Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio USA

Nice hotel within easy walk of city center

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Centrally located, parking on site, large, clean rooms. Good breakfast.
Cons: Hotel was nice.
Location: Easy walk to the city. You can either walk along the top of the wall to the church or you can walk through the shambles and explore the city,
Nice hotel. Within easy walk of city center. Lots of restaurants, etc, on walk to city or within city walls. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking a bit tight, but adequate behind building.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great city , handy location .

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice overnight stay to complete our Christmas shopping at lots of local and unusual shops that York has to offer compared to many other towns and cities that are only large chain stores , charity and pound shops , York has retained its character that is why we travel from North Wales every year at Christmas time .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Holgate Bridge Hotel was good value for money. It's a bit of a walk from the town centre but not too far. The breakfast was excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located - great price and private parking

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The welcome at this hotel was excellent and the owner/manager extremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had - and I visit a lot of hotels! If I had any adverse comment it would be that our rooms is in dire need of some updating. At the front of the B&B runs a very busy main road so it was quite noisy. Double glazing and some good, heavy drapes would have made the noise less troublesome. The carpet is stained in places. Comfortable enough but could have been more so if the room had been a bit more plush. A great location though, excellent welcome and the parking is a great plus. I would book again, given the welcome and the excellent price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean & easy access to the city.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Upgrade from a shared bathroom to an en suite, when we found a problem it was instantly sorted out. Jeanette was very helpful and we think that she would enjoy the film we saw.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastington

Relaxing break for two lovebirds

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Nice 6 night stay, location perfect for bus routes to town and train station.good variations on breakfast choices wi fi in room was very hit and miss in room 16.stairs bannister a little wobbly at top flight with one rail detached from banister but didn't detract from stay. Top marks for tea and coffee tray being more than plentiful .pleasent hosts and staff would recommend a good place too stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Very helpful - fantastic - couldn't ask for more

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Wotif
Everything fantastic - so friendly and helpful - couldn't have done more
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ok hotel but don't stay in Room 3

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Parking, breakfast, location.
Cons: They should not hire out Room 3
Good parking, good breakfast, friendly staff, 15 min walk into central York but....you get what you pay for? We arrived to be told our room had been upgraded which was great as our room was not very expensive. We were put in Room 3 which was just past reception on the ground floor. It had an ok en-suite but no external window - just a window that "opened" onto the breakfast room!!! This made the room very gloomy and very noisy. The upstairs floorboards creaked a lot and we were woken when the first person arrived for breakfast. Don't stay in Room 3.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location and friendly welcoming staff

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The very spacious room and bathroom.
Cons: Their service was faultless. In a perfect world, an elevator would have been a huge improvement. So many steps especially when you have bad knees.
Location: The York Train Museum is about a 10 minute walk and absolutely a must to visit. Faboulous Asian restaurant within 15 mins walk.
Huge room which was such a pleasant change from some of our recent Hotels. Very clean and good facilities and comfortable bed. Really nice staff. Great location at a reasonable rate.