Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW London

Very central, comfortable stay

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Location: Very close to York Minster, art gallery and old city centre
I had a single room in a newly-built 'mews' style extension at the back of the hotel. The room was quite small but it had everything. Beautiful ensuite bathroom, comfortable bed, desk, TV. Nice full English breakfast for £6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Excellent location to visit historic sights.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Enjoyed our stay very much! Friendly, helpful staff! Very centrally located to visit historic sights, great food and music near by!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but hotel was under construction

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Helpful staff with parking but difficult to find and gain access. Great location for food and drink so we didn't use the bar/breakfast facilities which was lucky because they weren't explained to us! Very competitive room rate despite cold shower and was fine for a quick stopover for business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Great location, charming house, updated room and bathroom.
Cons: n/a
Location: Less than 10 minutes walk to Bootham Bar entrance to city walls, the Minster, York Museum Gardens, and plenty of shops and restaurants.
Nice hotel in great location. Room was much larger and nicer than other hotels I stayed in during this trip. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Didn't try the breakfast as there are cheaper places to get breakfast just down the road. My only complaint is that there was construction/maintenance going on during the day and the doors to the basement and alley, where the workers were constantly going in and out of, were on either side of our room. This made taking a nap after our long journey to York or relaxing in the room before heading to dinner nearly impossible. But as long as you go when the work is done or stay in a different room, this hotel is lovely and highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Brand new cute annexe in a superb central location

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: - Phenomenally hospitable staff - Very clean room - Lovely extra touches (tea, coffee, toiletries) - Incredible value for money
Cons: Nothing, I was very impressed! :) I would perhaps add some photos of the room I stayed in to your website or expedia page as it really was lovely!
Location: The location couldn't have been more central and was very close to the Minster and a short walk to a few restaurants and bars.
I had an absolutely fantastic experience booking very last minute at Georgian House. I literally booked hours before I was due to arrive but staff were incredibly accommodating and were more than understanding about my later than usual arrival time which was greatly appreciated. When I arrived at the hotel, a lovely man was phenomenally helpful and showed me to a place where I could park as I was unfamiliar with the area. He was very polite, showed me to my room and couldn't do enough, offering me extras such as breakfast, which I hadn't booked initially, and explaining how the heating worked etc. The room itself was impeccably clean and very nicely decorated (the photos on the website definitely don't do it justice!). I got the impression that my room had recently been decorated and it included everything you would need from tea, coffee and biscuits to a hairdryer and TV with freeview channels. The bathroom again was lovely and clean and the mirror had a built in light which is fantastic for us girls and our make up application haha! Complimentary toiletries were supplied which was a really nice touch too. I honestly can say I was blown away by the hospitality of the staff and would love to stay here again :) Thank you for everything you did for me! One very happy customer! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Good budget accommodation

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Shower door didn't close. Cobwebs hanging from ceiling. Dirty windowsill. Room cold on arrival. Would stay again due to price and proximity to city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Good location

Posted Sep 29, 2015
The guest house is in a great location but be warned the rooms (or at least the room we had) are very small and access would be a challenge for anyone with mobility issues. However it was close to the Minster and historical sights and in walking distance from the railway station. There were plenty of eating and drinking places in close proximity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient for centre

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Very friendly, enjoyable stay. Booked as going to races and was great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Perfect

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Booked this as a last minute booking whilst staying in York. Wished we had spent the rest of our stay there. Just 2 minutes walk from the city walls and 5 mini its walk from the minster an ideal base for your stay. The staff were all friendly and attentive. We stayed in one of the newly constructed mews rooms that had everything you need for your stay. The rooms were clean and well ordered. The bathroom was nicely presented and functional. The breakfast was an extra on our booking but at £6 per person was amazing value. We are already looking forward to our next visit, can't wait to havea longer stay the next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Superb location

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
The staff and surroundings couldn't have been better. The room in the mews was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was gorgeous with plentiful hot water and towels etc. The facilities were good and the bed comfortable. Even though there was building going on the disruption was minimal. The breakfast was marvellous and the dining room spotless and clean. Plenty of everything and I felt very safe and secure as a woman staying on her own.