Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Nice hotel in a great location!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Arrived early and our room was ready, reception staff really polite and helpful. Room was clean and well equipped for a 1 night stay, could of done with more toiletries for a family of 4. Breakfast a good variety of hot and continental produce and staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Excellent weeken break

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Very good hotel ,excellent weekend break, I would recommend to all my friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Excellent hotel with very friendly staff right in the heart of York. Couldn't have wanted better. We will definitely return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. Australia

Hilton@York

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Clean and modern looking
Location: Location was in close proximity to most sight seeing places..and right opposite the Clifford's Tower
Stayed there recently...was very pleased with the room and the staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Excellent hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great hotel staff extremely helpful. Location ideal couldn't fault it one bit. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Very central

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Enjoyed our stay at the Hilton York although the rooms are small and slightly dated .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old, tired hotel. Terrible service.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Where to start...absolutely appalled that this is a Hilton and feel completely ripped off for paying almost £300 for 2 nights. Fantastic location does not make up for how terrible this hotel is. The hotel is dated and tired. Carpet on the stairs is grimy and frayed. The wallpaper is cracking and peeling in areas. The bedrooms look like they haven't been updated since the hotel first opened. The tap in the bathroom sink was functional but broken. The shower head was grimy and the water pressure weak. The toilet paper was worse than you get in public toilets - thin sandpaper. Our bed was so uncomfortable we both has a terrible night's sleep so we asked to be moved and also commented that we were disappointed in the standard of the hotel. The receptionist basically agreed that the hotel was old and needed updating. He found a new room for us but made it very clear it was the same standard room, not an upgrade (which we didn't ask for, so there was no need to labour the point). Our new room was smaller, but the bed was more comfortable but It wasn't as clean - ring marks on the bed side table, shower curtain was discoloured and smelled damp. The room was freezing and despite turning the radiator on the full heat it stayed stone cold. At about 8:30am someone knocked on our door and then proceeded to open it. We call reception to ask why this happened and we're promised a call back but they didn't. Overall awful and the staff didn't seem to care about our complaints at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East Engkand

Great hotel, great location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Room size and breakfast
Cons: Bathroom could be updated
Location: Great location, close to city centre
THe hotel was in a super location which made York very accessible. About a 15 minute walk from train station . Breakfast was superb and room was very comfortable. King size bed was very comfortable , bathroom a little small but overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

York Hilton BRILLIANT!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing presently springs to mind.
Location: Castle Museum and Fairfax House adjacent; excellent shops and restaurants nearby; large park with Military Museum only 15 minutes away. York is great!
Excellent hotel with extremely helpful, friendly and efficient staff who went the extra mile to make our stay wonderful. Very comfortable rooms and beds and food in restaurant delicious. We would certainly recommend to our friends and come back ourselves for another stay. Location perfect as in beautiful surroundings opposite Castle but within walking distance of parks, shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nothing special. Just a clean hotel in a good loca

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room layout
Location: Very centrally located, near shopping area.
Although the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the whole experience was not that great due too the actual hotel. The rooms we had were quite small and the layout quite wrong in my opinion. Plus there were other points that I did not like. We were brought a welcome pack, (drinks and snacks) but no glasses to drink from. We booked a room for three, it was set up (towels etc) for only two. little details that make for good service, were not thought about.