Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

FIVE STAR LUXURY

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
What a beautiful House and gorgeous breakfast. The victorian bath was fabulous with masses of hot water. We loved the chickens and gardens, really peaceful and quiet so near to York. Its always a pleasure to visit York and see our children made even better with Kexby House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Charlie from Bigbury, devon

A Real Find........with easy access to York

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
An excellent few days away in York the hotel was both friendly and welcoming and the owners were very sweet, leaving us home baked cake and sherry on our arrival. We stayed in the cottage which was very spacious and extremely well equipped ideal for a family, clean and plenty fresh towels too. It was a bonus to have an outdoor area too. Highly recommend the accomadation.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jOHN

I would not say this was 5 star

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
The room was lovely but you need to check when booking if you want a shower as not all rooms have showers. This is important as the hot water system cannot cope with anything more than one bath so you run out of water. Also don't ask for anything other than an English breakfast as we asked for poached egg on toast with brown bed and only got one small piece of bread. All the rest of the bread provided is white and brown is not offered. Also our bed was not made after one nights stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mrs.J M from new alresford hampshire

will come back again.

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
we were made so welcome on our arrival with a lovely slice of ginger cake /coffee etc. had a nice walk down there garden . breakfast was everything you would want we would stay again. so easy for the Harrogate show,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnsley

Excellent hotel very convenient for York.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The way you were treated was first class, the room was spotless with a bathroom to die for.
Cons: The only thing that could have been improved is the length of our stay could have been longer.
Location: The hotel is 4 miles from York, with a park and ride only 3 miles away. There are 2 public houses 2 miles away that serve excellent food.
We needed to unwind after a stressful moving home, and we received excellent accommodation, lovely food and lovely company. I cannot rate this hotel too high
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcatle

Weekend away

Posted Feb 23, 2015
What a lovely place to stay! The manager is a charming man and the breakfast is excellent. Would recommend to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael Gregory from Halifax

Valentine weekend

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
We would just like to say that from the door opening to us on Friday evening to leaving on Sunday morning Amanda my fiancé and myself enjoyed the whole stay the hotel is beautiful in every way the calm and warm welcome helped to relax us. we was in the pink room where there was en suite shower room I had a lovely hot shower after I had some of the sherry and Yorkshire Parkin cake that was on the refreshment table the room was lovely and warm, the bed was so comfy I fell asleep quite quickly the next morning we went down for full breakfast it was great this little write up has not enough space to say how much Amanda and I enjoyed our stay but we will return soon we hope. its not a million miles away from York but it feels just far enough from every where to relax and enjoy kexby house
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Garry from Cheshire

Kexby house for 2 days

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very good. Frederick is a diamond. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Deserves every one of those 5 Stars.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The Atmosphere, it felt opulent but not uncomfortable.
Kexby House proved to be an excellent place to stay for exploring York and the surrounding area. Situated just 20 mins drive outside York on the Hull road, this proved to be a rather charming choice of accommodation. We stayed for the weekend and due to leaving it to the last minute to book, found accommodation in York both limited and expensive. Kexby House was a fantastic find and offered phenomenal value when compared to the sterile and faceless generic chain hotels charging at least £100 more. The classicaly styled interior gave it a surprisingly opulent feeling and the 'Pink Room' in which we stayed was perfect, with some sherry and freshly baked Parkin bread awaiting us inside. Frederick, the owner was extremely welcoming, helpful and attentive throughout our stay. A true Yorkshire gentleman with his own unique brand of humour. The Breakfast was first class and the freshly made sausages were fantastic along with the freshly laid eggs, all produced on site. We had travelled by train so did not have a car but found the transport links were excellent, with a bus stop outside offering a regular service into York (X46), or a £17-20 taxi journey. An excellent stay which was well worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JOHN from Prescot, Merseyside

nice surroundings,5 minutes park & ride to york

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: everything.
Cons: Possibly the parking areas, enough space, but a bit tight for big vehicles.
Location: nicely located for access to YORK, using the park and ride was hastle free.
Very rarely use hotels & B&B's,so I was pleasantly suprised at the decor and cleandliness of the room, breakfast room & entrance, in fact the whole building and outside area were immaculate.Also nice touches in the room like small decanter of sherry, cotton buds and balls, etc.I would certainly stay there again. They also had an annex (cottage) which the proprietor showed us around, this was also excellent,with two bedrooms and a large comfortable lounge. and a nice modern bathroom. Altogether a very nice place to stay. JULIE & JOHN.