Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Walking distance to shops restaurants and city centre. Hotel staff very friendly. And helpful.
5 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was ideal and convenient for my needs.
3 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was an ok stay , except we thought we would be offered a cooked breakfast but was only offered a continental style one, The guests in the room above were very noisy and maybe there was not enough sound proofing between the floors
2 out of 5
by Pamela

Avoid

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
I think I must have stayed in another hotel looking at the photos and other reviews. Very dated and cramped conditions, bed uncomfortable, paid extra £4 for breakfast as well as £3 per day for parking on the property. Area was not nice, very disappointed there are much better B&B as well as hotels at reasonable rates. I would avoid
4 out of 5
by Rachel

Clean & convenient

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Good location short walk from city centre. The room was clean and well kept but a little bit cramped for 4 people, separate toilet and shower room were small but clean. We were allocated a breakfast time of 8am which was too early for our liking so can't comment on the quality of the breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for the price - recommended!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with friendly staff, the double room was spacious and clean with plenty of supplies available for tea/coffee making. The buffet breakfast is between 8.30 - 9.30am and there is plenty available to eat. Check out is 10am. The location is excellent for the price of the room. It is a short bus ride to/from the city centre (no 1 or 5 bus every few minutes , £1.50 single / £2.90 return). Can't recommend this hotel enough!
4 out of 5
by joseph

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
my wife and I had a pleasant stay here it was a little walk away but we just took our time walking to the city
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Budget B&B

Posted Feb 8, 2017
For the price the hotel is acceptable. The TV was faulty, the picture quality was too poor to watch. Breakfast was continental. Staff friendly. Close to city.
4 out of 5
by Neill

Great situation close to York...

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean and comfortable accommodation.Cheery and knowledgeable staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Basic bed for the night

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Very reasonable price and close to York St John University, the purpose for our visit being to look around with a view to my daughter studying there
Cons: Instructions how to work the door lock on the room ! Took us a while to work it out. Didn't see any fire exits / instructions
Location: 5 min walk from York St John campus and easy walk to Minster and city of York itself with shops restaurants and tourist attractions
Clean and functional with basic facilities ie washbasin in room, TV, kettle, tiny shower room on landing likewise toilet glad our floor wasn't fully occupied as these were to share between 6 people. Room was meant to sleep 4 but with just the 2 of us we were comfortable. Arrived around 6pm rang a mobile number and had to collect keys from locking box by door . Dropped keys in similar box on departure . Never saw anyone however chap said to call him on mobile if we had any problems as he was only a few minutes away . Breakfast was cereals and toast self serve again no sign of anyone . Parking limited to 4 spaces we were ok as was not busy on a Tuesday night in January . Perfect for us as we just needed a bed for the night