Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Country Inn

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: As I said in my earlier comment it is difficult as we were located in the annex, I can not comment about the rest of the hotel. The dining room, good
Location: We booked specifically to go to Castle Howard which was 20 miles away. No wifi or broadband and no mobile signal, felt a bit isolated.
Sadly we were located in the annex. The room was dark and a little drab, needed some TLC. It was clean and the bedding and towels were in excellent condition and well laundered. We only ate in on our first night. The food was good, nicely cooked and served. The staff were attentive and very helpful. Those wanting to keep connected will find it difficult. No wifi or mobile signal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Food

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Lovely Place in the countryside. The restaurant is a must eat, great dining experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yorkshire at it's best - peaceful, great Inn

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Superb location, easy to find (and that's with a diversion due to local road closed), a great welcome and so quick. Stayed in cottages which were quaint and very old - quirky but great so don't moan if not there are creaks and squeaks - this is out in the Yorkshire countryside! There are no mobile signals and wifi only available in the Inn not in cottages - but hey, it's good to be totally cut off for a few hours. Food was superb and good choice. Very friendly and great views/walks. Already planning to go back if we can get in!
5 out of 5
by David from Leeds

Great stay.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay. Lovely rural location. I was not expecting the quality of the food, so that was a fantastic bonus. A particular highlight was the service, which was spot on.
4 out of 5
by Rebecca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Marcus from Macclesfield

Lovely quiet pub.

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
It's when something goes wrong that you really get to know how good a hotel is. We were called at about 11:00am to let us know that the boiler had broken down and they were trying to fix it. What followed was then a classic example of how to manage a problem. We were kept informed of progress and given plenty of alternatives. Our stay was lovely, helped by the many complimentary drinks. Good food and very friendly, helpful staff. We will go back when it's a bit warmer.
4 out of 5
by Sorrel from South Shields

What a view

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
The fabulous view makes this hotel stand out Service very friendly and breakfast excellent Quite a limited menu in the restaurant on the evening although the meal was very good Little bit cold in room as was quite a cold day even though end of August and wasn't able to turn radiator on
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by B from Nottinghamshire

Just perfect

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
We chose the inn primarily because of the location. We wished to explore both moors and coast. The inn was perfect, not just the location but it offered everything else we could ask for. Excellent, friendly service with good food, lovely decor, comfortable rooms and setting. We came away thoroughly refreshed and keen to return…we have already recommended to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marske

Most welcoming and comfortable establishment

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Cannot suggest anything
Location: Did not have time to explore, but its close to Helmsley which is well worth a visit
Excellent establishment, quintessentially English and serves the best cooked breakfast in Yorkshire.