Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room was nice and bed was very comfy. The building has character but could probably do with a slight update (hallway / bathroom) but was clean and completely adequate. Breakfast was good quality and staff were all friendly and happy to help.The hotel was located around 15 minutes walk from centre of town but the restaurant on site was very nice and would definitely recommend it. It's also around 5 minutes drive / taxi from thirsk station with regular trains to York - ideal to get straight into town with no hassle parking. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for those using as a base to explore the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire

A fantastic place for a short stay; will go again.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Lovely hotel and restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. In the beautiful village of Sowerby. Nice and quiet yet only a 10 minute walk from Thirsk centre where there are good pubs and eateries. Motorsport fans will love the memorabilia that adorns the walls. Even the rooms are named after Italian automotive marques, rather than being numbered! Will definitely stay there again when having a short break in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and Restaurant

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and clean ensuite room. Top notch complimentary breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A hidden gem..

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Absolutely loved it. Parking was great, early check in for the races was a god send & we were very grateful. We were also made to feel very welcome.The race course is easily within walking distance & the centre of Thirsk. I bitterly regret that we ate out in the town as when we arrived back the food that was coming out smelled & looked outstanding. Though i can say our breakfast in th morning was a definate 10/10. My only criticism was a minority of staff. Hospitality is a hard game whatever else is goin on, a smile & more over an acknowledgement costs nothing. We most certainly will be back. Well done Fantinos..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tyne and wear

Perfect setting

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Sowerby lovely quaint village with Fantinos just off street. Excellent bed and breakfast with on site restaurant. Friendly welcome on arival. Room clean and cosy. Tea and fresh ground coffee in room with fresh milk and chocolate biscuits, cute Cath Kitson mugs too. Great location for a walk into Thirsk or short car ride to nearby villages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Dundee Scotland

Nice hotel within walking distance of town centre

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Everything was great.
Location: James Herriot museum well worth a visit. Also local Thirsk museum.
Stayed for 2 nights and was very happy with everything. Room was comfortable and clean. Nice touch was the fact that milk was supplied in the room in a thermos flask instead of the usual wee tubs which never held enough milk for our tea or coffee. Also Caramel wafers were supplied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Character and comfort. Large room and quiet
Cons: My wife had scrambled egg that contained the eggshell. Small issue, but more care would be good
Fantastic location and base to explore Thirsk. Restaurant highly recommended. Staff very warm and welcoming
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean room and ensuite, short work into Thirsk. Quiet location. Ample free parking. Would be a good idea to put a menu in the room as it is an Italian restaurant as well, didn't eat there but probably would have done if there had been a menu to study at our leisure in room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels