Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading Berkshirr

Xmas fayre visit

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Excellent visit, very good hosts . The guest house within walking distance of York. Would definitely go there again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lericestershire

Excellent Location Excellent Cuatomer Care

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and hosts
Cons: I can't really think of anything
Location: Location 15 minutes from York centre near a bus stop. Nearby is a pub, a church a chinese take away a green grocers a small co op and an Asda.
The hotel is located about 15 minutes from York centre. There is plenty of street parking and there is a bus stop right outside. It is very difficult to park in York and to find B&B's with parking so this is ideal especially being right next to a bus stop. Sue and Chris are excellent hosts very proacative and they go that extra mile to make sure you have everything you want and need to make your stay comfortable. Chris cooks the breakfasts to order and they are excellent! We stay in a lot of B7B's and this breakfast is by far the best. I am gluten free and I was offered a gluten free sausage as well as gluten free toast and gluten free brown sauce. The rooms are warm and cosy and thoughtfully laid out. There are plenty of sockets for hair dryers straighteners etc and they are all in the right place and close to a mirror. The telephone signal and WIFI is excellent too. Over the years we have stayed in many places in York but this is by far our favourite. I would recommend this B&B to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Comforts of home

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Chris & Sue are wonderful hosts. Excellent breakfast! They made us feel welcome and provided the comforts of home. Great location. Within walking distance of lots of sights and the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springville, California, USA

Top quality B&B

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Very clean and very comfortable. Our room was spacious, and had 1 &1/2 baths, very convenient for our group. Breakfasts were personalized.
Location: Bus stop just a few steps away, so easy ride to York city center. However, the distance can also be easily walked, so you have options.
Easy to find and located VERY close to York city center. We received a very pleasant welcome. Gracious family runs the facility and were helpful in every way. The host even took apart the pipes in the bathroom after an earring was dropped down the sink. Breakfasts were cheerful, delicious, and personalized for each of us each morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cheerful B&B

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: room comfortable and updated, good breakfast in cheerful room. hosts were wonderful.
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: 30 minute walk to the center of town. neighborhood is residential
situated in a residential neighborhood away from the tourist clamor but conveniently located. room was comfortable and the hosts were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

Nice house,wonderful owner, walkbable to town

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Helpful friendly owner, good food, comfortable, easy walk to town
Cons: Windows that open more, more fans.
Location: Walk 15 min down one street to old town York and all it contains. Or take 5 pound taxi or 2 pound bus.
Nice house a 15 min easy direct walk to old town. Lovely lady owns the place and is very nice and helpful, and cooks good food. We had a room with three adults so it was pretty cramped, but I think only two people would fit and feel less stuffed. Rooms are nice, but a bit hot in summer. The fan helps but made quite a racket. Excellent new modern bathroom is spacious and comfy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barberton, Ohio

Excellent B&B in York

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The owners, the breakfasts, the space in the room even though it slept four adults. The cleanliness. Most everything.
Cons: Nothing that is under the control of the Heworth could be improved.
just another great review for the Heworth and the proprietors. Very friendly couple who really know how to make a wonderful breakfast, provide you with good advice (and topical conversation), a clean room and a good location. Good value here and very nice people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Comfortable accommodation

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Comfort and free parking nearby.
Cons: Our room was slightly small for all our luggage.
Location: York is a fascinating city and we enjoyed exploring the sights. Also it was a good central location to visit other towns of interest
Was a good economical accommodation. The host was very pleasant and helpful. It was a manageable distance from the centre of town - was walkable and was a good bus system. Breakfasts were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2015
A very welcoming homely accomodation. Fantastic food and great people. We will be back! Karen and Tom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: The proprietor is so helpful and friendly
Location: The location is about a 25 minute walk to the train station or a short taxi drive. We walked form the inn to central York every day.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Heworth Guest House. We were warmly welcomed by the proprietor and she made sure we were comfortable and well looked after. Our room was clean and well appointed. The breakfast that was provided was amazing.