Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good .

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Arrived and got given the smallest room ever. After complaining were changed to another room on the following day . Found out from leaflets spiralled everywhere we had paid more than double the price for our stay. To say the least very disappointed. Hotel pretty run down . Food ok but not great. I had hunters chicken one evening which was dried out and not really edible. When showering water changed temperature all the time. Hotel needs a total update.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: everything
Location: being a little outside York it was very quiet and a park and ride facility is not that far away and the buses are very frequent.
we have stayed at this hotel several times and always find it a very pleasant experience, although a little out side York the surrounding countryside means that it is very quiet. the staff are always very helpful and would recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to York .coast wtc

Posted Nov 21, 2016
warm comfy room. Breakfast cooked was only like warm bit disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Very strange room layout that was aesthically unpleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Quiet retreat

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Perfect location . Welcoming, clean and modern .
Location: I liked that this hotel was in a quiet country setting and that it had a birds of prey experience on site .
Lovely hotel . I booked this hotel for an overnight stay for a party of ten and had a mix of double and twin rooms all of which where a good size ,very Clean and nicely decorated . We all enjoyed breakfast in the mornin something for everyone from cereals and fruit to the full English . I would deffo visit this hotel again .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Bright friendly staff

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Shower and noise insulation
Location: Well positioned for York whilst being in the countryside and has the wonderful York bird of prey centre in the grounds which was absolutely fantastic.
Reasonable clean room with tea and coffee facilities. Asked for iron and board and sent up straight away. Shower was poor and the floors are noisy and flimsy. Could hear people above moving a round and floor squeaking. Breakfast good and well organised.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The eating experience and staff
The eating experience was a total surprise, polite staff who actually conversed with the guests, great quality food washed down with good wine! Compared to the quality of the rooms which for the cost were OK the overall dining experience was excellent. The plan had been to eat in town or local pubs but in the end we just opted for the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The hotel was very loud. There was a huge fight at midnight to which the police should have been called to and I was woken at 05.20 by men knocking to be let in the hotel. Very loud hotel. Gym being refurbished so not available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Quiet location, with plenty of parking. Friendly staff and everything to hand,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Environnement calme et charmant.
Cons: Réseau WiFi trop lent et signal difficilement accessible dans les chambres
Location: Rien à proximité. Auto nécessaire.
Personnel courtois. Chambres nécessitent rénovations.