Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
We were very well looked after at the Forest and Vale hotel. All the staff are attentive, smartly dressed and most polit. Breakfast & dinner was faultless. We had an executive room which was spacious & comfortable. Looking forward to our return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Toilet didn't work.
Nice hotel. Close to everything in town and the bus line.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An excellent all round experience.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Location: Absolutely excellent position for exploring that area - edge of the North York Moors - steam railway station - Scarborough, Whitby even York local.
The staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left were helpful in everyway - we couldn't fault them. The food was excellent and the comfort of the whole hotel was very lovely - our only gripe and they couldn't help that was that there was a screen for visitors in the lounge for the football - you can't have everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hull

Excellent staff

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Area is in Yorkshire village with steam train, trout farm,castle,markets and the best countryside in the UK
The hotel was pleasant,well kept and very clean. The staff where friendly and helpful, going out of their way to help. It is situated in a lovely village. All round excellent place to stay. Five plus stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tyneside

Ideally placed for all Pickering has to offer.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Location: Although the weather was wet we still enjoyed the trip on North Yorkshire Moors Railway which was very interesting and educational.
The hotel is very handy for trip on North Yorkshire Moors Railway. Also close to shops and restaurants. Good parking facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Very cental, lovely staff

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pillows could be softer and the quilt was thick and hot
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short walk to nymr

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Staff,food,location
Cons: Heating in bathroom too hot for my personal liking
Location: North York moors steam railway
Superb breakfast, Fantastic friendly, helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central and convenient hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Rooms and Breakfast
Cons: Breakfast times at weekend Room service for breakfast
Stayed whilst visiting friends. Hotel was good Pity you could not have breakfast in your room as 9.30 finish on a Sunday is very early
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel with great staff.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I enjoyed my stay there due to the friendly and helpful staff. Every morning I was greeted and provided a nice English breakfast or accommodated changes due to being not as hungry or change of tastes. Rooms were kept well supplied with coffee, tea, and biscuits, but not as good as the French press in the morning. I left my power adapter and the staff agreed to send it to my next hotel over the phone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Great venue near town, steam train and castle etc.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Nice and pleasant. Relax in bar area.
Cons: Not that I know of
Location: Great access to town centre without use cars! Beautiful shops, cafe etc.
Staff welcomed us with a friendly smile, they are helpful when we need something. The room was pleasant nice, size was a slightly smaller than we expected. Food were nice. We enjoyed our stay and visiting Pickering.