Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Lovely rooms, location and gardens. Perfect for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Janine

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Had a wonderful stay at Gray's Court. The gardens are beautiful and the bar/lounge was so nice. We were greeted with prosecco and scones when we arrived! The hotel is right off of the medieval wall which you can walk along to York Minster. Our room was very nice and beautifully decorated. Gray's Court is a special place to stay! Wish we had more than one night's stay! Also, breakfast was delicious!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Amazing!!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing...
Location: Right next to the Minster and the wall, great to visit York. A bit expensive but worth every penny!
Beautiful old hotel, great gardens, wonderful breakfast, just perfect!! Upgraded our room for our 25th anniversary and received a bottle of sparling wine! Perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from belfast

Ideal location with everything nearby

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Unusual to come across such a friendly relaxed atmosphere with a clear focus on its guests . Staff were all excellent with a positive attitude to their work and quietly efficient and always busy. Hotel decor was tasteful and different to the usual corporate style which helped create a classy but comfortable ambiance .
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Sheffield

What an amazing place

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect in every sense from check in to check out. Amazing staff that went the extra mile to make our stay that little bit more special. Jaw dropping accommodation and grounds. Will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
by Dr R from Kingston

Highly recommended

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic city-centre location right by York Minster and excellent service from friendly staff in an amazing historical building. Expensive but worth it, we'll definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, UK

Beautiful hotel tucked away in the centre of York

Posted Mar 21, 2016
A warm welcome from the team, they had already been very helpful on the phone before the stay. Hotel is gorgeous, well worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Susan from Washington, DC

Absolutely Lovely

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Gray's Court was not only comfortable and gorgeous, but the service was impeccable. Located right next to York Minster, this is a perfect location for a visit to York, which is a beautifully, historic city. The hotel offers an incredible breakfast, a lovely parlor for drinks or tea, and a luxurious experience. We made the right choice for hotels in our stay in York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely hotel right in the centre

Posted Sep 10, 2015
The hotel is way to get to on foot or by car, parking is available. Breakfast excellent, rooms very comfotable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2016 by Helen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Kim from Boston, USA

First class!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The historic building. The friendly and professional staff. The proximity to the Minster and the center of York. The cuisine. The comfortable room.
Cons: Checking in was a tad lax. I would also recommend putting glass tops on the marquetry furniture to protect it.
Location: Look in a guide book.
I would definitely recommend Grays Court to anyone who appreciates history, first class service, professional staff and Michelin grade food. I can't rave enough about this hotel and will definitely be back.