place to stay when visiting York

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Staffed with Yorkshire men and women!
Cons: Nond
Location: Location great centre of all major towns and countryside
Very friendly hotel good food clean and comfortable. We had a pleasant weekend stop over whilst visiting York if you like the country and not the noise of a city I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Love friendly staff, rooms nice, rooms could do with updating, but only paid £97 for 2 nights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great hotel in lovely grounds. Not the hotels fault but a bit too far from York.10mls. Very quiet, comfortable and good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Nice hotel will stay again

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Weekend trip to York. We booked the suite at burn hall, it was beautiful. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was beyond all expectations. Had a lovely weekend and the park and ride in to York was only a 10 min drive.