Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Disappointing

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Parking
Cons: Fans of air conditioning needed in rooms. Do not have rooms next to service lifts.
Location: Centrally located near town centre, bars and restaurants.
Room extremely hot and uncomfortable also positioned next to the service lift so very noisy and the chance of getting much sleep was nil! Breakfast choice good, however, we were not given milk with our coffee/tea, the toast was burned and our dining chair was broken. On check out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay which we found quite strange as this is normally standard practice. We visit Harrogate regularly and have stayed in some very nice hotels unfortunately we won't be returning to The Cairn - not worth the money we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

Grand old lady, but rather past her best.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Location, public rooms, Victorian decor, dining room, general amenities.
Cons: Bathroom "extras" / breakfast toast and coffee.
Location: Handy for Harrogate Town Centre with most attractions accessible.
Must have been quite something in her heyday, but despite some stirling efforts by all concerned, including some good staff, rather faded and jaded. Loved some of the original decor and overall ambience, especially the art nouveau windows etc but overall, a tad past it. Our (superior) room was adequate, functional, quiet, but nothing special. Toiletries and "usual" these days "little extras" were absent. Beds were comfortable enough and the room was well serviced daily. The large hotel dining room was a delight, in it's decor and outlook. We only sampled various breakfasts - quite adequate overall, but nothing special, with toast really poor and the coffee little better. General amenities were good, staff generally efficient, obliging & friendly. The hotel location is within a reasonable 10 minutes walk from central Harrogate and the car park facilities are adequate. All in all, something of a "curate's egg" of an establishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberlan

Comfortable hotel - close to my office

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: cleanliness and polite staff
Location: Food places are plentiful - it was a business stay
My room was comfortable, quiet and it had been recently upgraded. Very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Charming hotel, with fantastic staff.

Posted May 8, 2017
The staff couldn't do enough for us. Very polite and professional. The hotel is old but kept to a high standard of cleanliness. I think that adds to its charm. Sort walk to the town centre. Breakfast was busy and did let down the standards we had been receiving. However room service was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Hotel stay for ripon races

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Very reasonable priced alcohol
Cons: A non snoring room mate
Location: Excellent hotel very close to all the pubs and restaurants
Excellent hotel very close to all the pubs and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We couldn't fault it. We've had a very enjoyable f

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We couldn't fault it. We've had a very enjoyable few days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Harrogate town

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Good size room
Cons: Hotel needs work, better cleaning of carpets and room , free internet in all hotel ,better waiter service at breakfast .
Location: Good location,easy access to town center,lots of eating places but expensive place.
Good stay this time, politer staff in hotel , still have to wait at breakfast time, enjoying stay .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from derby

Great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great
Went to a show in Harrogate, nothing was to much trouble, will return, thanks for a fantastic stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Does the job

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros * Close to the town centre * Staff will allow you to park your vehicle in the carpark if you arrive early. * Room very clean * Dog friendly * Breakfast more than adequate. Cons * Room close to needing totally redecorating (wallpaper starting to peel from ceiling) * Bed hard (aware that this might be a plus point for some) * Internet access in the room is charged for (surely in this day and age this should be free). Internet access is free in the lobby/reception areas.
2 out of 5
by Susan

Beds

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
The beds were so hard you couldn't sleep and I would not stay here again. The Hotel could do with being updated but Breakfast was good and so was the service. Shame about the beds.