Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too costly to park

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The Holiday Inn was much like any other. It was comfortable. Service was good. I had a minor problem with the TV remote. Someone came along and replaced it very promptly. The downside was the parking charge. £7/day!! For that reason alone I'll choose somewhere else when I'm next in Harrogate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute night away

Posted Oct 27, 2016
We booked this hotel for 1 night on a Tuesday to attend an appointment the following day, the staff were really welcoming and helpful. Parts of the hotel look a little tired but the room was very comfortable. It's location for eating out etc is excellent and Harrogate is lovely. We booked breakfast at the time of booking which was useful as it meant we paid less than booking on the day, breakfast was average. Overall good stay and would book it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great budget option

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
When I booked this hotel (very last minute) it was half the price of other hotels with availability in Harrogate. Considering the price it's an excellent option. The room (519) was slightly small as usual for UK hotels but recently renovated - it still smelled new. Toiletries were provided and a whole host of things were available for free if you forgot to bring them e.g. toothbrush, toothpaste, nail clippers. The room was very clean. The free wi-fi was good enough to work on though you have to reconnect each time you use 100mb of data. Free access to a local spa / health centre is provided. It's a 12 minute walk away but is very nice. As well as a large gym it has a swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town but Harrogate is a small place. There's an Italian tapas restaurant called Stuzzi over the road which is excellent for breakfast and dinner. If there had been a fridge in the room I would have given 5 stars. Slightly harsh but I like to keep food, water, juice etc in my room. Service was excellent throughout.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok. Expensive for what it was. Old fashioned net curtains were dirty. Hair in the bath plug from last guest. Two single beds pushed together for a double bed room. We had rm 1124 which has a joining (locked) door to next door which was fine but the wall was very thin and we heard the tv next door come on from 6am as well as their conversation! Breakfast was empty. We went down an hour + before it finished but there was loads missing off the menu. Even had to ask for bread for toast. Only muesli or coco pops as a cereal. Hot stuff was well stocked. Staff were nice and helpful, parking was good. We would stay their again if need be.....
5 out of 5
by Sharaz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Ken from Perth

Avoid if you can

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Have stayed in 13 hotels in the last 12 months, (including Holiday Inn, Crown Plaza and Intercontinental) this was the worst by far. No air con / heating, no safe, house keeping of a vey very low standard. Building work was ongoing from 09.00 to 18.00 each day (including Saturday & Sunday), this was not light weight maintenance, it was full on jack hammering, power drilling and hammer and chisel works. I am an IHG member, but no courtesy at al from reception staff. Very disappointing, would not stay again, in fact put me off staying in IHG properties.
4 out of 5
by Alastair from Glasgow

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
No air-con as the hotel is being refurbished.
3 out of 5
by Thomas from Chester

A 3 night mistake

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is being refurbished, the rooms were dusty and noisy. The standard of house-keeping throughout the hotel was very poor. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful