Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Well positioned classic hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
A very nice up market hotel. We had a small suite and the only gripe was that the windows were too small and high so the sea view was not as spectacular as it could have been. Restaurant was nice but the food lacked finesse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Not the best, not exactly 4*

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location/view although despite our request for sea view we got stuck at the back of the hotel.
Cons: Staff training in customer experience. Clean & freshen up the bathrooms. Stock what guests would like on the bar so that they don't go nexdoor
Location: Lanterna Restaurant is way beyond our expectations in terms of service & gastronomic delight, faultless. ABC taxis by far & away the best taxi firm
Easy check in. Room large, bathroom small. Bathroom mouldy, paint peeling off ceiling, heated towel rail did not work. Tv in room had no signal - disappointing seen as the bar service & range is less than acceptable for a 3* hotel, let alone 4*. As a result of how we were treated by staff at the bar we nipped to local Tesco that had an excellent range & went back to the room to attempt to re-tune the tv.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north east

Attractive hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
The hotel gives a attractive presentation of it itself, both internally and externally. We were given a different room to which we booked, We booked a superior, spacious sea view room. We were given a junior suite which on appearance was more cramped, not the sea views as expected, as windows are smaller and eye level, view obscured by a small wall on the exterior. Unlike the superior rooms. The junior suite appeared well presented, on further inspection dirty bathroom floor, long hairs left in the bath and scum around the hand rail for shower. Still a nice room would not let this put you off, didn't complain. For the price, rails and fittings should appear polished and floor spotless. So I've marked my review score lower, shouldn't have to complain , these should. Be checked by the house keepers as standards should be higher. Didn't spoil our stay. Just the cleaning let this expensive hotel down, in our room. Had I complained, expect the hotel would have acted accordingly to be fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

£12 CHARGE FOR HOTEL'S OWN CAR PARK IS RIDICULOUS!

Posted May 5, 2017
Cons: PARKING SITUATION!
Lovely hotel but description misleading as clearly states "free parking". What is NOT explained is that the free parking is off-site on public highway if you are lucky enough to find a space! Very disappointing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. Well situated.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Lovely stay, pleasantly looked after by the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

standards slipping

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Paid 147 pounds for one standard room one night regular customers noticed obvious decline in standards especially poor experience this time. allocated room overlooking roof attic no view at all . Very dark small window dreadful odour damp in room bathroom needed cleaning on arrival washed it myself. pillows pld lumpy . just pointless visit came to relax but may as well have stayed home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business stay will come back to spend more time

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
great service
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Great View

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location with sea view, good breakfast and staff very friendly and welcoming, only complaints was the room was too warm did have a ceiling fan which we had on for the whole stay but would benefit from air conditioning and you only got 4 hours free wifi I would expect free wifi for the whole stay with the price paid
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

short stay at the crown

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good quality Hotel but 4* ? rooms not as good as I would have expected for the cost,bar expensive!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels