Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful.

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Cheap and cheerful accommodation within walking distance of city centre. Pleasant, comfortable rooms...although squeaky bed and not the most modern or matching of décor. Breakfast very rushed. Pleasant enough staff though, on the whole.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Close to the city center like we wanted,

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Car parking space, easy to walk into the middle of York and good tea, coffee etc in the room.
Cons: Breakfast, get a handyman to repair broken items in room.
Location: Its York, it has most things you would want to do.
Very poor breakfasts, broken curtain rods in bedroom, no shelf in bathroom had to put glass from bedroom on toilet. Holes where shelf and glass holder should of been, The room was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful, I thought this B&B was a touch expensive so expected better than we got, they offered me a small amount in recompence and I accepetd it but for the price they charge it needs to do better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

This place is a Dump.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: It's location was convent.
Cons: Hire effective cleaning staff. This includes waiters. When I was there they told you to sit at dirty, reset table.
Location: York is a great place. There is a lot to see and to there.
Dirty place. Manager hangs his laundry on hall heater at night. Do not give new clean towels or clean bathroom. Heat turned off and no one was around to help. Had to use pillows to block drafts from window, and fireplace.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK, China

Nothing special

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Ebookers
No staff worked during the check-in time. Waited outside the guest house for a while.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice 2 night stay in quiet area 5 mins walk to centre of town close to pubs/restaurants etc..Would recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near. To town centre 5 min walk.

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Was ok. Disappointed. Despite booking a month in advance they didn't meet my request. Although they apologised. Was there two nights. Could have nipped to supermarket. For a loaf ??? Parking. Can be difficult. As share with another guest house next door and permit. Parking on side streets
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for football ground and town centre

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
more than adequate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very nice

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I don't know where to start
Location: It is a dump. Full of smackheads and drunks by the looks of it. Walking through there late at night was a bit like the Thriller video.
Awful place. As soon as I had got through the door, and despite the agreement being that I would pay using a card, I was informed it had to be cash, and he wanted it then. Hardly surprising I suppose, as its harder to change your mind once you have seen the room etc, and you would probably never get your cash back. The rooms are dated and a bit scruffy, bed is uncomfortable and noisy. It states that breakfast is 8-9, but an earlier breakfast can be arranged. This is not true. We asked for an earlier breakfast, not a cooked one, but just some cereal and milk, maybe a cuppa, as we were going fishing on our first morning there. We were told no. The second morning, I asked for beans on toast for breakfast. I was told that they couldn't do this as it made the toast soggy. I said that that was what I wanted. They refused, and instead served me them separately. The place is a joke, ran by people who could not care less about what they provide for guests. We were unlucky as everywhere was fully booked and we took a chance. Never Again.
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline from warrington

well worth a visit

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. The rooms were bright and airy and lovely and clean. The only gripes we had was our beds were very squeaky (probably made worse by me and my husband being on the larger side!). In addition to this we were too hot.... i understand that everyone is different, but our room was so hot we had to sleep with the window open all night - which made us feel awful (wasting money for the owners). The breakfast was gorgeous - plenty of choice and very tasty. The villa is only about a 10 minute walk away from the minster.