Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely Hotel close to the Centre

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location and free parking
We will definitely be returning as the Hotel was in a ideal location for the centre of York and the racecourse. The Hotel was modern, clean and bright and had a warm welcoming atmosphere. Excellent value for money! Good bacon butties served until 12.00 noon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Reception team excellent

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We booked last minute after been let down by another hotel. The gentleman on reception was very welcoming and helpful, turning a stressful trip into a pleasant one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dumfries

Expensive but shabby

Posted Sep 13, 2016
They charged us £170 per night but carpets were patched with tape and doors old and scratched to hell...NOT worth it!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service and provide what you requested
Location: Good location for the town with bus service close to hotel
Worst experience ever in a Holiday Inn. Poor very small room. We requested a twin bed room which didn't happen. We have stayed in many Holiday Inns previously and been extremely satisfied. I would not recommend the Holiday Inn York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to all attractions

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Have stayed there last year and at the same time this year to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely staff, clean rooms, nice bar, good breakfast and close to town centre, attractions etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Excellent staff and very convenient for the races.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Quiet area, room clean and comfortable.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Room and breakfast.
Cons: Maybe a little too expensive.
Location: Not too close to the centre, but just five minutes by car.
Easy to find. It is in a quiet area. The breakfast is very good. Rooms are big and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit dissappointed

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Nice hot shower
Cons: The room was old except for the bathroom.
Location: A bit far out of town - couldn't walk to town.
Room was sub standard to photos on the web. Toilet didn't flush. Staff too busy to provide prompt service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Location: York is a lovely city and the hotels location was fine for us.
The location was good, but our room left a lot to be desired. The staff were ok, we didn't eat here so can't report on the food, but we did use the bar area which was ok. I think the hotel was going through some refurbishment but we weren't told this. Our room was a family room and had a connecting door to the next room, the sound proof was terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, well priced hotel in York

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Good location, good customer service.
Really good no frills type hotel located a £6-£7 taxi fare away from York city centre. I had good communication with the hotel prior to my arrival, they allowed us to use the hotel car park prior to the check in time which allowed us to leave the car and go into the centre prior to 2am..saving on city centre parking charges. The rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable and appeared to have been recently refurbished. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel, it does exactly what you would expect from this type of hotel and the customer service was great.