Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shipley

The staff could not have done more for us

Posted Jan 9, 2017
My husband had a seizure and had to be rushed to hospital and the staff were amazing would recommend this hotel to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Lovely Hotel Close to the City Center

Posted Dec 19, 2016
The Hotel was Lovely, the Staff were extremely helpful. Everything was very stylish and clean i would b more than happy to reccomend this hotel to anybody!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

All looks and no substance

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The Best Western Monkbar looks pretty good, and the location convenient, but the room was very very uncomfortable. The bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were uncomfortable. The room was too hot with very little we could control besides turning off the radiators and opening the windows, which then made the room too cold, and the battle continued. The hotel itself is a maze of half-stairs and ceilings of differing heights, which was incredibly difficult to manage with a push chair and luggage. I would not recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancs

Very relaxing

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: I liked the professional yet friendly staff who were very obliging with any requests.
Cons: I thought the breakfasts could have been hotter. Eggs put onto a muffin don't keep their heat and the beans also were only warm. Having said that it all tasted good.
Location: I stayed in York just outside the city wall so there was a lot to do and lovely shops.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Does the job

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Seems like a good enough hotel if you want to stay central and be able to walk quickly into town. Facilities are nothing special & the size of the bedroom was small (we were in the townhouse) - double bed and not much room to walk around it. Also too much furniture in the bedroom taking up vital space, so it felt even more crammed than necessary. Felt expensive for what it was. We'll probably try somewhere else next time we visit York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, good location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Staff were extremely helpful Very nice atmosphere in the hotel Disappointed that parking was an extra charge on top of the booking (£8 per day), parking was in a public car park, although this was fine because the car park was very close to the hotel Also disappointed that breakfast was not included with the room (nearly £15 per person) I wonder if these extra charges could have been made clearer when I was booking the room - watch out for this, but I would still strongly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to city centre

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Location: Historic York centre is just a few minutes walk away and there are plenty of good pubs, bars, cafes and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk.
Good quality hotel and just across the road from the city wall and the main streets. Excellent breakfast. The Minster just a few minutes walk away. Plenty of local bars and cafes within a few minutes walk. Parking: you can unload right outside the main entrance but need to go right back round the one way system to get to the car park, which is just before the hotel - £8 a day paid at the hotel desk. The Duke of York pub is just a few minutes away and between 5 & 9 pm all premium gins are £4 (including Fentiman's tonic); £5.50 for doubles! Friday night 2 sirloin steaks and a good bottle of wine for £30 - one of the best steaks I've ever had!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Gary Auker, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Just on the note of Gins and steaks, if interested in the future, in our Yorkshire Bar and Grill at the Monkbar Hotel, on Wednesdays we have an offer for 2 premium sirloin steaks and bottle of wine for £30 and on Saturdays we have our 'Gin Saturday's' where you can choose one of ten different gins to go with our Fever Tree Tonic for £3.50 We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete a review. Sincerely, Gary Auker Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Perfect spot for a sight seeing trip to York - right next to Monkbar & a hop skip & a jump from everything else. The room was super comfy, clean & tastefully decorated. The restaurant was very good - ate there on both nights of my stay with local friends. Pity the parking was down the street but cannot be helped in York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon so we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you again for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Gary Auker Guest Relations Manager BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clitheroe

Nice hotel close to shops, bars & attractions

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: It is close to the centre of York.
Cons: Air conditioning, or a fan in the room
Location: 5 minutes walk into York, plenty of bars, cafes & restaurants. Market, bus & river tours as well as the chocolate factory.
I had family visiting from Kent who had never been to York before. My husband & I have stayed at the hotel before, so I brought my cousin to stay for a short break. We were not disappointed. The hotel is close to everything we wanted to see, the room was beautifully renovated, with good facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Very Good hotel, would stay again. It is near the Minster, and all the other main attractions.