Ratings based on 951 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well Situated

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Air Conditioning In The Rooms And Or Opening Windows.
Perfect Location. Helpful And Friendly Staff. Good Breakfast. Easy Parking Nearby. Incredibly Hot Room As There Isn't Any Air Con, But A Fan Was Given Upon Request.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your four star review! i'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be perfect. the past few days have been unusually hot but as mentioned we are more than happy to supply fans for you, due to health and safety the window are restricted from fully opening but they do partically open. We hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards Laura
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Central hotel + no air condition = unhappy family

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Whilst the actual hotel, staff and rooms were fine, the over all experience was awful due to there being no air conditioning. The hotel is on a main road in the city centre and the room was stifling hot so we had to have the window open. Cars , people and busses raced along the road all night and a bin lorry attended the hotel at 6am! By cutting corners they are going to loose custom. I will definitely not be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience of the hotel. We do not have air conditioning in bedrooms, nor do we advertise this, the past few days have been unusually warm. We do offer fans in rooms upon request. There is the usual city traffic due to our location and we expect our neighbours and our guests to be considerate at all times of day. In reference to the bin lorry this is unusual as we do have a contract with them to not collect bins at early hours. Our duty managers are always available to discuss any issues and to resolve them to ensure you leave happy. I would like to ensure you we do not cut corners and care about our guests and their reviews to provide a quality guest experience. I'm sorry we won't be welcoming you for your next trip to York however, should you reconsider we would be delighted to have you stay with us. Kind regards Laura Eyles
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted May 31, 2017
Disappointed no airconditioning or iron in room. Lift out of order several hours on last day
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do offer fans and irons upon request. Unfortunately, our lift had been out of service. We did offer porterage on request free of charge to assist you with your bags. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hove

Nice quiet hotel close to city centre

Posted May 28, 2017
Calm clean and comfortable rooms, easy walk to city centre and restaurants. Friendly attentive staff, easy check in and out. Very pleased!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Stephanie, thank you for your great view! We hope to welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy walk into city

Posted May 20, 2017
Arrived early, parking sorted immediately and baggage safe until room ready.. Very convenient for a shot break
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to York. Kind regards,Laura
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance to bars and restaurants.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Clean and friendly, staff very obliging.
Cons: No
Location: Location is good, but if you've never been to York it's hard to get your bearings when coming from the train station.
Had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel 53, lots to do and see, and all within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review we hope to welcome you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Really nice hotel but walls seem a little thin as you hear a lot from other rooms and corridors
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we can move rooms, subject to availability upon request or a duty manager can investigate any noise during the night to ensure you get a good nights sleep.We hope to welcome you back soon. kind regards, Laura
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff has the worst attitude!

Posted May 3, 2017
Reception and manageress had the worst attitude I've ever occurred! So much so we didn't even stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, I have looked into your reservation from the end of April and would like to go through a few points. Our hotel policy is to take a pre-authorisation upon arrival. This is used by a visa or credit card and is a holding deposit, which is released on check out. This statement is wrote on all confirmations to ensure our guests are aware prior to check-in. When yourselves checked in, this was not possible the duty manager said she would accept a cash pre-authorisation but this was also declined. As you were not able to produce either form of a deposit, you preferred to cancel the booking. It was then decided to waiver the cancellation charge on this occasion for you to find alternative accommodation. kind regards, Laura
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Clean and modern, walking distance to city area.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
A pleasant 3* hotel. Clean, modern, friendly and helpful staff who make your stay easy. Restaurant and food cannot be faulted and room cleanliness is apparent. Only negatives are expensive Day parking charges and no wardrobes in family rooms. Would stay again and recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see your comments regarding food, service and hotel cleanliness. Our rooms are of industry size, which include a fitted clothes rail to hang garments. Car parking is expensive in York but we do offer reduced rates depending on your length of stay and preference. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Laura
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tewks uk

Good hotel near city centre

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Clean, comfortable hotel less than 5mins walk from city centre. Inexpensive with good breakfast included in cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Laura at hotel 53, Hotel Management
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your review and comments on the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon, kind regards Laura