Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for the price - recommended!

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with friendly staff, the double room was spacious and clean with plenty of supplies available for tea/coffee making. The buffet breakfast is between 8.30 - 9.30am and there is plenty available to eat. Check out is 10am. The location is excellent for the price of the room. It is a short bus ride to/from the city centre (no 1 or 5 bus every few minutes , £1.50 single / £2.90 return). Can't recommend this hotel enough!
4 out of 5
by joseph

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
my wife and I had a pleasant stay here it was a little walk away but we just took our time walking to the city
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Budget B&B

Posted Feb 8, 2017
For the price the hotel is acceptable. The TV was faulty, the picture quality was too poor to watch. Breakfast was continental. Staff friendly. Close to city.
4 out of 5
by Neill

Great situation close to York...

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean and comfortable accommodation.Cheery and knowledgeable staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Basic bed for the night

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Very reasonable price and close to York St John University, the purpose for our visit being to look around with a view to my daughter studying there
Cons: Instructions how to work the door lock on the room ! Took us a while to work it out. Didn't see any fire exits / instructions
Location: 5 min walk from York St John campus and easy walk to Minster and city of York itself with shops restaurants and tourist attractions
Clean and functional with basic facilities ie washbasin in room, TV, kettle, tiny shower room on landing likewise toilet glad our floor wasn't fully occupied as these were to share between 6 people. Room was meant to sleep 4 but with just the 2 of us we were comfortable. Arrived around 6pm rang a mobile number and had to collect keys from locking box by door . Dropped keys in similar box on departure . Never saw anyone however chap said to call him on mobile if we had any problems as he was only a few minutes away . Breakfast was cereals and toast self serve again no sign of anyone . Parking limited to 4 spaces we were ok as was not busy on a Tuesday night in January . Perfect for us as we just needed a bed for the night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The room was nice and big and very clean. There was no central heating in the room though and the provided portable radiator didn't warm up the room. The room was very noisy as it was right next to the road. The accommodation is walking distance from the city centre. I would recommend the b&b to a friend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very close to York city centre
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

York Visit

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
If you are on the second floor, mind your heads! Sloping ceilings. Nice breakfast, very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Turned up on Friday 25th November 2016 new owners booked this June paid when arrived then shown room which to my horror was a twin room not double bed nothing was done to resolve this all I got was what do u want me do . No one on site if things go wrong no cooked breakfast it's continental no one cleans too ran out of milk toilet paper no one there to get any from at time room cold and bed uncomfortable dinning room you all sit at same tables as each other and yesterday was confronted by owners representative saying I had not paid he said this in front of guest booking in phoned hotel .com several times while there no joy from them will never book with theses again and will never book this hotel I was not the only guest complaining if you pay in cash make sure you get a receipt like I did or you will be called a liar by the owners representative like I was upset and very disappointed and angry ruined my three days stay in York