Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

V good hotel , commanding position, superb views.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Position, overlooking Scarborough Spa. Good views of the castle and harbour.
Cons: For our needs, nothing.
Location: The Spa centre is at the foot of the cliff on top of which the hotel stands. It is quite remote from the town and harbour. Taxis needed.
Stayed room only for 2 nights. Did not use extensive spa facilities. We were there to do nothing in particular for a couple of days and achieved this easily. Excellent room, although we did not sleep particularly well. Have stayed here before and will do so again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious Stay

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort, room size, friendly staff, lovely bedding, cleanliness.
Cons: Make wi-fi free throughout stay, make breakfast a more reasonable price if it's not included.
Location: Fabulous view across Scarborough. As said, steep walk back but with pleasant surroundings and views.
Room quality and size was excellent. Only disappointing thing was a very limited free wi-fi, otherwise had to pay for more. Also would recommend checking that breakfast was included. It turned out ours wasn't, and i felt it was a bit over priced to pay when there. It didn't bother us, but also be aware it is a steep walk from the heart of Scarborough town. Otherwise a very enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northeast england

Overpriced hotel for the level of service and deco

Posted Jul 21, 2016
There's absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel, clean, fresh, facilities. I felt the price did not reflect the level of service, breakfast choices or room decor I would expect. Breakfast with either continental or cooked. Cooked was an additional supplement. This surprised me.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Stayed 16/17th July. Great comfy room with fantastic spa facilities. Would reccomend if you want a high quality hotel by the sea
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, room's view was awful for the price

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant. Hotel was clean and pretty well laid out.
Booked a room for a one night stay 3 months in advance, advert said free parking ended up paying £6 for 24 hours at a nearby car park. Room 119 had no view except a wooden shutter covering the window, room was comfortable but not worth the money we paid. Breakfast again expensive for what you get .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwcickshire

Do not accept room 101

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant.
Cons: Do not use room 101 for anything but a storage cupboard.
Location: The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill with lots of steps and steep inclines. We saw a lot of people struggling to get to the top.
For the price this hotel was disappointing. The view from our room was a wall with the very tops of houses in the distance. The room was no better than a Premier Inn, it was clean but had nothing luxurious about it. The bed was comfortable and the TV worked. The shower was either freeze or boil which was not very pleasant. The rate included breakfast, this however does not state that you are paying for a continental breakfast and have to pay an addition fee at the hotel for a cooked breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Finchley

Nice hotel but no free WI FI!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
I have stayed here a couple of times in the last 5 years and its fortunate for them that there appears to be no other hotels in Scarborough to rival them at the moment as I think they need competition. I was annoyed on checking in to be required to pay the full amount of the stay upfront, even before I had seen the room! Also a real cheek is having to pay to use WIFI for a £175 per night stay (you get a free 2 hour use then it's chargeable). it's a nice hotel & probably the best in the resort but I would like to try another hotel of equal standard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel, just a bit tired

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Service was good, food was good. Room was a superior grade but was dark with poor view and felt rather impersonal. Paying almost £300 for two nights and then finding out that wifi was not free felt like an unnecessary charge by the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WALES

spa hotel close to sea and town

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: upgrading of bedrooms and new mattresses
Location: Prominent position with gardens opposite,near to town centre and some seaside facilities
The parking arrangements were not as specified on booking, reception staff only agreed when we were about to leave.The room was poor and depressing although it was claimed to be superior with sea view . It had hard and uncomfortable mattresses, smelt of drains,and the view of the sea was partly obscured. The breakfast room was hot, badly arranged and the food poor. We would not use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Good hotel with excellent views

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Excellent amenities, good food, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Avoid checking out at busy times or you need to queue.
Enjoyed an extended stay before and after the wedding I was invited too. Lovely weather, enjoyed walking and visiting the Castle which I did not have the opportunity to visit on my last stay in Scarborough.