Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Welcoming hotel, close to city centre

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Overall our experience was really positive. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, keen to give advice and help if needed. The room itself was comfortable & clean and the bathroom was spacious. Only a 10 minute walk into York town centre. Only downside was we could here the guests above us walking on creaky floorboards and talking during the night. It's a very minor complaint though
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

The hotel was an easy walk into the city centre.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Close to the city, shops for something to eat or to do some washing. Buses into the city centre just outside the door.
Cons: I was happy with everything.
Location: About 10 mins walk from city centre and on a bus route to station. Theatre, art gallery, cafes and main tourist attractions all near by.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was all you needed for a comfortable stay. Great selection for breakfast, taking in dietary requirements. Good value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under change of ownership

Posted May 25, 2016
The room was very small but comfortable. It was within a 15-20 minute walk of York city centre. There were renovations going on during our stay but we were not in during the day to be bothered by them. They could not provide the promised breakfast in house, but made arrangements for us to eat at a nearby kitchen/cafe. Because of the ownership change, there was no one on site after we checked in. The promised booking of a taxi for us never materialized.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SUFFOLK

Short break

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff , comfortable room and nice breakfast.
Cons: Fine as is.
Location: Easy walking distance to main centre and attractions.
Having stayed here last year I knew what to expect. York has so much to do and see. Pleasant couple of days.Shame about the weather. Nice friendly atmosphere and comfortable room with a lovely breakfast that sets you up for the day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Short break

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff , nice clean room , good breakfast
Cons: Nothing springs to mind
Location: 10 minute walk to main centre , York minster and other main attractions
Second visit in a year.Nice friendly experience. Value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Comfortable and Friendly

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Only 15 minute walk into York Centre, so could leave the car in the space provided by the hotel all weekend.
Cons: The stairs are creaky and quite noisy. Could do with some repairs on them to make them quieter.
Location: Lots to do in York City which is only 15 minutes walk away.
Spent 2 nights at this hotel. Welcome was very friendly. We phoned to say we would be arriving later than the check in time ended. Was not a problem and was received on arrival with a very nice and friendly welcome. The hotel was clean and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and very tasty.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from London

Great value B&B in York bar none.

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Elaine runs a friendly B&B which is quite near the city centre 20 mins walking. The room is quite good for the price (York can be quite expensive for a Hotel). Only thing is the B&B doesn't have many en-suite bathrooms (yours didn't) but this aside this was a great place to stay. Go there while Elaine is still running the place (before May 16) as her service was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend for a stay in York

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely friendly host. Yummy full English breakfast served every day. Best sleep in a B&B for a while, only downside was the street lights outside our windows shining through the thin curtains.
5 out of 5
by Nicole from Kent

Perfect little B&B

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Was everything I needed, including breakfast, at a great price. Staff always happy to help and were extra friendly. Would stay again if in the area.
5 out of 5
by Sian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels