Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Very central

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Enjoyed our stay at the Hilton York although the rooms are small and slightly dated .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Old, tired hotel. Terrible service.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Where to start...absolutely appalled that this is a Hilton and feel completely ripped off for paying almost £300 for 2 nights. Fantastic location does not make up for how terrible this hotel is. The hotel is dated and tired. Carpet on the stairs is grimy and frayed. The wallpaper is cracking and peeling in areas. The bedrooms look like they haven't been updated since the hotel first opened. The tap in the bathroom sink was functional but broken. The shower head was grimy and the water pressure weak. The toilet paper was worse than you get in public toilets - thin sandpaper. Our bed was so uncomfortable we both has a terrible night's sleep so we asked to be moved and also commented that we were disappointed in the standard of the hotel. The receptionist basically agreed that the hotel was old and needed updating. He found a new room for us but made it very clear it was the same standard room, not an upgrade (which we didn't ask for, so there was no need to labour the point). Our new room was smaller, but the bed was more comfortable but It wasn't as clean - ring marks on the bed side table, shower curtain was discoloured and smelled damp. The room was freezing and despite turning the radiator on the full heat it stayed stone cold. At about 8:30am someone knocked on our door and then proceeded to open it. We call reception to ask why this happened and we're promised a call back but they didn't. Overall awful and the staff didn't seem to care about our complaints at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East Engkand

Great hotel, great location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Room size and breakfast
Cons: Bathroom could be updated
Location: Great location, close to city centre
THe hotel was in a super location which made York very accessible. About a 15 minute walk from train station . Breakfast was superb and room was very comfortable. King size bed was very comfortable , bathroom a little small but overall a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

York Hilton BRILLIANT!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing presently springs to mind.
Location: Castle Museum and Fairfax House adjacent; excellent shops and restaurants nearby; large park with Military Museum only 15 minutes away. York is great!
Excellent hotel with extremely helpful, friendly and efficient staff who went the extra mile to make our stay wonderful. Very comfortable rooms and beds and food in restaurant delicious. We would certainly recommend to our friends and come back ourselves for another stay. Location perfect as in beautiful surroundings opposite Castle but within walking distance of parks, shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nothing special. Just a clean hotel in a good loca

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room layout
Location: Very centrally located, near shopping area.
Although the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the whole experience was not that great due too the actual hotel. The rooms we had were quite small and the layout quite wrong in my opinion. Plus there were other points that I did not like. We were brought a welcome pack, (drinks and snacks) but no glasses to drink from. We booked a room for three, it was set up (towels etc) for only two. little details that make for good service, were not thought about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel ideally situated

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We had a very comfortable stay. Staff were very happy and helpful would gladly stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paying for the brand name

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Didn't expect a room with paint coming off the radiator and wallpaper applied by a child and water marks on taps. I'm usually not picky but when paying £175 for 1 night I expect high standards. Staff were fantastic as was breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Small rooms Bad service Good breakfast Bar area too small Noisy room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral

good hotel for exploring York.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Position and parking
Location: Ideal location for shopping and Yorks many tourist attractions. Wonderful Xmas market .
Enjoyed a lovely couple of days, as the hotel is ideally placed for exploring York on foot. Parking was easy using the valet parking option, if a little expensive at £19 per night. However we were able to leave the car parked until 3pm on our day of departure which was a great option. Our family room was comfortable and we found all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a lovely start to the day. Will certainly stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing for a Hilton

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The Breakfast
Cons: The Cleaner needs training on how to clean and respect privacy from guests.
Location: Very close to York centre, The Shambles the River etc. York is a very lovely city to visit.
Rang the hotel before hand to check about parking was told disabled parking spots in the car park which was charged at £19 per night, on arrival was told that the concierge had to park the car as the parking in the car park was so tight and there were no disabled spots in the car park anyway. Upon checking in at 2.45pm only one room available so we waited 2nd room to be cleaned still not ready by 3.00pm. Rooms were very dusty and the bathroom had a strong urinal smell. Alarm went off in one of the rooms at 6.00 am and the cleaner barged in at 8.30am we were in bed. We were only staying for one night and checkout was not until 12. The cleaner was cleaning a room opposite when we came out of the room with music playing very loud from the room she was cleaning, very professional i must say. Breakfast was very nice and the breakfast staff and the receptionists were very pleasant, we have been offered a discount which we are waiting to get back from Expedia.