Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Not the best, not exactly 4*

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location/view although despite our request for sea view we got stuck at the back of the hotel.
Cons: Staff training in customer experience. Clean & freshen up the bathrooms. Stock what guests would like on the bar so that they don't go nexdoor
Location: Lanterna Restaurant is way beyond our expectations in terms of service & gastronomic delight, faultless. ABC taxis by far & away the best taxi firm
Easy check in. Room large, bathroom small. Bathroom mouldy, paint peeling off ceiling, heated towel rail did not work. Tv in room had no signal - disappointing seen as the bar service & range is less than acceptable for a 3* hotel, let alone 4*. As a result of how we were treated by staff at the bar we nipped to local Tesco that had an excellent range & went back to the room to attempt to re-tune the tv.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north east

Attractive hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
The hotel gives a attractive presentation of it itself, both internally and externally. We were given a different room to which we booked, We booked a superior, spacious sea view room. We were given a junior suite which on appearance was more cramped, not the sea views as expected, as windows are smaller and eye level, view obscured by a small wall on the exterior. Unlike the superior rooms. The junior suite appeared well presented, on further inspection dirty bathroom floor, long hairs left in the bath and scum around the hand rail for shower. Still a nice room would not let this put you off, didn't complain. For the price, rails and fittings should appear polished and floor spotless. So I've marked my review score lower, shouldn't have to complain , these should. Be checked by the house keepers as standards should be higher. Didn't spoil our stay. Just the cleaning let this expensive hotel down, in our room. Had I complained, expect the hotel would have acted accordingly to be fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

£12 CHARGE FOR HOTEL'S OWN CAR PARK IS RIDICULOUS!

Posted May 5, 2017
Cons: PARKING SITUATION!
Lovely hotel but description misleading as clearly states "free parking". What is NOT explained is that the free parking is off-site on public highway if you are lucky enough to find a space! Very disappointing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. Well situated.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Lovely stay, pleasantly looked after by the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

standards slipping

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Paid 147 pounds for one standard room one night regular customers noticed obvious decline in standards especially poor experience this time. allocated room overlooking roof attic no view at all . Very dark small window dreadful odour damp in room bathroom needed cleaning on arrival washed it myself. pillows pld lumpy . just pointless visit came to relax but may as well have stayed home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Good comfortable seaview room Spa facilities Excellent food
Cheerful and helpful staff More care in billing customers both in the restaurant and at reception
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Executive Room really isn't...

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: A commanding seafront position, and a quiet room.
Cons: Matching the standards of Radisson Blu hotels would make it far better.
Location: Unbeatable views of Scarborough's South Bay.
Our Executive room didn't offer the size, comfort or convenience of, say, the equivalent rooms at Radisson Blu Hotels, although the cost is comparable. It's because there isn't another 4 or 5 star hotel in Scarborough to give the Crown much competition, so it doesn't try very hard. Our double room was small, although the bed was comfortable. The small bathroom had a small bath and shower over, so the clingy shower curtain in the tight space meant showering wasn't comfortable. Wi-if is an extra-cost option, which is unique in my experience of Executive Rooms, where a premium price includes everything a business traveller might need. But there was no mini bar or Nespresso machine in the room, no body lotion, no complimentary drinks at the bar, no executive lounge, and no breakfast included either. So in reality this Executive Room isn't worthy of its name, because it's not much better than a standard room, except perhaps for plusher curtains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield UK

Great Hotel,

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Great amenities
Cons: Parking.
Location: Fantastic views over South Bay, Spa complex, Harbour and water front, Marine drive (Walk to North Bay).
Great hotel, fabulous staff, easy to get to and with-in easy reach of town, water front and Marine drive.
1 out of 5
by David

Expensive and dirty hotel with good views.

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Parking is free if you park on the road ONLY (they will give you a temporary pass for 3L zones). Parking in their private car park is chargeable and more expensive between May and Nov and only has around 20 spaces. Parking on the road can be competitive so be prepared to walk a little if you can't get close. My room was a superior room on the 3rd floor with a sea view (nice view!) but for the price I paid it was very poor. The room was somehow very hot when I got in there; there may have been heating pipes under the room as there was no way of cooling it down even with window open fully. Cleanliness of the room was bad; the floors had not been cleaned and they were not cleaned over the course of my 3 night stay, corners of the bathroom floor were quite dirty, and I found clothing tags all over the place. There were cobwebs around the windows and the bathroom sink drain smelt quite badly when used. The bed wasn't made well and I had to re-do it before sleeping. The TV is awkward to watch as it is flat in the corner of the room. Decoration of room is very poor - paint on light fittings and such. Breakfast is very expensive for continental and even more expensive if you want a cooked breakfast. I only ate the continental twice and the choice was poor for the price! Restaurant looks ok but I was turned away around 7pm on a Monday as it was fully booked although I only saw 3 tables in use. There are many restaurants over the bridge that are good!! WiFi is free for 2hrs.
5 out of 5
by Denise

great stay

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
brilliant hotel